We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Ostend, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

It was my 4th time in Tango Mar ...and every time I love it more and more. The atmosphere, the location, the food and service is impeccable. Hilde is the perfect "mama'ger"
Can't wait to get back....
Gwendoline

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    91
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
95
262
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

How lucky I feel to have been able to visit this paradise! I have truly found my spot I want to vacation at more than once. There is nothing I can complain about, and everything I can compliment. The Owner, Hilde, is so warm and wonderful. The environment is so peacefrul, and the staff is truly amazing. The food was so good. The breakfast is abundant and delicious..Ive never had waffles that were so wonderful. The coffee is amazing, of coarse, and the rest of the menu throughout the day offered variety throughout our stay. I never felt the need to leave the resort.
The rooms are very comfortable and large. Our maids always left a beautiful presentation of folded towels, flower petals, and utmost cleanliness.
The waves of the beach lulled me to sleep every night, in a very comfortable bed. I woke to peace and quiet every morning, walked to breakfast viewing paradise, and spent the days touring Tortuga, Curu National Park, or relaxing at the pool. Definately worth the effort to get there (We rented a car from San Jose...It was an adventure! Get a GPS if you are going to drive!)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

This hotel is incredible, the staff is very attentive and the owner is always available. How many hotels actually have an owner that is there from dawn to dusk?! The food was superb, with a beautiful, open dining area overlooking the ocean with no screens or windows to obscure the view. Surprisingly, there were no bugs! Just the peaceful sound of the waves breaking on the beautiful private beach. It was truly a tranquil getaway.

The rooms overlook the ocean. The rooms, bathrooms and balcony were all very large and immaculate. Several of our friends went deep sea fishing for rooster fish and had a successful adventure!

There is also zip lining and kayaking available nearby!

You can't go wrong going to this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Our group of 6 had a night to spend in a hotel before we moved to our house in Santa Teresa. We could've stayed here all week!! Don't let the long gravel road to the property give you pause... Everything about Tango Mar is fantastic - service, clean accommodations, food, views, beach and friendly, attentive staff! Heaven on Earth!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We spent 4 nights here in early Feb. Once you negotiate the dirt road (1 k) and see the palm tree lined beach beside the reception/restaurant building you'll know you are in for a treat. No other property is visable from this beach! Large room (918) very clean with very large balcony overlooking beach in front and pool complex to the side. Staff is extraordinary as were dinners, lunches and breakfasts. Owner lives on site and is very involved in day to day operations. It's clear owner and employees respect each other and that certainly benefits the guests. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This intimate, quiet resort on the Nicoya Pennisula was everything my husband and I could have wanted; a beautiful and secluded beach, lovely pool area and grounds, excellent service and food. It takes some getting to, i.e. flying to San Jose, driving an hour and a half (either yourself or via a tourist bus) to a ferry at Puntaranos for a 65 minute trip to Paquera and then driving about 45 minutes to Tango Mar, but it's worth it. We went mainly for much needed relaxation but you can also be active if you want. There are nature preserves to the north and south, zip-lining, surfing about 1 hour away. The food is excellent but there are no night-time activities which was fine with us. Without exception, the staff is friendly and warm and seem to genuinely like working there. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

What a fun, relaxing resort. Clean, great food, quiet surroundings, except when the monkeys in the trees nearby decided to howl! Where else can you see that right out your back door? The staff was very friendly and helpful and Edwardobegan calling us by name just hours after our arrival. Simply had a lovely time and would recommend this resort with both thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.