We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde to your Saves list
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Santa Elena, Monteverde, | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Hummingbird Garden
Ranked #3 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Ohio, United States
1 review
“Fantastic Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Camino Verde was a fantastic bed and breakfast located in Monteverde! Not only was it affordable, clean, and comfortable, but the service was also great. Jose made us feel very welcome and a complimentary, freshly made breakfast was offered each morning. The location is within walking distance to town, where there are some cute souvenir shops, sodas, and a grocery store. Definitely would recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Two bed, private room is fantastic for $15 a bed! Definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    117
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
72
198
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Everyone at Camino Verde B&B were helpful, friendly and treat you like family. Jose recommended and booked a night tour and zip line tour that were both exceptional and fun. Jose was available to meet any of your needs and has many recommendations for this to see, do or eat in Monteverde. Monteverde is a safe town and I felt very comfortable walking through town at night. The people of Monteverde are very friendly and I met other guests from all over the world at Camino Verde. Camino Verde is within walking distance to everything in town. I highly recommend staying at Camino Verde.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The staffs were very helpfull and friendly. We had a lot of accomodations included (free calls to Canada and America, Good breakfast, t.v and computers...) There is also a very great commune place. We enjoyed our time a lot!

Ca va bien!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at Camino Verde in May 2013, the staff were super hospitable, friendly and accommodating. They exceeded my expectations in every way to make my stay in the area perfect for me!
The B&B was very clean, and the ambience was happy and spirited, as if you're at home with friends.
I enjoyed Monteverde/Santa Elena so incredibly that I returned again in June. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had made reservations before leaving the States for 2 nights at Camino Verde in mid-May. After 2 days in La Fortuna we planned to go to Liberia but decided to change our plans and try to add a 3rd night at Camino Verde. We called on the day we intended to arrive and talked to Evert. We were very pleased that we were able to add the extra night. Evert was a wealth of information and helped us book tours, and directed us to a gas station where we could also get a flat tire repaired. We appreciated being able to use the refrigerator for our picnic supplies, and the breakfast every day was wonderful – hearty pancakes, scrambled eggs, and tasty fresh fruit – the perfect way to start each day of hiking and sightseeing. Because this is a hostel/b&b rather than a hotel it was also nice to have the opportunity to meet many travelers from all over the world and compare notes on things to see and do. After long days we really enjoyed taking a glass of wine to the enclosed porch on the back of the building to relax a bit before turning in for the night. One night we had an adorable companion – a small dog who was curled up and sound asleep on the bean-bag chair. He never woke up but we were entertained watching him squirming around, stretching, and dreaming. Our room and ensuite bathroom were very clean and comfortable, good wi-fi was handy, and we loved the “bottle walls” – someday we’ll make one of our own. Thank you for everything Evert, and we’re also glad we were able to meet you Jose, and your family on our last day at Camino Verde.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orford, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Jose was a wonderful host. All the people working there were friendly & helpful. The breakfasts were delicious. And everything was spotlessly clean. Hard to do on a dirt road with a new wall being constructed outside. Fun wall with bottles that will be lighted at night. A quiet place close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Camino Verde B&B in April 2013 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jose was very accommodating both before our visit via email, and in person during our stay. Jose was helpful but not at all in an intrusive (or pushy) way. When asked, he readily provided very helpful advice and assisted in arranging a night walk (different and exciting) and the Sky Trek Zip Line (fantastic). The accommodations are not fancy but provide everything that one needs. The room was clean and comfortable with a private bath and TV. Check out times were very flexible which we really appreciated. Access to the kitchen is an added benefit. We were able to store our water bottles in the fridge so we’d have cold water for our long drive the next day. For breakfast, you could choose from a couple of menu items and the food was very good and plentiful. After leaving Monteverde, I realized I had left my travel alarm clock (which happened to be a recent birthday gift from my kids). I emailed Jose and he responded quickly. He was able to find the clock and after a series of email exchanges, he arranged for it to be sent by courier (for a small fee) to another hotel that I was staying at. He even called me to make sure the arrangements would be OK and that I understood what he was doing. His help in getting my clock back to me was really above and beyond. I’ve lost items at major hotels before and never found anyone interested in returning the items. I was really impressed with everything about my stay, and with Jose. I’ve traveled a lot but prefer to stay in small local inexpensive accommodations rather than large, fancy, expensive chains. If you are like me, then I highly recommend Camino Verde B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: Santa Elena, Monteverde, | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 mtrs downhill from Bar Amigos across the Church in downtown, or 300 Mtrs Southwest From SuperCompro Supermarket. Across from the church you will find an entrance, follow that entrance pass Bar Amigos, straight down the dirt road for 300m. (We are right next to Tinas Casitas) We are almost the last lodging on that road, we are between a small mini market called " Las Orquideas" and a small restaurant called la " La Amistad" We now have UNLIMITED FREE CALLS to the U.S.A and cheap calls to the rest of the world. Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. For the rooms with private bathroom the prices are $25 for one person, $40 for a double, triple $45 and quadruple $55. Rooms with shared bathroom costs $15 for a single and $25 for a double. All prices include breakfast and tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.