We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, GREAT breakfast, helpful staff and an absolute BARGAIN!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Save Saved
You added Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Hummingbird Garden
Ranked #3 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, GREAT breakfast, helpful staff and an absolute BARGAIN!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I will start with my ONLY criticism - the directions from the bus station aren't that great BUT everything else is FANTASTIC VALUE for the price.
Very comfortable room - a double bed and set of bunk beds. Small bathroom but water hot. Great communal area where you have breakfast, hang out, have a coffee, buy a beer/wine etc.
Jose is incredibly helpful and sorts out tours, transfers etc with no bother. Good restaurant recos too. And all for only $15 pp per night including a great breakfast.
I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    104
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
58
182
46
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you are going to Monteverde/Santa Elena, stay here. My wife and I chose it because of the good reviews and the price.

Why it was awesome:
1. Very clean - Both the main area and the rooms.
2. Staff were like friends. (Jose helped us put together our entire visit in Monteverde, on the spot).
3. Wonderful shared lobby area where visitors hung out. It had free tea/coffee, wifi, phone access, movies and music playing, kitchen use.
4. A super tasty breakfast was included with the room.


No seriously, this was the most enjoyable lodging arrangement we had on our 11-day trip.
Pura vida!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Fantastic staff, gorgeous view and family atmosphere made our 2-day stay at Camino Verde with our 3 teenage girls a great experience. Manager Jose was extremely helpful in helping us get the most out of Monteverde and truly made us feel like family. The lobby with free use of computers and kitchen, and complimentary tea and coffee was always buzzing with life, the breakfast was good and the room comfortable with a fabulous view of the ocean. The staff has great knowledge of local tours and can book on short notice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor with a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at Camino Verde having used the jeep-boat-jeep transport option from La Fortuna. After visiting La Fortuna (which is very touristy) Santa Elena/Monteverde seemed as though they were a hidden secret in the middle of nowhere (dirt & metal roads 99% of the way).

Camino Verde is located a short walk from the centre of Santa Elena, so handy for the supermarket, bars & most restaurants (if you eat at Sabor Tico, it will be about a 30 minute walk or 5 minute taxi ride).

Jose is extremely helpful with providing information for the area. He talks through what you are ideally wanting to do during your visit and highlights various options for you, but leaves you to decide. It is convenient to book directly through Jose/Camino Verde.

We had a private room with bathroom, which was basic and clean. There is great communal space around the property and free wi-fi & coffee. Breakfast is good with 3 options to choose from, and if you want to use the kitchen this is also available to guests.

We had also booked a Tica Bus ticket from Costa Rica to Nicaragua. With José's he advised us of a more convenient route from Monteverde to pick up the Tica Bus and contacted Tica Bus directly to rearrange our pick up point.

I would definitely recommend staying at Camino Verde, if visiting Monteverde.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Definitely great value for your money in terms of both comfort and convenience! For me, the little things made a difference - the nice towels, the soft sheets, and the fresh coffee. Our group was also pleasantly surprised by how we were assisted in creating the best itinerary during our stay, as they shared personal experiences and connected us with their trusted partners. As frequent travelers, it's seldom that we meet people so passionate about what they do and the country they live in. Perfect for your Costa Rica adventure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my 3 friends and we thought it was very clean and loved the decor. We arrived early in the morning so our room wasn't ready but the owner watched our luggage for us while we were out. It's only a few minutes from downtown by car. We didn't see a parking lot so we just parked right in front. There's a convenience store next door if you need anything but downtown, where everything is, is really really close by. Breakfast was delicious! Definitely would come back if we visit Monteverde again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Camino Verde and we can definitely say that this place is highly recommended. The staff and management are very accomodating, friendly and helpful. The place has a very homey and comfortable atmosphere plus the Wifi is great too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 mtrs downhill from Bar Amigos across the Church in downtown, or 300 Mtrs Southwest From SuperCompro Supermarket. Across from the church you will find an entrance, follow that entrance pass Bar Amigos, straight down the dirt road for 300m. (We are right next to Tinas Casitas) We are almost the last lodging on that road, we are between a small mini market called ” Las Orquideas” and a small restaurant called la ” La Amistad” We now have UNLIMITED FREE CALLS to the U.S.A and cheap calls to the rest of the world. Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. For the rooms with private bathroom the prices are $25 for one person, $35 for a double, triple $45 and quadruple $55. Rooms with shared bathroom costs $15 for a single and $25 for a double. All prices include breakfast and tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.