We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disneyland” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde

Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
+50626455238
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 attractions in Santa Elena
Type: Trams
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: While staying in Monteverde don’t miss the Sky Tram that will lead you up to the Continental Divide and to one of the highest mountains in the area.  Sky Tram is a guided tour where you can have the opportunity to observe the cloud forest outstanding biodiversity, the majestic Arenal Volcano and the Nicoya Gulf.The Sky Trek’s zip lines go from mountain to mountain, allowing you fly through a cable at speeds up to 40 miles per hour and heights of over 520 feet.  There are also 5 observation towers that surpass the cloud forest treetops, providing amazing panoramic views our company has a braking system that was superior to what I'd experienced in other places.The zip linesthemselvesare long and fast, when the clouds cleared, we were able to see the ocean, which was amazing. It is a really great experience.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disneyland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This wasn't really what we were expecting. But hey, I should've known better, right? it's a touristy thing to do.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRSkyAdventures, Public Relations Manager at Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Sorry, but we want you to please write to us, we worried about your disagreement, because we write to imagen@skytrek.com to hear your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    76
    23
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New York
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Not Great for Seeing Wildlife”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This real cloud forest is great for views especially from the top of the tram run. But on a cloudy day you won´t be able to see much except the local trees. We did not do the zip line which is not our thing. The guide we had on our walk with hanging bridges was the poorest one we´ve had on the entire vacation. We saw exactly one bird. Still it is a very lovely place. But if you want to see birds and animals go to the Biological Reserve.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRSkyAdventures, Public Relations Manager at Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks Jim, will follow up to find better options, we must bear in mind that in the forest is frequently changing a bit to see animals. we will strengthen and feed back to our staff of skywalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Ziplining- scary but amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Skytram was pretty, not very long. Our ziplining experience was amazing. I have a big height phobia- no word of a lie, it was petrifying for me, but once on the zipline- amazing. There are steps and towers to climb, which was the scariest part for me. The guides were fun, friendly and reassuring.
Not sure I could do it again, but I'm very happy that I did it- all 9 ziplines. This company was recommended by most anybody we asked about ziplining. There is a more extreme one, and I think ones without steps/towers to climb- if your height phobia is bad.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, ON
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“So scary - but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We did the canopy walk and that was nice. My kids loved seeing the different birds and an orange kneed tarantula. Our next adventure was the zip-lining. The first zip-line was on a high platform - and just as we were about to start, poor weather moved in. It was so windy and rainy and the zip-line just shot into clouds. I was getting pretty nervous. The guides were fun and reassuring and I ended up having a great time. The food in the main building is not the greatest, but you don't come here for the food!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRSkyAdventures, Public Relations Manager at Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear friend thanks for sharing your experience, it's good that they liked the Skywalk and who dared to make the sky trek, take a review of the restaurant for improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Thrill of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you can, have them pick you up at your hotel, as the drive to the location is horrendous - even for Costa Rica. The whole experience was scary, breathtaking, beautiful and heart-stopping - and I loved every second.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde also viewed

Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde to your Saves list