We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience, Great Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monteverde Backpackers to your Saves list
Monteverde Backpackers
75 Meters From Supercompro | 75 meters Southwest of the main supermarket, Santa Elena 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience, Great Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hostel is clean, comfortable, and extremely close to the town. The owner, Alonso, was extremely helpful and friendly - answering questions about the area and providing his expertise to all of the visitors in the hostel. The atmosphere of the hostel is perfect for meeting new people as well. The kitchen is clean and despite what other reviewers may have mentioned this hostel DOES offer breakfast. I would recommend this hostel over any other in Santa Elena (Monteverde) on account of my incredible experience here and what other travelers have told me about the other hostels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    32
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
4
20
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This review is long overdue and I will keep things short and sweet. Location is ideal in the small town (next to the super and just a short walk to restaurants/shops). Easy to get to from Arenal - we took the boat - jeep - boat (be advised that the 'jeep' was a van) but the drive was scenic and very worth it.
The owner, Alonso was very hospitable and accommodating and provided us with information and recommendations on tours, introduced us to the game of 'spoons' and even supplied breakfasts. The hostel itself was clean and had plenty of common space both inside and out (including some very much appreciated hammocks). There was a full fridge, sink, cookware and utensils etc. The toilets are the type where you can't flush paper or sanitary products and waste paper must be disposed of in the garbage bins in each of the respective washrooms (no big deal and not uncommon in Costa Rica but it can catch you buy surprise if you are not aware ahead of time!). We also met several other interesting and fun travelers at this hostel and even continued on our trip with a few that we met here.
The only issue we had was through our booking with Hostelworld. We had booked a private room and received a common room upon our arrival. Alonso corrected this for us but we had to pay a higher rate than what was posted on Hostelworld. Alonso had also showed us his reservation screen from Hostelworld and we showed him our confirmation email - they were indeed different so we do not blame Alonso for the discrepancy and appreciate how he handled the situation.
I have stayed in other backpackers hostels throughout my travels and this one did not disappoint. A great place to base your monteverde exploration from and I'm sure you be welcomed, meet some great fellow travelers and be pleased with your stay! Be careful playing spoons - Alonso is the master!
Thanks again Alonso (and sorry for the delayed review!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you verry much, for such a nice way to talk about the hostel, service, puppy, etc About the reservation problem, you showed that was not our problem but we always like to treat and help people the best we can, so that is what we did and keep doing always.

We want to let you know that you are so welcome anytime and we will be happy to see you again.

Pura Vida!!!

Alonso.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great atmosphere, helpful staff and perfect jumping off point for the rainforest! Easy to meet people and navigate the town from this location. There is a supermarket just up the road and the showers are hot :) Highly recommend!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Manager at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Christian,

Thank you veryr much for stayed with us, welcome anytime and that is our job, try to make our custumers feel confortable.

Pura Vida!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

So friendly and helpful! The place was in a lovely location. The breakfasts were simple but great. The table and chairs outside meant everyone could chat together and share stories. Overall it was a very nice and Comanche the little dog was amazing! So friendly and made everybody's day, we loved his purple teddy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Manager at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

We feel glad to have you staying with us, glad you liked the place and hopelly we can have you staying with soon again.

Alonso.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a small hostel, but a great place. Alfonso is really friendly and happy to help with anything you may need. The location is great, a 2 minute walk to the center of town. It did also have the best and hottest shower I've had while being in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I love this Hostel and Alonso who runs it has an excellent staff and his cute puppy Comanchee, will be very happy to greet you. If Alonso offers you to have a barbecue grill with him I totally recommend it we had so much fun! When I return to Monteverde at December of this year I will stay in this hostel again. I felt very welcome to be here and I was very comfortable here and it is right around the corner from the grocery market to get more supplies for more barbecue grills!!!!!!! Further I would add that it is very close to a lot of really cool things the zip line tour or the Monteverde cheese factory is not too far away. The canopy tours all day and the barbecue grill with Alonzo at night was the best birthday I've ever had. Thank you Alonso!

Paul

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We loved our stay at monteverde backpackers. Alfonso (head of staff) was great value and helped us organise everything from transport to tours, recommendations of where to eat, where to go running, local history and even introduced us to the local music scene!
The room, well, entire place felt secure and safe with a nighttime guard, quiet hours after 10pm, free computer and fast wifi and great location in the town. Dont be put off by the quiet time though, plenty of opportunity to party with Alfonso leading the way, maestro of his own bar and vicious card player.
If nothing else convinces you, go to meet the french poodle who lives outside and provides humorous hours of entertainment.

Room Tip: 4 bed dorms are clean and comfy with great, hot, pressurised showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 8 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
#9 of 25 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#6 of 25 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#14 of 25 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Backpackers

Address: 75 Meters From Supercompro | 75 meters Southwest of the main supermarket, Santa Elena 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Backpacker's is a very nice hostel, right new to down town, only 1 block away of the restaurants, bars and banks, will be a prefect places to enjoy of the cloud forest and all the activites in the area. We have dorms for $11 per person and Private rooms for $35 per night, all the rooms include internet and breakfast, all the rooms with private bathroom and also Kitchen, we also have a front desk, where you can also book all your tours for the diferent activites in the area and transportation to get out of Monteverde. Parking area, security guard all night and relaxing hammack area as well, and with some very nice and relax grill night, for sure the best choice to stay in Monteverde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Monteverde Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Backpackers Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.