We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and hospitable staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Sueno

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Sueno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel El Sueno
Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Santa Elena
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very clean and hospitable staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are a 30 something couple traveling Costa Rica and found this hotel to be very clean, comfortable, and hospitable. Traveling in September, this is the off season. So it's very quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel. Notably, we booked a deluxe room at Pension Santa Elena on Lonely Planet's recommendation and, immediately upon seeing the room, cancelled our reservation. This is a family run joint. Low key and very helpful. Also, think of this as more of a B&B. The breakfast (included) was fresh and traditional.

The rooms in the back are the best; an enclosed common balcony with a phenomenal view. The only downside is that the showers only get lukewarm (seems to be common in Costa Rica).

Room Tip: Back rooms with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here with a group on a school trip, while basic, it was clean and safe. The manager even came and lectured some of the kids on hotel safety after they left their room key in their door. The location can't be beat in the adorable town of Santa Elena- right around the corner from the "downtown" area with shopping, dining and activities!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel, the son of the owner was very helpful and helped us set up a coffee plantation tour, zip line and transportation over to Playa Hermosa. The rooms were cozy although it can get a little loud if large groups are staying there. Breakfast is delicious and the staff is friendly. Would definitely recommend to anyone just wanting an honest stay in Monteverde.

Room Tip: rooms in the far back and not by the common areas are the quietest. Pay for the breakfast in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I went to Costa Rica with a group of students from my school and a few other schools, and also chaperones. I was with the group mentioned in the comment below. Upon arrival, I immediately disliked the hotel. It was completely open to anyone. Also, the smell was absolutely horrible. After sleeping the night there, I woke up to my roommate telling us that our door was open and her belongings were open in the bathroom. After telling everyone, we found out we weren't the only ones who had been robbed. It was the worst experience I ever went through. Someone broke into our room while we were sleeping. It was absolutely disturbing. To the manager's response to the comment below: we are a group of high school students. None of us are old enough to drink alcohol. There was no possible way for us to have made this up, or be the cause of this. Even the chaperones who are old enough to drink aren't that irresponsible to have been under the influence. Whoever did this had to know the hotel. The floors are extremely squeaky, and the doors couldn't be quietly forced open. Out of all hotels I've ever stayed at in other countries, this was the absolute worst. If anyone is planning to take a trip to Costa Rica, I would not recommend this hotel whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
thank you for your comments
now I wonder this ( we are a group of high school students. None of us are old enough to drink alcohol. ) I hope you were prying at the bar, and not driking
doors were not forced and you claim you were robed early in the morning

so the only way if you were robbed is that you left the doors open or there was nobody in the rooms

and even so, we have never have this issues here.
the hotel have been in business for over 15 years without having this troubles before
thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Took a group of high school students from the United States on an educational tour of Costa Rica and this was one of our scheduled hotels, the location was close to our planned activities and they were reasonably priced. Upon arrival our rooms, the bathroom particularly was filthy and had a lingering septic smell, not a huge deal if you kept the door to the bathroom closed, woke up the next day to crying teenagers, five of the rooms had been broken into (including our tour directors room) sometime in the early morning while the kids were sleeping in the room!! and no signs of forced entry; strange... Passports, cell phones, money, cameras, etc. were taken. While I understand this could happen anywhere the owners couldn't have been more defensive- direct quote "how do we know you brought these things with you?" Last time I checked you cant get from America to Costa Rica without a passport, nor can you get a teen out of a house without a cellphone, by far the most ridiculous experience of my life, we had to call the police, on our phone and begin the investigation while the owners accused us of making it up (yes I spent all night plotting how to delay a day filled with zip lining and horseback riding to fill out police reports and go to the embassy with 35 hot, exhausted and now terrified teenagers) at the request of the owners all 40 of our suitcases were searched in the middle of the street! We immediately switched hotels, for your own safety, avoid this place like the plague!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear
Itravelight9
we are sorry for all the trouble caused
however after you and your group came back late a night from the bar, how can you blame us from your acts, doors were not forced, we have never had this issues here

we dont want to say or mean to say is your fault for whatever you did that night

but is hard to believe after a night of party and drinking you came up with this history

thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked 2 nights to the hotel El Sueno with hostel bookers. When we arrive the owners of the place (i think the son and the father) told us there was no room reserved for us :/ Finally the son said that he goona put us in other hotel just next to him, but the quality was much lower and we refuse to pay the same price for a room we did't choose. He didn't accept to give us our money back. We talk at least 2 hours to try to have our money back to book somewhere else, but he was very agressive, he threated us to call the police if you didn't leave. He was screaming at us, completly crazy. Very bad experience!

Room Tip: We finally went to the hotel next to Taco Taco and it was perfect! Very good service, nice people, v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear
Talvi1
we thank you for your comments it help us get better every day
please note you did not reserve directly with us, therefore is your responsibility to make sure you have a room, with who ever you book with.
we try to do our best to get you a place at another hotel, we even offer you breakfast at the hotel.

we are a tico family run hotel, with more than 15 year on business and we do not scream to our guest

we always strive to do our best

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent location but that doesn't compensate with the price they charge.
There was very little water in the mornings, the rooms looked dirty but altogether I didn't feel totally at ease when I went to bed. The owners seemed annoyed when I asked them to freshen up the room the next day, for $40 a night I expect they clean up the bathroom and make up the beds daily.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear
TDPanda
please note there were a few issues with the water system in monteverde, however that is fixed now, that is out of our control.

we would never get annoyed on serving our guest, actually that is why we are still on business

as per the room, cleaning is made everyday, even if the rooms are empty
thank you for your coments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Sueno

Also Known As:
Hotel El Sueno Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Address: Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pension El Sueño is a family owned and operated lodge in the center of Santa Elena, a small village next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. A favorite for budget travelers and backpackers, the lodging is hosted by a family originally from the Monteverde area. The eating/kitchen and reception areas are surrounded by the rooms, all with their outside private entrances. Three new rooms have been recently built at the back of the property. Breakfast is served daily between 6 and 8 a.m. and is very reasonably priced. Lunch and dinner are also available by request at good prices, and a homemade lunch will be made to go upon request, if you're spending the day in one of the nearby parks. Transportation service is also available to the parks as well as Arenal Volcano. The friendly owner, Rafa Trejos and his family, are helpful hosts, and offer horseback tours from their nearby farm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Sueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.