We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde to your Saves list
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Santa Elena, Monteverde, | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Hummingbird Garden
Ranked #3 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We, a party of 5, stayed for 2 nights at Camino Verde. We drove into and out of Santa Elena and were able to park very close to our room. We booked two rooms, but found them large enough that we could have gotten by with just one.

Camino Verde was just what we needed. A very affordable place, nice and clean. Centrally located with a great breakfast. The owner, Jose, was great. Very personable, knowledgeable of the area and very willing to help arrange excursions.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    117
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
73
198
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From start to finish, this hostel was one of my favorites in Costa Rica. The owner was warm and welcoming, as well as helpful in getting our next shuttle prepared. It was like staying in a log cabin. We had a clean room, clean bathroom with warm showers, and delicious (and free) breakfast that they cook for you on the spot.

Its a 5-10 minute walk from the main street with shops and restaurants. I don't mind being a little off the beaten path, made it feel more like a lodge than some party hostel. The view from the patio is nice to enjoy on the rocking chairs. There is coffee, water, or tea at anytime in the kitchen. I was impressed with the WiFi strength, its all over the hostel and even in the rooms.

It is very well priced for the high quality. We had a wonderful stay and I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at camino verde for 3 nights, we got picked up from the bus stop promptly, our room was spacious and very comfortable, and very cheap! The owners treated us like family, helped us with everything we needed, made us feel very at home. Even down to the simplest of gestures - we brought a bottle of wine from the supermarket and while sitting eating dinner he was kind enough to open the bottle and pour us both a glass. The breakfast in the morning is really great, with some awesome choices. Felt very secure and safe and loved every minute staying here. They also take pride in the place and put lots of effort in updating decore and using their own creative flair to make things look awesome. Clearly people who are in the right business. Great facilities, great people, great atmosphere!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Camino Verde was a comfortable, casual place to stay in Monteverde. The facilities are clean and include all the basic amenities. There is a simple charm to the place, very organic. It serves a good home base to explore Monteverde and all it has to offer. The hosts and staff are so friendly and accommodating. I would recommend Camino Verde to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing, and reasonably priced place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay very cozy but a little bit older. The owner is a great guy and the breakfast is awesome..It is very close to down town. I would recommend this bed & breakfast and it is a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for making our stay in monte verde a special one. Continued success Jose :)
I appreciate all your help with planning our vacation, and enjoyed our stay at the b&b. Great service, excellent facilities, great breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a really great place to stay and cheap. The rooms were clean with nice linen and blankets. The breakfasts were great I couldn't believe they were also included in the price. It also has cooking facilities if you just want to chill in the comunal area
Jose was great at organising everything for you and was always there to answer all your questions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: Santa Elena, Monteverde, | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 mtrs downhill from Bar Amigos across the Church in downtown, or 300 Mtrs Southwest From SuperCompro Supermarket. Across from the church you will find an entrance, follow that entrance pass Bar Amigos, straight down the dirt road for 300m. (We are right next to Tinas Casitas) We are almost the last lodging on that road, we are between a small mini market called " Las Orquideas" and a small restaurant called la " La Amistad" We now have UNLIMITED FREE CALLS to the U.S.A and cheap calls to the rest of the world. Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. For the rooms with private bathroom the prices are $25 for one person, $40 for a double, triple $45 and quadruple $55. Rooms with shared bathroom costs $15 for a single and $25 for a double. All prices include breakfast and tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.