We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloud Forest Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California, United States
2 reviews
“Cloud Forest Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in a private room. It was just what we needed: simple, non-extravagant bedroom and jumping-off point for exploring the surrounding area (you aren't coming here for the b&b's are you?).

Everything in the town is a 5 min walk from anything in the town restaurants are close, but there is also a grocery store a minute away and a kitchen that you can cook in to keep a tighter budget.

Keep in mind, you don't come here for Santa Elena (a pretty small, quiet town), you come for everything it is nearby and these guys were friendly and helpful with hints, bookings, etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    91
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
122
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming and helpful family!
Marlenny picked us up from the bus Station and helped us organising our travelling. Eddy showed us the sloth living in the neighbourhood and how to open a coconut :)
Delicious pancakes and very clean kitchen, well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had two rooms- one upstairs with private bath, one below next to kitchen with shared bathroom. The downstairs room was a little loud in the morning, but otherwise okay. The kitchen was great to use, the coffee which is from their own plantation is out of this world. The owner Freddy even took us out to see his coffee plantation and how he dries and processes it. There was free breakfast in the morning with fruit and toast or pancakes or omelet. The location couldn't be better, since it is as close as you can get to the store as well as so natural that there was a mom and baby sloth just outside and mot mots and other birds. They book tours which are 100% refundable in case you later change your mind. We absolutely loved this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinaselpueblo, Propietario at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello Thank you for your comment, this is when they want to return home and go back to wing coffee plantation.
Marlenny y Freddy :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a superior double room with mountain view. Well, there wasn't a mountain to view, but the room was nice and it is worth going for one of these rooms as they are light and airy and much quieter than the other doubles downstairs. There is also a balcony with comfortable chairs outside the room.
The staff were very welcoming and helped us a lot with deciding which tours to do and booking them for us.
The kitchen was well equipped and they cook you breakfast in the morning. There is also free tea and coffee (coffee from their own plantation).
The location is good, two mins walk to the supermarket and central Santa Elena where all the restaurants are. Didn't see anywhere else that I would say would be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinaselpueblo, Propietario at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello Emily,
Thanks for your comment and you taste good breakfast here every day working to be better.
Marlenny y Freddy :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked two nights that this hostel after hearing a recommendation from other travelers we had met further south, and were not disappointed. Our room for two (we had somewhat uncouthly asked for 'the cheapest possible room' in our email, since the pricing on their website was a bit confusing) was a nice & clean bunkbed set-up near the bathrooms and kitchen. Our arrival in Santa Elena by chance coincided with the start of the city's Christmas parade, and despite the confusion with closed roads Marlenny (the manager) found us at the bus stop and got us checked in in time so that we were all able to make it back to the festival in time. Marlenny was wonderfully helpful during our entire stay, and we booked our tours and found restaurant recommendations through the hostel. Breakfast was simple but delicious and, like many places in Costa Rica, the seating area outside overlooked a small stream where we were able to observe some cool-looking birds. Located very close to the market/shops/restaurants in town (as well as a cluster of trees that a local sloth calls home). I would love to come back here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Cabinas is well located in Monteverde. Close from downtown but far enough off the beaten path to have a quiet stay. Value and pricing are very good. I had a private room that was clean and perfect for one or two people. I didn't use the kitchen but it appeared to be well equipped. Breakfast is prepared by the staff and was very tasty. The owners are very friendly, especially when it comes to booking tours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay. The rooms were clean, the staff very kind and helpful. It was a little confusing to find in the dark and we had to ask people passing by. Freddy came to get us to show us the sloth outside in a tree. The breakfast was wonderful, the shared bathrooms were kept clean and the showers warm. Thank you so much for our stay. Idaho USA

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 7 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#2 of 10 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#15 of 26 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Cabinas Eddy B&B
#3 of 26 in Santa Elena
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Address: 100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Pueblo,It is the ideal place to rest as it is very close to the center but away from the noise, we offer our customers a ingnolvidable stay.The rooms are very clean the bathrooms have hot water, no internet service, wi-fi and breakfast plus we have included the best pancakes in the world. The coffee you take here is organic coffee from our plantation here you can take all the coffee you want.We offer the best prices for all tours in the Monteverde area. Remember if you are a student do not forget to bring your student card and you will have very good discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.