We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Nacional Curu

Parque Nacional Curu
Tambor, Tambor, Costa Rica
50626410100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Definitely worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Best national park during my trip to Costa Rica (not been to the Caribbean side though). It is a beautiful place that has a real "jungle feeling" to it with very little of a real tourist attraction. I have even been chased by monkeys but that was the kind of experience I was looking for ;-).

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our favorite location in CR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I highly recommend renting a kayak and going up the river at high tide then going across the bay to a secluded little beach. This was magic for us!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Didn't see much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We visited the park as part of excursion to Tortuga Island. We arrived by boat and it was a nice scenic ride. It was hot and we walked around for about two hours. There were monkeys at the beginning of the trail, and that was about it. Not too much into foliage so wasn't too interesting. Make sure you bring water, it is very expensive to purchase $4US.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubusson
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous wildlife and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Long beach and jungle with several trails of differing lengths and difficulty. Plenty of wildlife to see if you are quiet. Good swimming beach. Some shade available.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The park is small but wonderful. After going through the entry point, we were greeted by hundreds of capuchin monkeys. To watch them navigate the trees and play was thrilling. Mothers were carrying babies in the trees and on the ground. Around noon, they fed the capuchins bananas and that was a delight to witness. There are other animals at the park that take a while to see but the monkeys were everywhere affording pleasure and great pictures.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Curu also viewed

Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Parque Nacional Curu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque Nacional Curu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.