We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde

Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
+50626455238
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 attractions in Santa Elena
Type: Trams
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: While staying in Monteverde don’t miss the Sky Tram that will lead you up to the Continental Divide and to one of the highest mountains in the area.  Sky Tram is a guided tour where you can have the opportunity to observe the cloud forest outstanding biodiversity, the majestic Arenal Volcano and the Nicoya Gulf.The Sky Trek’s zip lines go from mountain to mountain, allowing you fly through a cable at speeds up to 40 miles per hour and heights of over 520 feet.  There are also 5 observation towers that surpass the cloud forest treetops, providing amazing panoramic views our company has a braking system that was superior to what I'd experienced in other places.The zip linesthemselvesare long and fast, when the clouds cleared, we were able to see the ocean, which was amazing. It is a really great experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Extremely fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a goo time. A bit of poor luck as it was 100% cloud cover the day we visited. It is to be expected because it is a cloud Forest after all. The Zip line was awesome. We felt very safe and our guide Miguel was excellent. There is some tower climbing involved and this is an adventure activity. If you think you are not up for it then don't go and take the tram back down. That said there were people of all ages in our group of 12 an everyone had a good time. We made the most of the full cloud cover by having fun zipping out of sight into the clouds. You will get dirty due to some cable grease so wear an old shirt or buy a rain poncho for $4 in the shop.

We also went on the sky walk. The rain kept the animals away but we did have some good stories told to us by our guide Kevin.

We were told the early morning is best for animal viewing and the afternoon best for the Zip lines.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    76
    23
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It is an adrenaline rush never to be forgotten! Absolutely awsome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you are going to do the Hanging Bridges combined with the Canopy Tour, PLEASE, do the bridges first. Otherwise, it will be a very flat experience in comparison.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murfreesboro,Tn
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Sky walk hanging bridges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time doing the walk. They have 8 hanging bridges and the trail is all concrete surface. It is very safe. It took about 2hrs to complete but you can set your own pace. The reptile exhibit was wonderful and our guide who's named was Elvis was very knowledgeable. The hummingbird exhibit was unbelievable.. This is a must see place. The roads to all the site are poor in the area. There is very little paved roads. They have a free shuttle that will pick you up at your hotel. The Don Juan coffee and cocoa farm is a must see. They have a free shuttle too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a thrill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We actually did the Skytrek/tram in the Arenal area and it was amazing! I was a little nervous at first, but the guides are great and make you feel very safe. After the first few ziplines I got the hang of it and loved it! There are 8 ziplines (2 for practice) and they differ in size, height and speed. Some of them have amazing views! Do consider the wheather, because it is more fun when it is dry. It is well worth the money. Do bring a student card, because if you're still a student you get a great discount! The road to the skytrek area is kind of bumpy, but well worth it. Consider combining it with a volcano hike, because it is close together.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tram and hummingbirds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

my travel companion had injured her knees before coming to Monteverde and was unable to do the hiking necessary to really see the ecology of the Cloud Forest so we took the tram. Our guides Jessica and Douglas were so well informed and fun. The views were fantastic and we had a great time, got great pictures and even saw Arenal

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRSkyAdventures, Public Relations Manager at Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Glad you enjoyed the Sky Tram and our hummingbirds garden, thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde also viewed

Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde to your Saves list