We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location & service in Santa Elena!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde to your Saves list
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Santa Elena, Monteverde, | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Hummingbird Garden
Ranked #3 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
st. louis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best location & service in Santa Elena!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My daughter & I stayed 3 nights at Camino Verde. The location was perfect - on a quiet street with a "soda" (diner) next door but a short walk to the main square of Santa Elena where restaurants and shops could be found. Jose was AWESOME. He asked us what activities we wanted to do and then made recommendations as to the best places to go for those activities. He also gave his opinon, when asked, about places that he did not recommend. He then made our reservations and took care of processing the payments. All we had to do was show up in the lobby for our ride! The free breakfast was delicious, beer & wine available for purchase at a good price, free wifi & use of computers, room was comfortable and clean. I would not hesitate to return to Camino Verde and highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Monteverde area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    117
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
73
198
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very cozy BB in Monteverde. Reliable WiFi. There is the local cafe (soda) and the convenience store next door. Short walking distance to Santa Elena downtown.
Jose was extremely helpful, offering tour options and never insisting. He even verified our reservation for the next hotel we were travelling to in a couple of days.
We are grateful for their warm hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The people at Camino Verde take great pride in their B&B and in making sure everyone has a great stay in Monteverde.
We noticed during our stay, most of the other guests were return guests! These guys are definitely PURA VIDA!!!

Our cabin was small but not cramped. The showers were clean and had a shower head that needed instruction but gave us comfortable warm showers!

Camino Verde also had an iPad in the reception that allowed me to 'stay connected' after my phone broke.

Lastly Camino Verde is within a safe walking distance from the town centre but removed enough from too much of the noise.

The gentlemen (true gentlemen) who managed the front desk were knowledgeable and helpful. Found us accommodations in other cities and helped us get a fair price on private travel.
The ladies in the kitchen prepared great 'breakfast typico' and a mean coffee to start your day.

These are the type of 'hosts' that make Monteverde, Costa Rica a trip and a country a great to travel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at Camino Verde two nights, and were welcomed by Jose after a somewhat harrowing drive from Tilaran (note: I would strongly suggest getting a 4 wheel drive vehicle if you're renting a car; ask about the conditions of your route before you set off, and try to minimize driving at night). Jose immediately offered us a plan for the next few days (night tour that night to see wildlife, zipline tour, and a guided tour of Monteverde Reserve.) You need to be patient with the wildlife tours; they're good, but it won't be like going to a zoo, obviously. Zip lining was great.

I was really impressed by the professionalism of Jose and Andreas. There is pretty much always someone at the desk, ready to help, even late.

The location is in town itself (Santa Elena). Lots of people under 30, with the town seemingly geared to catering to tourists. There are a few decent restaurants, a bank, and some bars within walking distance.

Overall, really good (and really reasonable!) place to stay in Monteverde.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Me, my girlfriend and two friends stay at Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast when we visit Monteverde. We were stund by the receving and help we get from Andres to book activites in Monteverde. He and the staff really know how to get in mood for a god visit. Lovely place!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Camino Verde is a true gem. When I go back this is exactly where I will stay. The staff was SUPER helpful. The breakfast was very good and was included in the price. It is located almost right down town so it's easy to walk out for dining and shopping. Our room was constructed with all nice tropical hardwood and it was a pleasure staying there. This hotel has a nice cozy lobby where it is easy to mix and mingle with a largely international group. They also provide a community kitchen in this lobby so if you are traveling on the cheap, you could cook your own food. They also provide computers on which you can check your email and such.

There is no pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The staff was excellent and the breakfast had a good variety of food. There are two places to eat and it seemed like they wisely had the much younger group eating in one place and the others in the other dining hall. Coffee is free and they have a nice communal kitchen for everyone's use. They answer questions gladly and will set up tours. Our room wasn't elegant but was very practical and well thought out. Perfect for tired travelers. A great deal for the money! One recommendation however, our trip advisor print out said this hotel was in Monteverde. It is not. It is in Santa Elena and a little difficult to find.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: Santa Elena, Monteverde, | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 mtrs downhill from Bar Amigos across the Church in downtown, or 300 Mtrs Southwest From SuperCompro Supermarket. Across from the church you will find an entrance, follow that entrance pass Bar Amigos, straight down the dirt road for 300m. (We are right next to Tinas Casitas) We are almost the last lodging on that road, we are between a small mini market called " Las Orquideas" and a small restaurant called la " La Amistad" We now have UNLIMITED FREE CALLS to the U.S.A and cheap calls to the rest of the world. Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. For the rooms with private bathroom the prices are $25 for one person, $40 for a double, triple $45 and quadruple $55. Rooms with shared bathroom costs $15 for a single and $25 for a double. All prices include breakfast and tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.