We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are all these positive reviews real?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Are all these positive reviews real?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent two nights in Cabinas el Pueblo Bed & Breakfast and I have to admit that I have some difficulties to believe all these positive reviews. Nevertheless, first of all some positive points which I share

Low price
Mostly friendly staff
Assistance in tour planning
Well functioning Wlan

However, the negative points outweigh this by far
Doubtful cleanliness especially in the shared bathrooms and even kitchen (running mice)
Restrictive cancellation policy (you have to pay for full days booked even if they would rent it again)
Very small rooms
thin walls

Concerning atmosphere I felt that the multitude of fine announcements (for example for noise after 10 pm, bringing people, washing cloths, showering too long etc. ) were not helpful. The price of the room has to be seen in perspective to what you receive. 30 Usd for 6 sqm room and shared bath is in my opinion not such good price value relationship. Additionally, I found the announcement that you should book tours in the hostel so that you can get your "free" breakfast disturbing. As name bed and breakfast suggests it should be included without relying on such methods.

All in all I believe that there are many better options in Monteverde.











Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    85
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
108
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent a night at Cabinas El Pueblo and didn't really have any expectations, as we only paid $40 for the night including breakfast (we were unable to find other vacancies and had budgeted to spend $200 at our other stops). And, were we (pleasantly) surprised!

Firstly, Marleyne and Freddy are an amazing couple and great hosts. We had plenty of logistical questions going in (related to treks at the Cloud Forest, etc.) - and Marleyne addressed these within minutes of our check-in. Then, the room itself was very comfortable and clean. And breakfast next morning was amazing - some of the best coffee I have had.

In short, we had a great night and stop here - and I would highly recommend it. But, of course, know that this is a hostel and so don't expect 24 hour room service and the sort. Easily the best $40 we spent in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at Cabinas El Pueblo for two nights. First off, this is a modest hostel. If you are looking for a fancy place, you should go elsewhere. If you want friendly service and a relatively comfortable place to sleep for dirt cheap, this is where to stay! We enjoyed the free breakfast and the 24-hr coffee and tea. It was nice to have the communal kitchen available for preparing our own meals, especially with a grocery store half a block away. Our hosts are the real reason I gave this place five stars, though. They went above and beyond making us feel comfortable, answering our questions, and suggesting itineraries. They even offered to come help us when our car broke down on the side of the road. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My cousin and I stayed in this b & b for three nights and absolutely loved it. The staff was helpful in booking tours and knowledgeable of the area and activities available. The breakfast was awesome and the shared kitchen was nice to be able to cook our own meals. If ever in Santa Elena, deffinately a safe, clean, and welcoming place to spend your stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spend just 1 night in Monteverde but the hostel was a realy nice and clean place.
- good kitchen with all kind of equipment
- clean rooms with bathroom
- rooms on the first floor are during rainy season a little bit more dry and warmer
- owners are absolutly helpfull
- they organize all kind of tours
- they pick you up at the busstation

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights in this hostel. We were very happy with our choice. The hostel was little bit hard to find. The service was great. Freddy was very very helpful. Great value. We could also park our car in front of the hotel. A supermarket is next to it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place has the greatest people running it. They love to help you find places and make reservations for you without commission. Though the rooms didn't really have a warm atmosphere, the kitchen and the place to hang out did. You can drink all the coffee and tea you want and it's very close to the center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Address: 100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Pueblo,It is the ideal place to rest as it is very close to the center but away from the noise, we offer our customers a ingnolvidable stay.The rooms are very clean the bathrooms have hot water, no internet service, wi-fi and breakfast plus we have included the best pancakes in the world. The coffee you take here is organic coffee from our plantation here you can take all the coffee you want.We offer the best prices for all tours in the Monteverde area. Remember if you are a student do not forget to bring your student card and you will have very good discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.