We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a tree” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tree House Restaurante & Cafe

Tree House Restaurante & Cafe
Main Road, in front of the Catholic Church, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
+506 2645 5751
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Peruvian, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: At the Tree House we offer a unique ambiance, we have a huge ficus tree in the middle of the restaurant.Our menu has many options, from snacks, beer and cocktails to a complete diner with a great wine.Our coffee is very special, one the best coffees in Costa Rica, we roast it ourselves and have 4 great Baristas who will make a perfect coffee, you will get incredible latte art! Our staff is very friendly. We really care about customers, so if you have any issues at the restaurant please work it out with us and we promise we will give you a satisfying solution! Thanks!
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and a tree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Nice atmosphere in this second story restaurant built around a large tree. Food and drinks were excellent. Located in downtown Santa Elena.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    320
    187
    51
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“tree top street watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

great place for an end of evening drink and a pizza. unique place to watch the street activity below from. we preferred small local places for meals but this was fun for a more touristy activity.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cool Atmosphere and yummy food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Sitting on the patio you are surrounded by a giant tree growing through the restaurant. The quesadillia was delicious and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The night we ate there we had a live band providing entertainment. Reservations accepted here. Atmosphere not rowdy but great place to go and visit with a group or date and have drinks/food!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a true gem of a restuarant in santa elena. It was built around a great tree which is perfect for warm days. They had live entertainment every night and the food was terrific.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice food at a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

After arriving in St Elena after a really bumpy drive from Fortuna, we were truely starving and ended up in this restaurant (though we wanted to visit anotherone, but then we were attracted by the location build around a tree and decided to eat here).

The size of dishes where enormous (we had some Costa Rican dishes for lunch and almost did not finish them) and quality was really good. The location was very nice and a huge PLUS for us was that we could have an eye on our car parked at the road (with all our luggage in there). Service was very friendly and prompt. Would recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree House Restaurante & Cafe also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Tree House Restaurante & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree House Restaurante & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.