We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our visit to Tambor Tropical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tambor Tropical Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tambor Tropical Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ur Tambor - Puntarenas, Tambor, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our visit to Tambor Tropical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife & I just returned from our stay at Tambor Tropical. After several very stressful years of schooling & work, we desperately needed a time of quiet and refreshing in a beautiful place. We had found Tambor Tropical on-line a number of years ago, and has always dreamed of going there because it looked so pretty. Honestly, we had prepared ourselves to be disappointed because how could a resort in real life look as good as the pictures on the web site? When we arrived, we were blown away! It was everything we had hoped for and more. Everything about the resort was perfect. From the beautiful teakwood rooms and wrap around decks, wonderful food & drinks (all made with fresh ingredients) , friendliest staff we have ever met, all nestled in the beautiful natural surrounding. The Mango Daiquiris were the best!! We will come back to Tambor Tropical, every chance we can. It was the best vacation our our lives! Martin & Debi Warner, Fort Collins, CO

Room Tip: Upstairs is the best. Beautiful ocean & sunrise view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandywine, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The resort was great. The room was adequate, and the landscaping was beautiful.

I would recommend this resort to anyone looking to having the option of just relaxing, or having access to numerous fun activities, such as fishing, ATV riding, zip lining, water skiing, and scuba diving.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We had a great time. The resort was beautiful, the food very good, the beds amazing, the beach was lovely. There was hardly anyone on the beach. We golfed at Los Delfines near by. It is a beautiful well kept course. The resort was somewhat isolated but everything you might need was there. The scenery and wildlife was incredible. We love Costa Rica and it's people. The people are very laid back and gracious.

Room Tip: The entertainment at night was quite loud and in Spanish so we were glad to have a room far from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We took a day trip to Tambor and after spending the afternoon on the beach we stopped in for lunch and drinks. We sat at the outdoor tiki bar and the bartender made delicious pina coladas with all fresh ingredients. In fact they were so yummy we bought the ingredients and made them ourselves at our hotel the next day! For lunch, we split a chicken quesadilla with beans and rice and it was just enough for the two of us. The outdoor pool area is lovely and the gardens are beautiful. The view of the ocean directly across from the hotel and restaurant is breathtaking and we watched several airplanes take off and arrive at the Tambor Airport.

Although we did not stay at this hotel, it looked beautiful and the grounds arel lovely. The service at their restaurant was very good and the food also very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

When Bonnie and I travel one of our hopes is to find a hidden jewel, a little slice of heaven that becomes the defining experience for that trip. During a recent fifteen day holiday in Costa Rica, we found heaven at Tambor Tropical.

We spent two nights at Tambor Tropical, each night bookending a three day kayaking adventure at the Curu National Park with Seascape Kayak Tours (which was fabulous!).

So many qualities made Tambor Tropical enjoyable: the gorgeous one room teak guest houses with a beach view (in fact, all suites at Tambor are designed to afford every room a sunrise view from bed); the setting of the pool and bar amidst the lush tropical plants; eating good and affordable food with the rolling crash of a gentle surf in the background counterpointed by the songs of numerous tropical birds. Easily said, our first night at Tambor was impressive.

We returned three days later to the same outstanding setting and amenities. This time, though, we had more time to talk with the friendly staff and some of the residents of Tambor. We learned of Tambor Tropical’ s role in the community as a sponsor of the local school and supporter of local environmental projects. We were impressed at how this resort integrated social, educational and environmental projects into its identity, and how we were offered the opportunity to share in that experience, without guilt or manipulation.

Tambor Tropical was, by far, the best place we stayed during our holiday. If you, like us, search for hidden jewels, we highly recommend Tambor Tropical.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a must stay if in the area. Beautiful accommodations and grounds.
Excellent staff and service, food and drinks priced well
The wood and workmanship in the buildings is something to be seen!
Walk the trails in the back to see birds and monkeys
We intended to stay one night and ended up staying 3

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at Tambor Tropical for nine nights in January of 2014. We were there as part of in inaugural birding tour hosted by the hotel (more on that later). We travel to the Caribbean and/or central America at least once every winter, seeking our smaller unique hotels and we have concluded this is the best place we have found so far. The Tambor area remains virtually untouched by development yet has excellent roads, connections and services. The airstrip is serviced several times a day by both Sansa and Nature Air – a quick yet breathtaking 20 minute flight from San Jose but a world away from the capital or the crowds of the resort areas. Remember that sequence in Jurassic Park where they are flying along the coast of the island…that is what you will see!
The hotel has everything we like in a beach-side resort. The rooms are huge and fully equipped. Everything is made with wood built and finished right on the property with an incredible degree of craftsmanship. We were in an upper unit and would recommend it…the surrounding deck provides a great perch to enjoy view and it is just a little removed from the pool side (although with only 12 units and a bar that has last call at 21:45, noise or traffic are hardly issues). We only used the air conditioning for two short periods but it is quick and quiet. The pool and deck area is lovely. The sun comes up directly in front of the hotel with stunning effect and not long after there is usually a fly-by of up to 14 Scarlet Macaws! The food is really well done – a nice variety of choices and so fresh. We enjoyed everything on the menu. The prices were affordable as well. Try the club sandwich with fries for $6.50; we would share one for lunch, the serving is so generous. Or, perhaps the Tropical Chicken Salad which is topped off with sautéed pineapple, what a treat!
Although the resort itself is superb, we were really swept away by the staff. The expression “made us feel at home” is over-used but here it was a true reflection of how we were treated. The staff members are all from the tiny community that surrounds Tambor. They are humble, generous, good-humoured and very good at what they do. With the small number of guests, they got to know our preferences quickly and that was really appreciated. The General Manager was equally attentive and worked tirelessly to make sure we were well cared for. One-and-all, they seem to really enjoy their jobs.
We had signed up for their inaugural birding tour and were hugely impressed by our experience. This tour is designed for beginners through to upper-intermediate birders and Nick, the hotel's naturalist and birding guide, can tailor it for whomever takes part. With the support of the local community, he has developed a series of trails in a variety of habitats all within about 20 minutes drive of the hotel. There is one trail that departs from the hotel, goes along the beach to the river and then up the river. In one morning we had 86 species on that trail which is as good if not better than anywhere we have birded. It is a well maintained trail and the wildlife viewing is easy especially with Nick’s sharp eyes and speed at getting the birds, crocodiles, monkeys, etc. in the scope. There is also a figure 8 trail that is found just out back of the hotel which is rich in birds and wildlife. Generally, we birded in the morning, relaxed pool-side in the heat of the afternoon and then visited local sites and attractions or continued birding in the later afternoon. Nick loves to share his knowledge and enthusiasm for the nature around Tambor – be sure to involve him if that interests you.

Room Tip: Go for an upper suite for the views and the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tambor Tropical Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambor Tropical Beach Resort

Address: Ur Tambor - Puntarenas, Tambor, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tambor Tropical Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambor Tropical is an intimate boutique hotel on the Pacific Ocean that offers guests a private and luxurious vacation in the less traveled Playa Tambor on Costa Rica's beautiful Nicoya Peninsula. Relax in the comfort of one of our 12 spacious beachfront suites, swim in our gorgeous mosaic-tiled pool, indulge in massage treatments, enjoy the cuisine of our full-service restaurant, and explore the nearby jungle via many guided adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tambor Tropical Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambor Tropical Beach Hotel Playa Tambor
Tambor Tropical Playa
Tambor Tropical Hotel Playa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.