We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde to your Saves list
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Santa Elena, Monteverde, | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Hummingbird Garden
Ranked #3 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a great b&b - we stayed in a private room with bathroom and found it to be good value for money. The bathroom was large, bed is a double size so may be small for taller people but not too bad for the price. Location is great, only a few minutes walk from the supermarket where you can buy supplies to cook in the communal kitchen after midday. The kitchen can get busy so try to get in early. Breakfast selection is excellent with 4 options to choose from and each day was very tasty. Free coffee and tea all day a great addition also. The staff are great at helping to organize tours and transfers. Recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    117
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
73
198
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B.C.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here, I hadnt ever stayed at a hostel before , so was a bit concerned since we are a couple in our early 50's but......we felt right at home. Andre is very good at what he does, his service is amazing. The other guests there were very friendly and fun. The rooms are very comfortable and Clean. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Santa Elena! Located on a small lane just few minutes walk from the centre of town. Jose was wonderful to deal with and help us book some great local tours. Rooms are clean and the ambience is super nice and relax. Make sure to have a few meals next door at Soda Armistad for delicious and cheap local food!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caliornia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been traveling for almost 30 years and I know when it's done right. Let me tell you folks, Andres "gets it" and does it "RIGHT"!!! First of all, I wrote him ahead of time asking about a transfer from La Fortuna and he set it up hassle free. I arrive and he personally walks out and grabs my duffle bag from the van, introduces himself and the next 3 days were handled with 100% perfection.

Folks, it all begins and ends with service, caring about your business and most of all meeting your customers expectations. Andres ensures your expectations are not only met, but exceeded!

My room, breakfast, tour bookings and transportation was flawless... Now that's a good vacation!

I rarely give this good of a review, but he deserves it. I will be back and if your smart, you will stay here too!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This bed and breakfast was great! The whole place is very clean and aesthetically pleasing. Breakfast was SO GOOD, people were all very friendly and helpful. Hot water! Hard to find a lot of this trip.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My friends and I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights and had an incredible time. It is extremely cozy and beautifully decorated. They catered to our every need, including delicious home-cooked breakfast in the morning, which was included in the low-cost of our room. Andres, the owner, even showed us places in Monteverde that a tourist would never know about. This included a huge ficus tree that you could crawl through to the top and later on a beautiful mountain top to view the sunset. Obviously, we really valued our time there and would urge anyone visiting Monteverde to stay at Camino Verde!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Awesome hostel/hotel, really good value. Free Ipads and Wifi, great breakfast included, can book all the best trips you need from there and they will all pick you up. We had a rental 4 x 4, which is essential but the roads up and down to Monteverde are like off roading, be prepared for 1st/2nd gear most of the last 2 hours. What makes this hostel are the staff, Jose and Andres are great guys, good fun and really look after you and know everything. Jose even drove 2 girls down to La fortuna ( 8 hours round) as they didn't want to do the drive again on the roads, how nice is that!?!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: Santa Elena, Monteverde, | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 mtrs downhill from Bar Amigos across the Church in downtown, or 300 Mtrs Southwest From SuperCompro Supermarket. Across from the church you will find an entrance, follow that entrance pass Bar Amigos, straight down the dirt road for 300m. (We are right next to Tinas Casitas) We are almost the last lodging on that road, we are between a small mini market called " Las Orquideas" and a small restaurant called la " La Amistad" We now have UNLIMITED FREE CALLS to the U.S.A and cheap calls to the rest of the world. Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. For the rooms with private bathroom the prices are $25 for one person, $40 for a double, triple $45 and quadruple $55. Rooms with shared bathroom costs $15 for a single and $25 for a double. All prices include breakfast and tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.