We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place, great fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Monteverde Backpackers to your Saves list
Monteverde Backpackers
75 meters SouthWest of the main Supermaker in down town, Call Supercompro, Santa Elena 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Hillsboro, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cozy place, great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Almost missed this place driving in, but it's right off of the center of Santa Elena city. The room was nice, though the bunk bed and full- or queen- size bed barely fit in the room. Hot water in the showers and a small, but serviceable kitchen. Fruit, bread, and coffee is provided for breakfast. The staff is very knowledgeable of attractions in the area, and Brian (?) helped us find some great attractions a bit more off the beaten path, including a coffee tour with an actual organic coffee farmer, instead of a touristy tour-and-taste. Depending on the day, atmosphere could be buzzing and party-like or pretty chill. Can be a bit noisy due to nearby bars and the ever-present loudspeakers at Super Compro, but still a great choice.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter stay, consider asking if upstairs rooms are available. Not a big problem for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Jacob,

Thanks for staying with us and glad to hear that you like it, we will be working to make this place look nicer and nicer, offer better services and offer better staying for people, so when you come back, we hope that you can see the changes and have a better staying.

Ryan say hi.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
15
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pflugerville, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hostel is just down the road from the grocery store, restaurants, and bars. Also very close to the bus stop and bus terminal. We had a blast with the owner Alonso and his two puppies: Bob and Comanche. Alonso was so friendly and easy going! Great deal too. We paid $10 each with breakfast included! We especially loved hanging out on the patio in the evening and playing Jenga with everyone. Met lots of great people. Great place to spend my birthday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Pam,

Thanks for such amazing time here, you and your sis were amazing and we had a great time, thanks for those cute pictures of our hostel and we will be here waiting for you to come back, play move Jenga, more drinking games, and have more fun.

Thanks

Alonso.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hostel is clean, comfortable, and extremely close to the town. The owner, Alonso, was extremely helpful and friendly - answering questions about the area and providing his expertise to all of the visitors in the hostel. The atmosphere of the hostel is perfect for meeting new people as well. The kitchen is clean and despite what other reviewers may have mentioned this hostel DOES offer breakfast. I would recommend this hostel over any other in Santa Elena (Monteverde) on account of my incredible experience here and what other travelers have told me about the other hostels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This review is long overdue and I will keep things short and sweet. Location is ideal in the small town (next to the super and just a short walk to restaurants/shops). Easy to get to from Arenal - we took the boat - jeep - boat (be advised that the 'jeep' was a van) but the drive was scenic and very worth it.
The owner, Alonso was very hospitable and accommodating and provided us with information and recommendations on tours, introduced us to the game of 'spoons' and even supplied breakfasts. The hostel itself was clean and had plenty of common space both inside and out (including some very much appreciated hammocks). There was a full fridge, sink, cookware and utensils etc. The toilets are the type where you can't flush paper or sanitary products and waste paper must be disposed of in the garbage bins in each of the respective washrooms (no big deal and not uncommon in Costa Rica but it can catch you buy surprise if you are not aware ahead of time!). We also met several other interesting and fun travelers at this hostel and even continued on our trip with a few that we met here.
The only issue we had was through our booking with Hostelworld. We had booked a private room and received a common room upon our arrival. Alonso corrected this for us but we had to pay a higher rate than what was posted on Hostelworld. Alonso had also showed us his reservation screen from Hostelworld and we showed him our confirmation email - they were indeed different so we do not blame Alonso for the discrepancy and appreciate how he handled the situation.
I have stayed in other backpackers hostels throughout my travels and this one did not disappoint. A great place to base your monteverde exploration from and I'm sure you be welcomed, meet some great fellow travelers and be pleased with your stay! Be careful playing spoons - Alonso is the master!
Thanks again Alonso (and sorry for the delayed review!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you verry much, for such a nice way to talk about the hostel, service, puppy, etc About the reservation problem, you showed that was not our problem but we always like to treat and help people the best we can, so that is what we did and keep doing always.

We want to let you know that you are so welcome anytime and we will be happy to see you again.

Pura Vida!!!

Alonso.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great atmosphere, helpful staff and perfect jumping off point for the rainforest! Easy to meet people and navigate the town from this location. There is a supermarket just up the road and the showers are hot :) Highly recommend!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Manager at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Christian,

Thank you veryr much for stayed with us, welcome anytime and that is our job, try to make our custumers feel confortable.

Pura Vida!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

So friendly and helpful! The place was in a lovely location. The breakfasts were simple but great. The table and chairs outside meant everyone could chat together and share stories. Overall it was a very nice and Comanche the little dog was amazing! So friendly and made everybody's day, we loved his purple teddy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Manager at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

We feel glad to have you staying with us, glad you liked the place and hopelly we can have you staying with soon again.

Alonso.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a small hostel, but a great place. Alfonso is really friendly and happy to help with anything you may need. The location is great, a 2 minute walk to the center of town. It did also have the best and hottest shower I've had while being in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Backpackers

Address: 75 meters SouthWest of the main Supermaker in down town, Call Supercompro, Santa Elena 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Backpacker's is a very nice hostel, right new to down town, only 1 block away of the restaurants, bars and banks, will be a prefect places to enjoy of the cloud forest and all the activites in the area. We have dorms for $10 per person and Private rooms for $30 per night, all the rooms include internet and breakfast, all the rooms with private bathroom and also Kitchen, we also have a front desk, where you can also book all your tours for the diferent activites in the area and transportation to get out of Monteverde. Parking area, security guard all night and relaxing hammack area as well, and with some very nice and relax grill night, for sure the best choice to stay in Monteverde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Monteverde Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Backpackers Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.