We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tree House Restaurante & Cafe

Tree House Restaurante & Cafe
Main Road, in front of the Catholic Church, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
+506 2645 5751
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Peruvian, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At the Tree House we offer a unique ambiance, we have a huge ficus tree in the middle of the restaurant.Our menu has many options, from snacks, beer and cocktails to a complete diner with a great wine.Our coffee is very special, one the best coffees in Costa Rica, we roast it ourselves and have 4 great Baristas who will make a perfect coffee, you will get incredible latte art! Our staff is very friendly. We really care about customers, so if you have any issues at the restaurant please work it out with us and we promise we will give you a satisfying solution! Thanks!
East Lansing
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good, but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Food was ok, but a little pricey. Atmosphere was interesting. Menu was extensive. Good location downtown.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    410
    247
    61
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurante but little small on portion sizes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Go there just for the tree however it is a bit expensive for what you get. Tasty but just lacking a bit.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool place, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very unique restaurant, however the service wasn't stellar, nor was the food. Go for drinks, but dine elsewhere

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A must in Santa Elena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This restaurant is literally built in a treetop. The atmosphere is magice, something halfway between how you would imagine the house of robinson crusoe and a modern downtown cafe.

The service and the quality of the food were by far above the average of all the other restaurants we tried in costa rica, therefore it's good value for money. Their menu features both local dishes and more creative fusion entries.

I would recommend dining here at least one...eating at TreeHouse is going to be something you remember in your trip around Costa Rica!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We ate lunch here and loved the GIANT tree that the restaurant is built around! They has good food and delicious cocktails! We had a blended drink with mint and it was big enough to share :) Very tasty and unique place!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree House Restaurante & Cafe also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Tree House Restaurante & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree House Restaurante & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.