We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great tours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This place is definitely very good value for your money. Remember it's a hostel though so don't expect luxury. The front desk is the only stop you need for your tours which is of course very convenient. I stayed for 4 nights and had to switch rooms after 2 nights. This way I got to try two rooms. The first room got very noisy at night because the wind (and there is a lot of wind around here) would bash in on the door which was a bit loose.
Be careful with the safe at the front office, official opening time says 9pm but I wasn't able to get my stuff at 8:30pm one night. A minor inconvenience for me, but this could be a major problem if you have to catch a bus before the front desk opens the next day.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    81
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
91
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a great stay in Santa Elena. This place is great value and the staff are very helpful with booking excursions. The rooms are small but clean and the bathrooms were very clean too. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. If you're looking for a good budget option in the Monteverde area, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place is good for your stay in Santa Elena while visiting Monteverde region. My thoughts and opinion about Monteverde mentioned in Monteverde cloud rainforest review, i wasn't impressed with the rainforest experience, however, if you already end up in Santa Elena - Cabinas El Pueblo is a nice stay and comfy stay.
It's cheap, we get a triple room ( one big bed and one "double decker" ) for roughly 30 dollars a night. It doesn't have air conditioner but you don't need one. Santa Elena is the only place in Costa Rica where i wore pants and sweatshirt when it get closer to the evening. Just open the window, you might even get cold.
The only downside i see of this place, but then again, it's not a fault of the place...washroom, or to be exact toilet position. It's right in front of the door to the washroom. The problem is i am 6'3, so its practically impossible to seat on the toilet and have the door closed at the same time. Either you doing number 2 with the open door either you twisted sideway.
Don't forget to go downstair into the kitchen area and on the board select your type of breakfast ( they have two options usually ), how many people are coming for breakfast and what time. I am not sure what happens if u don't do it, i think u will still get the breakfast, but we were reminded of this a night before.
The staff at the El Pueblo cabinas is great, Very helpfull in every way, willing to share information and even making the calls for you ( i needed information on ferry schedules from Puntarenas to Nikoya peninsula )
Nearby, you can find grocery shop, great taco place, some souvenir shops, bars, i think even a nightclub. To find cabinas El Pueblo is a bit tricky, but ask for directions from the locals and they will tell u. Pretty much, by the church ( there is only one in downtown ) u get to make a right turn to this little dirty road, it circles down the hill and u are in front of the Cabinas el Pueblo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in a private room. It was just what we needed: simple, non-extravagant bedroom and jumping-off point for exploring the surrounding area (you aren't coming here for the b&b's are you?).

Everything in the town is a 5 min walk from anything in the town restaurants are close, but there is also a grocery store a minute away and a kitchen that you can cook in to keep a tighter budget.

Keep in mind, you don't come here for Santa Elena (a pretty small, quiet town), you come for everything it is nearby and these guys were friendly and helpful with hints, bookings, etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very welcoming and helpful family!
Marlenny picked us up from the bus Station and helped us organising our travelling. Eddy showed us the sloth living in the neighbourhood and how to open a coconut :)
Delicious pancakes and very clean kitchen, well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had two rooms- one upstairs with private bath, one below next to kitchen with shared bathroom. The downstairs room was a little loud in the morning, but otherwise okay. The kitchen was great to use, the coffee which is from their own plantation is out of this world. The owner Freddy even took us out to see his coffee plantation and how he dries and processes it. There was free breakfast in the morning with fruit and toast or pancakes or omelet. The location couldn't be better, since it is as close as you can get to the store as well as so natural that there was a mom and baby sloth just outside and mot mots and other birds. They book tours which are 100% refundable in case you later change your mind. We absolutely loved this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinaselpueblo, Propietario at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello Thank you for your comment, this is when they want to return home and go back to wing coffee plantation.
Marlenny y Freddy :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a superior double room with mountain view. Well, there wasn't a mountain to view, but the room was nice and it is worth going for one of these rooms as they are light and airy and much quieter than the other doubles downstairs. There is also a balcony with comfortable chairs outside the room.
The staff were very welcoming and helped us a lot with deciding which tours to do and booking them for us.
The kitchen was well equipped and they cook you breakfast in the morning. There is also free tea and coffee (coffee from their own plantation).
The location is good, two mins walk to the supermarket and central Santa Elena where all the restaurants are. Didn't see anywhere else that I would say would be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinaselpueblo, Propietario at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello Emily,
Thanks for your comment and you taste good breakfast here every day working to be better.
Marlenny y Freddy :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Address: 100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Pueblo,It is the ideal place to rest as it is very close to the center but away from the noise, we offer our customers a ingnolvidable stay.The rooms are very clean the bathrooms have hot water, no internet service, wi-fi and breakfast plus we have included the best pancakes in the world. The coffee you take here is organic coffee from our plantation here you can take all the coffee you want.We offer the best prices for all tours in the Monteverde area. Remember if you are a student do not forget to bring your student card and you will have very good discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.