We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Save Saved
You added Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Hummingbird Garden
Ranked #3 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was my first stop on my trip. Jose was very welcoming and gave my a quick update on what to do in Monteverde. He showed interest in how all the trips and tours had been.
It was easy to make my own dinner, and there was also cheep restaurants next door.
I really got the most of my time in Monteverde :)
The rooms were standard, the shower had warm water, the breakfast was good! Meet loads of people here as well :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    104
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
184
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. It is clean and comfortable with an excellent breakfast. The breakfast/common area is very comfortable and welcoming and gives you a chance to meet other travelers and hear their suggestions. The manager, Jose Retana, is extremely helpful with suggestions and answers to questions. He recommended and booked the various tours and also booked our transportation to and from Camino Verde. Monteverde itself is a must visit in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We had a triple which had a bunk bed so it could easily accommodate 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Once again personnel make or break your customer service business. Although Camino Verde is not your normal 4 star hotel, Andreas makes up the difference. His honest to goodness easy manner makes you feel at home right away. High on the hilltop overlooking Santa Elena and Monteverde you have a breathtaking view of the mountains and down to the Gulf of Nicoya. The rooms are Spartan, but clean and functional. The staff is always willing to meet your requests. There's always plenty of fresh coffee and cold beer in the fridge (almost said ice box). The road up is TOUGH!!! So be ready for a bumpy ride. Just remember "Pura Vida".
This was the first of four hotels we visited while in Costa Rica. Tanya-Navarre, Fl

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front porch with rocking chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Camino Verde is the perfect place to stay if you want to get away from the hostel lifestyle, but still be emerged in a family atmosphere. It is super clean and you receive a nice breakfast with 5 options each morning! The location is just a 10 minute walk to town in a quiet location. The staff is amazingly helpful and very warm! Jose booked all of our tours and needed cab rides. Jose made our stay very pleasant! He is an excellent and warm host who will make you laugh and feel right at home! He was extremely welcoming to my grandma and humorous, who is rockin' her late 80s! I highly recommend staying at Camino Verde!!
*NOTE: If you are traveling with somebody who is less mobile (say an 87 year old grandma), you can always take a cab into town to receive dinner (or groceries to cook at the hostel). Just be aware that it will cost about $2-4 bucks each way.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is on the top floor or does not have a floor above you to reduce the sound of foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hostel was absolutely amazing. The service provided by the owner Andres absolutely made our trip. We arrived in Santa Elena (Monteverde) around 6 at night, and within literally 10 minutes he gave us options on night hikes, places to eat and drink, and setup all of our activities the next day. He even helped us with our trip the next day to Arenal.

The people were also super friendly, great amenities and view of the town, and just great atmosphere. I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This property is in a good location that is walking distance to the town center. The staff was incredibly helpful and booked all of our excursions and travel, making our stay very pleasant. The food offered in the AM was delicious as well. We had to leave early one morning on an excursion and they came in extra early to make us breakfast before we had to leave. I felt very safe and was pleased with the price. I would come with my family as this was an all around amazing experience. Thanks for such a great trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We instantly felt right at home at Camino Verde! Andres was such a great advisor on what to do in Monteverde and was really welcoming. This hostel was extremely clean and comfortable and they even offer amazing home cooked breakfast every morning. I highly recommend staying here if you plan to go to Monteverde.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 mtrs downhill from Bar Amigos across the Church in downtown, or 300 Mtrs Southwest From SuperCompro Supermarket. Across from the church you will find an entrance, follow that entrance pass Bar Amigos, straight down the dirt road for 300m. (We are right next to Tinas Casitas) We are almost the last lodging on that road, we are between a small mini market called ” Las Orquideas” and a small restaurant called la ” La Amistad” We now have UNLIMITED FREE CALLS to the U.S.A and cheap calls to the rest of the world. Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. For the rooms with private bathroom the prices are $25 for one person, $35 for a double, triple $45 and quadruple $55. Rooms with shared bathroom costs $15 for a single and $25 for a double. All prices include breakfast and tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;