We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, cozy, friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Monteverde Backpackers to your Saves list
Monteverde Backpackers
| 75 meters Southwest of the main supermarket, Santa Elena 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quaint, cozy, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I came with my fiancé and three other travellers we'd met a few days ago. The five of us shared a 7 bed dorm with one other guy. The bunks were comfortable, and the room itself met our needs - place to sleep, place to put your things. We all shared one bathroom, and that worked fine. Our host was friendly and fun and has the cutest little dog I have ever seen, and I'm not much into dogs. Breakfast was simple - cereal, bananas, watermelon, bread, nutella, cake. There was a kitchen we could use. I absolutely loved the vibe of this place, and met other great people here as well. Close to town. Would absolutely recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Dorm was great. Private rooms looked nice also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
4
17
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

If you are looking for a place to kick back and enjoy the tranquility that is Monteverde, stay at the Monteverde backpackers.

Close enough to the centre of town to make trips and tours as easy as they come. Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and a unique insight into life in the cloud forest.

Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I had a great staying in this place, it is really confortable, good music and i could meet people here, and i booked all the tours here and i got really good prices and they sent me to the must fun and extreme tours, Alonso was super nice, hi is the man, ask him anything about tours, how to get around, where to go, how to get, he knows everything, was nice to have breakfast include in the price and what i like alot what that the rooms were small, 4 person dorm room or 7 person dorm room for only $10 and the rooms has a private bathroom and lockers inside, was super clean and the best hot showers ever, and with some hammocks in the back part of the hostel, perfect to take a nap in the afternoon, so in general, the hostel was really confortable, clean, relax and excellent service, tips have with you warm clothing because is cold up there, especially at night time!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The room and bathroom were both clean. The common areas weren't big, but I didn't spend much time there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Ok, this hostel wasn't all bad. One of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the free breakfast was more than enough to fill you up and was yummy, the location is pretty handy being right in the middle of the action really, the showers have hot water and it's great if you're a twitcher. But we aren't twitchers.
Along a 2 week trip my friend and I spent the time in 3 different hostels belonging to the Costa Rica Hostel Network and this was by far the worst. The 'sociable outdoor area' is tiny and so there's not too much room to sit down outside. The rooms are completely covered in wood panelling and so it turned out to be the noisiest hostel in the world with people walking up and down stairs and along their floors at 3am in the morning when they've got up to see the local birds, every step sounding like they're stomping. The rooms are riddled with damp and mould and I know this can't be helped being in a cloud forest area but a drying room would be a good idea. Even the bedding and curtains were mouldy. There was a broken window panel in the bedroom. There were no locks on the bedroom doors so anyone could just walk in and out during the day. The bathroom was dirty. There was the use of a free computer (granted, it's free!) but this took ages to load and so you could have set there all day checking your e-mails. Forget trying to use Skype I reckon! Again, I appreciate the location won't help with internet access.
We didn't quite realise when we arrived that there's some stiff competition in Santa Elena/Monteverde and so we could have tried somewhere different. If we ever go back we'll probably head somewhere else. :( Not too impressed I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Not sure about the private rooms but try to avoid the dorm rooms if you're planning on any sort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Not a bad little hostel. We stayed in two of the three deluxe rooms upstairs with the private attached baths (shower plenty of hot water, cold water sink, and toilet). The double bed filled most of the room and the roof pitch eats into even more room volume, but the room was clean and the bed adequate. Basic accommodations at their finest. Earplugs are recommended as the music from a nearby bar has no regard for the hostel's posted quiet hours.

The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast of coffee, cereal, fruit, and peanut butter and jelly on white bread was carb rich and geared toward the backpacking clientel.

Despite touring the cloud forest, the best photo I have of a toucanet was taken from the hostel kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Price of a dorm, but you get small double room w private bath, Friendly English-speaking desk, very informative & helpful. Altho quiet is requested after 10pm, there is some nearby noise later. Nice continental breakfast. Even has parking. Within walking distance to Santa Elena restaurants, esp Morpho's.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Backpackers

Address: | 75 meters Southwest of the main supermarket, Santa Elena 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Backpacker's is a very nice hostel, right new to down town, only 1 block away of the restaurants, bars and banks, will be a prefect places to enjoy of the cloud forest and all the activites in the area. We have dorms for $11 per person and Private rooms for $35 per night, all the rooms include internet and breakfast, all the rooms with private bathroom and also Kitchen, we also have a front desk, where you can also book all your tours for the diferent activites in the area and transportation to get out of Monteverde. Parking area, security guard all night and relaxing hammack area as well, and with some very nice and relax grill night, for sure the best choice to stay in Monteverde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Monteverde Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Backpackers Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.