We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, noisy, friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Sueno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Sueno to your Saves list
Hotel El Sueno
Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good price, noisy, friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I was backpacking (solo female) and going to budget hotels. This room was fine for me. I paid $20 per night and stayed three nights. No frills. It was cool enough when I was there that I didn't need A/C or heat. The shower was barely warm enough and the pressure wasn't great, but the location was in town, walking distance to the grocery store, pharmacy, restaurants and tour info. It was noisy at night due to traffic and motorcycles but after 10pm it got quiet outside. However, it's all built out of wood so early in the morning, when guests walked past my room, I could hear the floor boards creaking and I could hear my neighbor's conversation through the wall. It's family owned and they couldn't have been nicer. The son speaks English and was very helpful with a variety of information. Breakfast was an additional $5 and was worth it.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the road if you seek some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    19
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Santa Elena/ Monteverde can be an expensive travel destination. Entrance to the Monteverde cloud forest is around $18/person, entrance to the Santa Elena cloud forest is about $10/peson, entrance to the Catarata San Lius is $10/person, and taxis aren't cheap. So a cheaper hotel is a must if you are backpacking through. I have stayed at El Sueño a couple of times, and it is fairly priced (during the low season) and the breakfasts are excellent. However rooms can get stuffy at night, and during the rainy season mosquitos in the rooms can be problem - so make sure you get a fan. I had to track someone down and ask for a fan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I were in need of a basic hotel to spend the night after a day hiking at Monteverde. We rolled into town and immediately were attracted to Hotel El Sueno. It was just around the corner from the center of town and had row of Costa Rican wooden and leather rocking chairs lined up in front. When we asked for availability we were offered to see the room first. We took them up on this and found a very clean, yet basic room. We were able to check in immediately (well before check in time)For $40.00 we had off street parking, a comforable bed, and a complete tico breakfast. The shower was lacking in very hot water and force. But, the location was great. Once we were done with our hiking, we never had to use our car. We were able to walk to everyplace we wanted to go. The family that runs the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel open up to a lovely sitting area. I would recommend you ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We got to Monteverde during February, and searched for a place to stay for two nights.
Most of the hotels and B&B were fully booked so we decided to stay at Hotel El Sueno.
It is an average hotel: the room is standart, NO hot water in the shower!
The best thing in this hotel is the breakfast - great breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for one night last month. The family who owns the hotel is very sweet and super accommodating. They serve a delicious breakfast in the morning with a variety of options. They were also very helpful in booking tours for us. The room was very basic with cool water shower, but it was clean. We did not stay here for more than one night due to the traffic noise, as it is located on a main road in Santa Elena. I think that this is the perfect place for budget travelers who do not mind some noise from other guests at the hotel and traffic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This hotel is very basic -- we paid $40 for a double occupancy room. It is a family run place with good breakfast but it is definitely a no-frills kind of place. Our room was right on the road so it was pretty noisy during the night but that is what you get for the money. It was just a block away from a majority of the restaurants, the supermarket and a discoteca so the location is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Hotel El Sueno is located in the central triangle of Santa Elena. Anything you need is close by, and if you are arriving on the bus from San Jose, it is right around the corner when you disembark. This is good and bad. It means it is easy to get shuttles, buses, taxis to either the Santa Elena or Monteverde Preserves, the ziplines and other cloud forest activities. There are food , clothing, and drug stores just around the corner and a selection of restaurants from inexpensive to fancy. It also means you are in tourist central, not a typical Costa Rican pueblo. But that isn't far away. A five minute walk and you are on the backroads of Santa Elena where life is calmer and more spread out.

The owner Rafa and his family serve a delicious breakfast (included) and his son speaks excellent English. They are gracious and very willing to help or advise with whatever you need.

There is a pleasant row of rockers along the front of the hotel where you can sit and look out over the hills. There were often fellow travelers there whether in the day or at night.

The walls are thin, but this may be true in all of the budget hotels, I don't know. The hotel was full of college students and they were loud and ran up and down the stairs near my room. The room was spacious, neat, and clean; but the advertised hot water for the shower was the type which attempts to heat the water within the shower head and it did little more than take the edge off the cold water. Shower quickly! Monteverde can be chilly and rainy as it is at a high altitude and it is the moisture that makes everything so green and beautiful.

Overall, a good value for the excellent price, but not the place to stay if you are looking for more quiet, elegance, or tradition; but who wants to come all the way to Monteverde and then hang out in the room anyway?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Sueno

Address: Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pension El Sueño is a family owned and operated lodge in the center of Santa Elena, a small village next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. A favorite for budget travelers and backpackers, the lodging is hosted by a family originally from the Monteverde area. The eating/kitchen and reception areas are surrounded by the rooms, all with their outside private entrances. Three new rooms have been recently built at the back of the property. Breakfast is served daily between 6 and 8 a.m. and is very reasonably priced. Lunch and dinner are also available by request at good prices, and a homemade lunch will be made to go upon request, if you're spending the day in one of the nearby parks. Transportation service is also available to the parks as well as Arenal Volcano. The friendly owner, Rafa Trejos and his family, are helpful hosts, and offer horseback tours from their nearby farm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Sueno Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Sueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.