We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing staff, awesome location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde to your Saves list
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Santa Elena, Monteverde, | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Hummingbird Garden
Ranked #3 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“amazing staff, awesome location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hostel couldnt have been much better. The staff were more than accomodating, friendly, and fun. They helped us get all of our tours set up, suggested places to eat and go out at night, and gave friendly reminders as to what time we needed to be ready for a specific tour. Not only would I now consider them great friends, I'd also consider them phenomenal cooks! The free breakfast that was provided every day was delicious and cooked to your desire immediately when you woke up so it was fresh to eat. The room was perfect, my 4 friends and I were so happy to have been able to find a room that fit all of us comfortably, and even had our own private bathroom! We liked this place so much we recommended it to another group of friends who were planning a trip to Monteverde the following weekend. Thank you Camino Verde for making our experience one we will never forget!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    117
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
73
198
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Andres & Jose were extremely helpful with helping us plan all of our activities for the next day - hiking the cloud forest, canopy tour & great recommendations on places to eat. They really took the time to help us plan and make sure we had a great experience at their B&B. They even gave us a great recommendation on where to stay for the next leg of our trip.
We were not prepared for the cooler weather in the mountains in Santa Elena and my girlfriend was really cold the one night we explored the town. Andres stepped right in and lent her his nice coat and was very generous.
The rooms had fantastic views, very clean & breakfast was delicious in the morning. This place was about a 5-10 minute walk from town which was a very easy walk and we'd definitely recommend this to anybody that asked.

Room Tip: Ask Andres or Jose - they know what's up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stopped at Camino Verde at the end of our Costa Rican vacation. We knew from the reviews that the staff was going to be a highlight of the trip and we were not disappointed.

For travellers driving to this B&B, beware of the really rough roads leading to the location. The parking is also a bit tough given the steep driveway.

We were two couples staying in separate rooms and were both pretty satisfied with the accommodation. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great and it sounded like a freight train in the rooms at night but this isn't a fault of the Camino Verde.

Hanging out with the staff and other guests was really fun.

I would recommend contacting the hotel directly to book as we paid a premium booking through Expedia. While still fairly inexpensive, every bit of savings counts.

Television wasn't working during our stay buy we weren't exactly looking to watch TV.

Recommended for singles or couples but families wouldn't necessarily find this to be the best place to stay.

Thanks again to the great staff!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

They only make our stay as a wonderful experience but also help in our further journey of exploring Costa Rica. They provide all information and booking service right from their office and their all referals where very great company.

Room Tip: Ok they don't have swimming pool and fitness center as other motel in costa rica don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I visited Costa Rica for the first time this last summer. We had two weeks in country and wanted to see and experience as much as possible. Jose Retana was not only an awesome host who went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Monteverde, but he helped coordinate our travels, lodgings, and activities throughout the country. The prices were reasonable, but most important to us, the vendors he put us in contact were predictable, reliable and professional. Jose not only runs a great BnB in Monteverde, but he is a gifted coordinator.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Camino Verde for 2 nights. As soon as we got there we were greeted by Andres, he checked us in, let us know where to go for lunch and coordinated all of our activities for the next 2.5 days. He was patient and took his time in explaining things to us, even when football(soccer) was on! He gave us options and good suggestions on what we should or shouldn't do. We really didn't have to do a thing while there, which I loved!!

They had free breakfast in the morning, free use of an iPad and free calls to the US. The room was clean and cozy. It was very close to the small town that had all the restaurants and couple of bars. The place looks very cool because they constructed many things themselves and added some personal elements.

Definitely highly recommend Camino Verde.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

As two girls traveling by ourselves, it was important for us to feel comfortable, and this place was amazing. Our room was cheap and very clean, the free breakfast was delicious, and most importantly, the staff and especially the owner were so kind and professional! Great place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: Santa Elena, Monteverde, | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 mtrs downhill from Bar Amigos across the Church in downtown, or 300 Mtrs Southwest From SuperCompro Supermarket. Across from the church you will find an entrance, follow that entrance pass Bar Amigos, straight down the dirt road for 300m. (We are right next to Tinas Casitas) We are almost the last lodging on that road, we are between a small mini market called " Las Orquideas" and a small restaurant called la " La Amistad" We now have UNLIMITED FREE CALLS to the U.S.A and cheap calls to the rest of the world. Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. For the rooms with private bathroom the prices are $25 for one person, $40 for a double, triple $45 and quadruple $55. Rooms with shared bathroom costs $15 for a single and $25 for a double. All prices include breakfast and tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.