We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite recommendation for staying in Santa Elena!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Definite recommendation for staying in Santa Elena!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We really enjoyed this place - their staff was very amenable and provided us with some great options for activities. They made the booking extremely easy. Also, most guides and drivers know exactly where this hostel is located and are very familiar with it. Its location one street away from the main triangular downtown area but only a short staircase away made it extremely convenient. And the breakfasts (which are included with your stay) were fantastic!!

Room Tip: Our room out back was a bit noisier, since it was right by an outside common area and closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    93
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
125
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hostel is warm and friendly. There is an excellent kitchen to make food to cut down costs. The free breakfast that is made for you is delicious. The owners offer excellent advice regarding tours and they also have good wider knowledge of national transportation etc. The rooms are clean and warm and the bathroom facilities are sound. The only downside is the walk from the bus station to the hostel (especially with a heavy backpack!!) - but once conquered its well worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The place was perfect for us and our 8 monts baby. The room was big, the shower was hot. The breakfast was excelent and the staff was very very hepful and friendly. The location was good with a grocery strore just next door. The kitchen was very clean and user friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic stay in Cabinas El Pueblo. We stayed in the front room downstairs with a shared bathroom. The room was spotless and comfortable and the bathrooms were great (even had hot water!). The breakfasts are simple but a great way to start the day and rotate every second day. The communal area was really great and met some other friendly travelers. The kitchen was (unlike some hostels we've stayed in) spotless and super functional to use. Freddy was so helpful and friendly organising tours etc. All in all, it was a great, good value base to explore Monteverde from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is my first time staying at a backpacker’s hostel and I am glad that I picked Cabinas El Pueblo. I made my decision based on Tripadvisor reviews. I stayed for 2 nights in Private Room #1. Check in was a breeze and Jennifer provided information about all the tours & activities. She was very helpful and made the requested reservations for the different tours right away. I was very impressed with her enthusiasm. The room is comfortable providing basic creature comforts. The water gets heated when passing through the shower head so if the shower is moved all the way the end, the water does not get heated. It took me sometime to figure it out. I met Freddy and Marlenny later that evening who were very friendly. Freddy would always ask if I needed anything whenever he ran into me.

The hostel is located 5 minutes away (by walk) from the town center in a quiet lane. I would walk to the town center to have dinner after returning from the tours and then walk back late in the night. The supermarket in the town center also sells different kinds of woodwork souvenirs and has a good selection to choose from.

I will definitely recommend staying here for exploring the Monteverde area. This is by no means a full service hotel so if you are looking one, this is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excelent place to stay! Hot shower, good coffee, good bed, wireless, best price of the region.
I stayed with my friend just for one night, but I enjoyed a lot.
The people that attend us were well receptive and we talked to rearrange the price.
It is located in a difficult place to find, but near by the center of Monteverde.
I am very thankful to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hostel was a great find on our trip. It has a great location, helpful staff, nice atmosphere, and a wonderful breakfast! We would definitely recommend!!! They booked all of our excursions and were very informative about activities in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 8 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#2 of 10 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#6 of 25 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
#4 of 25 in Santa Elena
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Address: 100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Pueblo,It is the ideal place to rest as it is very close to the center but away from the noise, we offer our customers a ingnolvidable stay.The rooms are very clean the bathrooms have hot water, no internet service, wi-fi and breakfast plus we have included the best pancakes in the world. The coffee you take here is organic coffee from our plantation here you can take all the coffee you want.We offer the best prices for all tours in the Monteverde area. Remember if you are a student do not forget to bring your student card and you will have very good discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.