We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped for 1 nite stayed for 3” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tambor Tropical Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Tambor Tropical Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ur Tambor - Puntarenas, Tambor, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Prince George
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stopped for 1 nite stayed for 3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a must stay if in the area. Beautiful accommodations and grounds.
Excellent staff and service, food and drinks priced well
The wood and workmanship in the buildings is something to be seen!
Walk the trails in the back to see birds and monkeys
We intended to stay one night and ended up staying 3

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at Tambor Tropical for nine nights in January of 2014. We were there as part of in inaugural birding tour hosted by the hotel (more on that later). We travel to the Caribbean and/or central America at least once every winter, seeking our smaller unique hotels and we have concluded this is the best place we have found so far. The Tambor area remains virtually untouched by development yet has excellent roads, connections and services. The airstrip is serviced several times a day by both Sansa and Nature Air – a quick yet breathtaking 20 minute flight from San Jose but a world away from the capital or the crowds of the resort areas. Remember that sequence in Jurassic Park where they are flying along the coast of the island…that is what you will see!
The hotel has everything we like in a beach-side resort. The rooms are huge and fully equipped. Everything is made with wood built and finished right on the property with an incredible degree of craftsmanship. We were in an upper unit and would recommend it…the surrounding deck provides a great perch to enjoy view and it is just a little removed from the pool side (although with only 12 units and a bar that has last call at 21:45, noise or traffic are hardly issues). We only used the air conditioning for two short periods but it is quick and quiet. The pool and deck area is lovely. The sun comes up directly in front of the hotel with stunning effect and not long after there is usually a fly-by of up to 14 Scarlet Macaws! The food is really well done – a nice variety of choices and so fresh. We enjoyed everything on the menu. The prices were affordable as well. Try the club sandwich with fries for $6.50; we would share one for lunch, the serving is so generous. Or, perhaps the Tropical Chicken Salad which is topped off with sautéed pineapple, what a treat!
Although the resort itself is superb, we were really swept away by the staff. The expression “made us feel at home” is over-used but here it was a true reflection of how we were treated. The staff members are all from the tiny community that surrounds Tambor. They are humble, generous, good-humoured and very good at what they do. With the small number of guests, they got to know our preferences quickly and that was really appreciated. The General Manager was equally attentive and worked tirelessly to make sure we were well cared for. One-and-all, they seem to really enjoy their jobs.
We had signed up for their inaugural birding tour and were hugely impressed by our experience. This tour is designed for beginners through to upper-intermediate birders and Nick, the hotel's naturalist and birding guide, can tailor it for whomever takes part. With the support of the local community, he has developed a series of trails in a variety of habitats all within about 20 minutes drive of the hotel. There is one trail that departs from the hotel, goes along the beach to the river and then up the river. In one morning we had 86 species on that trail which is as good if not better than anywhere we have birded. It is a well maintained trail and the wildlife viewing is easy especially with Nick’s sharp eyes and speed at getting the birds, crocodiles, monkeys, etc. in the scope. There is also a figure 8 trail that is found just out back of the hotel which is rich in birds and wildlife. Generally, we birded in the morning, relaxed pool-side in the heat of the afternoon and then visited local sites and attractions or continued birding in the later afternoon. Nick loves to share his knowledge and enthusiasm for the nature around Tambor – be sure to involve him if that interests you.

Room Tip: Go for an upper suite for the views and the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I can't even begin to describe how perfect this place was for my girlfriend and I's first few days of our Costa Rican adventure. Words are a disservice to how relaxed this place made us feel and to how incredible an experience it was. This is a corner of the world I will be visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A really nice place to stay, with great staff and good food

Food - good food and good value

Location - Excellent, right on the beach and right in town

Staff - Amazing, friendly, very helpful

Rooms - simply delightful

Overall - a highlight of our trip to Costa Rica

Room Tip: Go for a second-floor room, really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

After hanging at the beach, we dropped in for dinner and drinks around the pool. The food was quite good and very pleasing service. The outdoor setting looking at the beach, with tall palms and other tropical plants is wonderful. Though we did not go into the rooms, the setup looked great. Plus, good location in Tambor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narara, NSW
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The rooms are large (incl. kitchen) and comfortable with attractive décor. The grounds add to the pleasant experience, I just enjoyed observing the birds and iguanas on site. This hotel fronts the beach and you will often see horses (even cattle) there.
My room was the closest to the bar, which is open to the public and can get a bit noisy. I was not particularly bothered by this, it was the low season and I think for 2 of my 3 day stay there, I was the only guest. I imagine though that it might be a different story in the high season. The plus was that I had a humming bird feeder just outside this room, loved just watching them.
Downside, no internet access in the room, had to step outside every time I wanted to use the Wi Fi.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room, you get the noise on the ground floor from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perrysburg oh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed at this hotel for one night! Tambor Tropical is like it own little world on the Nicoya Peninsula. The guest houses are just beautiful, with lots of room, kitchen, etc. The grounds are also beautiful, you feel like you are out in the jungle, and then you can walk right to the ocean. There were horses on the beach when we got up at sunrise.

We had a very nice dinner that evening in a beautiful setting. We plan to visit again but stay longer!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tambor Tropical Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambor Tropical Beach Resort

Address: Ur Tambor - Puntarenas, Tambor, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tambor Tropical Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambor Tropical is an intimate boutique hotel on the Pacific Ocean that offers guests a private and luxurious vacation in the less traveled Playa Tambor on Costa Rica's beautiful Nicoya Peninsula. Relax in the comfort of one of our 12 spacious beachfront suites, swim in our gorgeous mosaic-tiled pool, indulge in massage treatments, enjoy the cuisine of our full-service restaurant, and explore the nearby jungle via many guided adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Tambor Tropical Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambor Tropical Beach Hotel Playa Tambor
Tambor Tropical Playa
Tambor Tropical Hotel Playa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.