We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Good value, very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Cabinas was a very friendly place to stay, and the service was what made it an awesome time for us. The facilities were relatively basic, and the shower was somewhat temperamental, but the breakfast was good and the room was very clean and spacious enough for 2-3 people. Would recommend it for anyone travelling on a budget!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    91
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
122
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Really friendly and helpful staff, clean and nice. Nice and basic breakfast.

And to top it all: There are 3 sloths (a mother and a baby and another mature one) often coming near the hostel. Came back from a night tour and just saw them there! Also a couple of emerald tucanets have a nest near the dining area. Just have breakfast and watch them.

Their coffee (sold there from the family owned plantation) is good and strong.

As for the comment about the many signs warning about fines if you make noise etc. - You just need to ignore them and behave in a civilised way: don't use the towels to dry your shoes and don't make noise after 10.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My first experience at the Cabinas was making the drive into the 'car park'. Was I ever glad we had a 4x4. Its a steep ascent but achievable. Its certainly in keeping with the off road drive up to Monteverde.
The girl was very helpful on check in and we ended up in a basic but clean room. As mentioned by people before there is a mind boggling array of warning notices around the B&B. A little bit over the top for my liking but I can only assume they've had problems with people doing things like drying clothes with a hair dryers or cleaning their shoes with towels. Now I never had any intention of watching TV whilst in such a beautiful place but I did turn it on after we came back from dinner and drinks and only 2 channels had anything but white snow. Probably not even worth offering a TV when it doesn't really work. The mattress in our room was rock hard and presented us with a bit of an awkward sleep but for some it could be a bonus.
The breakfast was small but tasty and the coffee was good. They helped us arrange a zip line trip that was awesome and they showed us all the options rather than pushing one product which is always good.
This is certainly a pretty rustic place, which I did expect for the price, and it has its faults but on the whole I enjoyed my time here and Monteverde is definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cabinas El Pueblo was a great place to stay in Monteverde. They helped us book amazing zip line excursion with Aventura and a night hike as well. If you have a car, like we did, there is parking up a steep slope (4x4 recommended), just ask at the front desk and he'll show you the way up. All the tours also had the option to pick you up from the hostel, which was convenient for the night hike. Close to the town center, with plenty of shops and sodas within walking distance.

Solid deal for the money paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I were in Costa Rica for two weeks. During that time we rented a car and traveled much of the country, staying in various hostels, vacation rentals, and 5 star resorts. This place was by far our favorite! What made this place standout was the staff, Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. We truly felt like guests.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

People are very nice and friendly, he took us with his motocycle to the next ATM, breakfast was punctual and good. We got as present coffee from their own plantation. They definitely gave us more than we where expecting!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed in a room downstairs with a shared bathroom. The room was small and nothing special, but cheap and clean, so it was perfect for my stay there, as I was out most of the day and really only back at the hostel to sleep. The room was perfect for that as it was super quiet and came with a nice blanket for the chilly night. There were only about 4 rooms sharing 2 full bathrooms, so that was nice as well as I never had to wait for the shower or bathroom. The staff was very friendly and inviting and gave me lots of good information! I would definitely come back to this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 7 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#2 of 10 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Cabinas Eddy B&B
#3 of 26 in Santa Elena
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#15 of 26 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Address: 100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Pueblo,It is the ideal place to rest as it is very close to the center but away from the noise, we offer our customers a ingnolvidable stay.The rooms are very clean the bathrooms have hot water, no internet service, wi-fi and breakfast plus we have included the best pancakes in the world. The coffee you take here is organic coffee from our plantation here you can take all the coffee you want.We offer the best prices for all tours in the Monteverde area. Remember if you are a student do not forget to bring your student card and you will have very good discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.