We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Awesome kitchen, Great Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Tina's Casitas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabinas Tina's Casitas to your Saves list
Cabinas Tina's Casitas
300m sw of the Supermarket, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Awesome kitchen, Great Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The Good
-Friendliest staff/owners I've met
-Large kitchen with heaps of equipment
-Very clean
-Easy to organize activities
-Happy vibe
-Great view

The Bad
-Location ok not great
-Basic bar options (beer only)
-No wifi range in bottom rooms

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Tinas Casitas was a very nice place to stay. The breakfast is amazing and the staff is in general very helpful and nice and the place is very reasonable priced. But the best of all was José. the receptionist. He was always happy like us and very helpful, when for an example one couldnt close the window in the room. We miss José and no other receptionist we met in Costa Rica was as good as him.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

awesome place and awesome people! i would highly recommend this place to my friends! when you travel by yourself its nice to find a safe and friendly place to stay and meet people!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a private room with bathroom. You can hear the wind blowing strongly at times but didn't bother us. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Satellite Tv in room and good wifi.
The hostel is a 10 minute safe and pleasent walk to town - we saw 2 sloths on the way.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and the included breakfast is fantastic - eggs, pancakes and fruit made to order.coffee was available all day and we made use of the fully equipped kitchen to cook lunches and dinners.
At $16pp for a private room including a huge breakfast, this is a great value hostel.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a small, double bed room with private bathroom and satellite tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The casitas are on a hill, and directly in the line of fire if the wind is blowing. We could have used more blankets, and the pillows were like rocks. Too cold to shower in water that just didn't heat up!

Room Tip: get a room rather than a casita...take warm clothes, and don't forget a rain jacket for the clou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The staff was absolutely fabulous. I visited Monteverde in early January 2012. It was so windy and cold (so bring layers if you are traveling around that time). We arrived on the jeep boat jeep from Arenal. The driver didn't quite know where we were going because there is another place in town called Camino Verde (which is what Tina's Casitas is also called). Right when we arrived, Andres set us up on a tour and told us about the town and what we could do. He took us to our room, which ended up being a queen bed and a bunk bed. The bathrooms were OK. The shower is a little temperamental and the lighting isn't the best. The wind was amplified by the structure but you get used to it. The hostel has a washer and dryer but you have to pay for the washer. The hostel has WiFi and an enclosed balcony. There is hot tea and coffee most of the day, which is nice after a cold day. The breakfast is awesome! You have to order it from the kitchen which is run by one woman who doesn't know a lot of English. The pancakes were awesome. The options are: pancakes, rice and beans, fruit, and eggs.

All the tours pick you up straight from the hostel. I went on a free trade Monteverde coffee farm tour which was run by Joyce. I paid through the hostel and he will give you a receipt that you have to present to the tour guide. I ended up booking the coffee tour and Adventura (which includes the Superman zip line and the Tarzan swing). The Soda La Amistad next door is delicious! Order the casada. Also ask about the climbing tree!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My family (2 kids, my wife and I) stayed in the private (4 beds) room for a couple of days in December 2011.
Pros:
- Friendly and helpful owners with good english
- They will help you with tours (though the prices for the tours appear to be the same as anywhere else)
- Cheap - around $65 a night for 4 of us with taxes (breakfast included)
- Some off street parking
- Close to the center of Santa Elena - 5 min walk to supermarket and restaurants
- Decent breakfast
- Communal kitchen
- Clean
Cons:
- The hotel is a small hole in the wall type of place in a row of similar hotels, two small houses almost without any other space.
- Room is small (hardly had space for suitcases), bunk beds (kids liked it though)
- When it is windy (almost every night in MonteVerde) the roofs outside of the window made lots of noise - hard to sleep
- off street parking barely fits two cars for the whole hotel with very narrow access - was scared to scratch the rental car
- hot water shower is this electric heater shower head - you can either have just a trickle of hot water or lots of lukewarm

All in all in hindsight I should have gone for a more normal hotel even though it would have cost us 30-40 dollars more per night. But this was a good budget choice.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Tina's Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tina's Casitas

Address: 300m sw of the Supermarket, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica with us! At Tina's Casitas, we offer comfortable rooms at an affordable price. Enjoy views of the mountains and of the Pacific Ocean. We're located just a few minutes walk from center of town. Free internet, information on hikes to the clod forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cabinas Tina's Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tina's Casitas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Tina's Casitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.