We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tambor Tropical Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Tambor Tropical Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ur Tambor - Puntarenas, Tambor, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Columbus, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Tambor Tropical lived up to everything I saw on their website. We stayed in an upper cabana and enjoyed our views of the bay. The pool below us was sparkling clean as was the entire resort. We enjoyed dining around the pool. The food was delicious and the Limon Daiquiri was very refreshing after an outing. The staff is so helpful and accommodating. Heidi set up all our outings including horseback riding, snorkeling, massage, and a bird walk with Nick who is on staff. What piqued my interest in this beautiful, small, quiet resort was the wildlife photos on the website. I was excited to know there was a staff member who was knowledgeable in birds of the area and I could walk the grounds with him as he pointed out different bird species. Tambor Tropical is a place to relax and enjoy all the beauty Costa Rica has to offer. I highly recommend this intimate spot!

Room Tip: The upper cabanas offer a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahtomedi, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Tambor Tropical for a few days and found our accommodations to be as beautiful as the web site pictures show. It is all wood with gleaming teak and with dark blue furnishings. We stayed in one of the upper cabanas and it was very large and comfortable, with a well-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, a veranda, and wonderful views. A big plus was a full grocery store within easy walking distance. The beach is dark sand and the water shallow and so not as nice as further down the Nicoya Peninsula, but the pool is great for sunning and swimming. We highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to get a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went to Tambor Tropical as a part of our Costa Rica trip for 2 days. We were surprised by the size and amenities available in the room; A/C, Large Bed, Big Kitchen with a fridge and plush wooden flooring. The temperature of the swimming pool was just perfect and the bar well stocked! Although this hostel is perhaps not the best if you are looking to party or meet other travelers, it is perfect for a 'tranquilo' few days relaxing by the beach and soaking in the sun by relaxing on a beach lounger... Would definitely come ehre again if we were to ever go to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you want a quiet tropical nature resort this is it ! The pool and grounds are beautiful,you have a large open room with a kitchen on one side, bathroom on other with large step down shower. The bed, kitchen ,and bath is elevated one step, so you can lay in bed and look out to the water.Great deck porches.
They have fresh fruit, coffee,cereal, yogurt and wonderful toast breakfast included. I miss it ! Food prices are reasonable, fish is especially good. There is no night life but they do have a small bar by the pool.There are a few places you can walk to in the evening Costa Coral,a beautiful resturant/ hotel ,but pricey, then a small local soda , had good fish cosada dinner there.There is a small grocery store very close,but no rows of gift stores here.
We didn't have a car,so took the local bus to Curu' and Montezuma [shops here] for $2 each way compared to $25-35 by taxi, but be prepared to wait some are on time or up to 30 min late.We really enjoyed the local bus. The office will help you with tours and transportation.
The beach is dark sand, you can walk about 2 miles easily, [ pass the Barcelo ] with low tide. We took a kayak trip up the river with Bruce , saw monkey, lots of birds and huge spiders on a log, good fun.
Only thing I'd change is to have a king size bed.Some units have air conditioning, we had ceiling fans and a stand fan and were comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay at Tambor Tropical.

Room Tip: Not all units have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Tambor Tropical for 5 nights, supposed to be 2 but loved it so much we stayed as long as we could. The rooms were massive, fully equipped and spotless with amazing views of the beach and pool. The pool was perfect temperature 24/7, the staff were very friendly and more than helpful. Overall a great experience of the Costa Rican Pacific Coast. We wish we could come back more often but we are from Australia so very far away. Recommend you staying here!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had the best time at the Tropical. The staff is great, very friendly and can not do enough for you. The rooms are huge with a full kitchen and large sitting area. You have a private porch to relax and watch the sunrise and set. Our room did not have A/C which was an adjustment. But hearing the surf, howler monkey's and roosters more than made up for it! If you want the 'big box' vacation where you can close your eyes and be at any Marriott, Hyatt or Holiday Inn in the world, the Tropical is not for you. If you want to relax, chat with other guests, hike or bike and feel like you are truly in Costa Rica this is a great place to be. The food was great, the grounds and pool is immaculate. We loved it and will definetly be back!

Room Tip: All rooms faced the ocean. You can pay extra for a room with A/C. Our bed was a little soft for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Beautiful grounds, cabins were amazing, food was delicious. Wifi in every room. Very relaxing, a good place to go if you want peace and quiet. The AC worked great and the staff was very friendly. There were Howler monkeys on the property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tambor Tropical Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambor Tropical Beach Resort

Address: Ur Tambor - Puntarenas, Tambor, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tambor Tropical Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambor Tropical is an intimate boutique hotel on the Pacific Ocean that offers guests a private and luxurious vacation in the less traveled Playa Tambor on Costa Rica's beautiful Nicoya Peninsula. Relax in the comfort of one of our 12 spacious beachfront suites, swim in our gorgeous mosaic-tiled pool, indulge in massage treatments, enjoy the cuisine of our full-service restaurant, and explore the nearby jungle via many guided adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Tambor Tropical Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambor Tropical Beach Hotel Playa Tambor
Tambor Tropical Playa
Tambor Tropical Hotel Playa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.