We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean value for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco to your Saves list
Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   A 300 metros N del Banco Nal. en el centro de Santa Elena, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Clean value for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We enjoyed to stay here, was really clean, we had good panaromic view and paid 60 usd for 3 person. It is family run one and stuff is really attentive. Good price for value hotel. Breakfast starts at 6:30 which is good cause days are short in Costa RIca

Room Tip: Upper floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
24
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Our 2 night stay in one of the cabinas was one of the best experiences of our 2 week visit to Costa Rica. We had an enclosed porch (picture windows with a view of the ridge and the Gulf of Nicoya) that we would recommend. The room was spacious & clean with private bath.The staff was extremely kind and helpful. Ronald provided unsolicited help when the battery on our rental 4x4 went dead, loaning me his tools, driving me and helping me with the battery. He, Jessica and Don Taco were all very helpful & professional, even making reservations at other hotels for us. Would certainly stay here again. A great bargain.

Room Tip: Get a cabina with an enclosed porch (it gets windy here).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I just returned from a Costa Rica trip with my sister. We stayed at don Taco for 7 nights while exploring the Monteverde area. It is a great place to stay, just up the hill from the center of Santa Elena. The cabinas are beautiful, with a great view of Santa Elena. Very convenient for dining in Santa Elena, with lots of choice very close, but just outside the bustle of the "downtown" Friendly, helpful staff
I will definitely stay again next time. Hasta proximo anjo, Ronald y Jessica!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esch-sur-Sure, Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed 2 night in the cabinas and they are very basic. The room is not more than a bed and an old shower. We stayed in room 14 and it was the worst acomodation we had on our trip in Costa Rica. Altough the staf was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

These guys can’t be beat for the price. The location is great, you’re a close enough to walk to the town and far enough out to have no problems. The view from the rooms is not to be beat. You won’t regret staying here. The breakfast is really nice.

Room Tip: get one of the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

My family and I were in the corner room on the top floor, nearst to the dirt road (less than 100 meters away.) So there were constantly cars and people going by, so it was very noisy. It, of course, did not help that the hotel room did not have thick walls, so it was diificult to fall asleep.
There was also the issue of mold. Which we found both in the room and the adjoining bathroom. (Totally Grody, it made my allergies start up again.)
And then there were the ants. Small little critters, but still disturbing when you see a line of them crawl of up your bedspead.
All in all, it wasn't very pleasant. The staff was very nice and helpful though. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We traveled for 3 weeks in Costa Rica and stayed at a variety of locations and establishments. I have to say that for the money, Don Taco gets a high five. The very friendly, helpful and bilingual staff, really give this place an extra star. From the moment that we arrived until we left, we were treated like honored guests. The rooms are basic but very clean and roomy. The shower is awesome - meaning in Costa Rica - it has REALLY warm water (if you've traveled in Costa Rica, you know what I'm talking about!!). This was a real treat after 10 days of cold showers!! Another bonus: breakfast included AND dirty clothes laundered at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have a great view! Possible downside: no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco

Address: A 300 metros N del Banco Nal. en el centro de Santa Elena, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel y Cabinas Don Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.