We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hostel I've stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde to your Saves list
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
“The best Hostel I've stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We instantly felt right at home at Camino Verde! Andres was such a great advisor on what to do in Monteverde and was really welcoming. This hostel was extremely clean and comfortable and they even offer amazing home cooked breakfast every morning. I highly recommend staying here if you plan to go to Monteverde.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I could not have hoped for a better experience during my first visit to Monteverde. Beautiful location, bright, clean rooms, great breakfast, and helpful hosts who were always ready to arrange transportation or suggest local activities and hikes. This place is an absolute gem.

Room Tip: I definitely recommend the room with private bath ensuite. Wonderful way to relax after a day of ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalya0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Thanks for giving us such a great place to stay in Monteverde! From here we moved on to Santa Teresa and Tamarindo, but this place was by far our favorite.

Andres is super helpful and just great to talk to, we felt so welcomed by him. The only questionable part was the breakfast staff. They weren't very friendly, but we realised throughout our trip that this is more of just a cultural shock.

Monteverde is beautiful. We recommend the night walk through the rainforest. The hike to the falls (which by the way, you can walk to the trailhead from town.) Go check out a tour of the coffee plantation and get a perspective of plant life in the area. We also did the zip lining tour in the area, the one with the jump at the end. Really awesome and amazingly beautiful.

If ever I find myself back in Costa Rica, I will definitely come back to Camino Verde. Thanks Andres!

Room Tip: we had a private bath with our room, and it made all the difference :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The phrase and lifestyle of PURA VIDA was displayed in the beautiful city of Monteverde at the Camino Verde Hotel.

This was my first trip to Costa Rica so I was looking to find decently priced hotels, with high safety ratings and cleanliness. This hotel surpassed all of my expectations!!!!

Upon arrival we were greated by one of the Managers, Andres, and he was absolutely charming with such a genuine tone of excitement that this was mine and my boyfriend's first time in Costa Rica. He was exceptionally helpful with making sure our needs were met with regards to planning different excursions and planning transportation for us. It was such a safe and "home-like" atmosphere.

When we opened the door to our rooms, we were very wide-eyed at how clean and vibrant the room was. House keeping came everyday ensuring beds were prepped and fresh towels were hung for guests after a long day of excursions.

The location of the hotel was perfect because it was secluded, but it was only a 5 minute walk to the city where there are many restaurants, gift shops, banks and supermarkets. We were also 10-15 away from all excursions including THE Cloud Forest. All excursions we went on were door to door drop off which made everything all the more convenient!

In the mornings, wow, we're we amazed! They displayed a simple menu in the common dinning area, and you picked your breakfast then they made it to order. I ate the rice, beans with eggs and toast everyday we were there - absolutely delicious! As we were waiting for our breakfast, we had the options of fresh coffee, juice and fresh fruit.

We enjoyed this entire experience thoroughly, from the wifi in the common areas, inclusive breakfast with your hotel stay, the genuine PURA VIDA hospitality, and the location itself! I enjoyed Camino Verde more than I enjoyed staying at our 5star hotel 2 days later in Jaco. Of course this is based on preference, but one you visit, you will understand why I took time to write this review! Thank you Camino Verde for making my trip to Monteverde perfect!

PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoreEyeUh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is located along a rocky dirt road and overlooks the town and on a clear day you can see the Gulf to the west. Andres was wonderful. He made us feel totally welcome and comfortable immediately and is a planning wizard, multitasking to help all of his guests with their activity or transportation needs. Our room was very small, but otherwise clean and comfortable. Fresh coffee was available any time we wanted it. Breakfast was filling and made to order! We payed $40 the two of us in a private room with a private bath, but we found the kind of quality experience that you'd pay $200 for in the US. It was always quiet and other guests were always respectful. Stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melykry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Even before we left for our trip Andres and Jose were helpful in making sure we had good transportation from the airport and to our destination after Camino Verde. We had a wonderful room that was clean and well kept. The shower was wonderful, lots of hot water and pressure.

They were helpful making our tour reservations for us, and making sure we went on the right ones.

Breakfast was generously portioned and varied for it coming with the room. We loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We really liked staying here. The guys that run it are incredibly helpful and friendly, with great advice on the forest guides and tours to do locally. Breakfasts are fine and are served early enough to go on the morning forest hikes. room was clean and comfortable, although in our case a little dark. Good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evieinindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#1 of 1 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#2 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 mtrs downhill from Bar Amigos across the Church in downtown, or 300 Mtrs Southwest From SuperCompro Supermarket. Across from the church you will find an entrance, follow that entrance pass Bar Amigos, straight down the dirt road for 300m. (We are right next to Tinas Casitas) We are almost the last lodging on that road, we are between a small mini market called " Las Orquideas" and a small restaurant called la " La Amistad" We now have UNLIMITED FREE CALLS to the U.S.A and cheap calls to the rest of the world. Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. For the rooms with private bathroom the prices are $25 for one person, $40 for a double, triple $45 and quadruple $55. Rooms with shared bathroom costs $15 for a single and $25 for a double. All prices include breakfast and tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing