We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place with great lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tree House Restaurante & Cafe

Tree House Restaurante & Cafe
Main Road, in front of the Catholic Church, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
+506 2645 5751
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 24 restaurants in Santa Elena
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Peruvian, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: At the Tree House we offer a unique ambiance, we have a huge ficus tree in the middle of the restaurant.Our menu has many options, from snacks, beer and cocktails to a complete diner with a great wine.Our coffee is very special, one the best coffees in Costa Rica, we roast it ourselves and have 4 great Baristas who will make a perfect coffee, you will get incredible latte art! Our staff is very friendly. We really care about customers, so if you have any issues at the restaurant please work it out with us and we promise we will give you a satisfying solution! Thanks!
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun place with great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The tree setting is fun. It is built around a living tree and the tables are large trunks of other trees. We had lunch and snacks which hit the spot before walking around in Santa Elena.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    193
    266
    163
    42
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the kind of restaurant that you just need to experience. There is a tree growing up through the center of it! The food is good. The prices are basic american family restaurant. The lanterns hanging from the tree branches in the darkened central area are just magic.
Ulysses our waiter was friendly and patient with the children. This is just a place you must experience

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“food good, but over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

the food was good, but there are better places to eat. it's great for tourists, but if you want more authentic food, and less expensive look else where. it seems like it's a better place to have a great alcoholic bevarage though. the staff was very friendly, and it's a good look restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Bay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must if you're in Santa Elena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We passed by this restaurant on our arrival in Santa Elena, then learned its story from a guide we hired for a jungle tour: Many years ago a man planted a fig tree, which provided shade for the horses people left under it when they went to the church across the street. When it came time for the grandchildren to do something with the property, they decided to honour their grandfather and keep the tree. Now it's an attraction, but more than that, it's a great restaurant. We were shown to our seats by a friendly greeter, and while we were waiting for our food, had time to admire the paintings on the walls around us, with different artists' interpretation of the theme "tree." The food was nicely presented and just the right amount; so many restaurants in Costa Rica served huge "North American" size portions that we just couldn't finish. As we were finishing our meal, a trio of Ticos carried a marimba up the stairs, and we were treated to some live music -- a perfect way to spend our last night in this lovely country!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A restaurant built around a tree? Excellent service and a great meal set in an extraordinary setting. The food was good, reasonably priced and they had a reasonable wine selection. The service was outstanding as was the setting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree House Restaurante & Cafe also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Tree House Restaurante & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree House Restaurante & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.