We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 nights and pay 3!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Paradise in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Our group of 6 had a night to spend in a hotel before we moved to our house in Santa Teresa. We could've stayed here all week!! Don't let the long gravel road to the property give you pause... Everything about Tango Mar is fantastic - service, clean accommodations, food, views, beach and friendly, attentive staff! Heaven on Earth!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    102
    47
    16
    10
See reviews for
115
313
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We spent 4 nights here in early Feb. Once you negotiate the dirt road (1 k) and see the palm tree lined beach beside the reception/restaurant building you'll know you are in for a treat. No other property is visable from this beach! Large room (918) very clean with very large balcony overlooking beach in front and pool complex to the side. Staff is extraordinary as were dinners, lunches and breakfasts. Owner lives on site and is very involved in day to day operations. It's clear owner and employees respect each other and that certainly benefits the guests. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This intimate, quiet resort on the Nicoya Pennisula was everything my husband and I could have wanted; a beautiful and secluded beach, lovely pool area and grounds, excellent service and food. It takes some getting to, i.e. flying to San Jose, driving an hour and a half (either yourself or via a tourist bus) to a ferry at Puntaranos for a 65 minute trip to Paquera and then driving about 45 minutes to Tango Mar, but it's worth it. We went mainly for much needed relaxation but you can also be active if you want. There are nature preserves to the north and south, zip-lining, surfing about 1 hour away. The food is excellent but there are no night-time activities which was fine with us. Without exception, the staff is friendly and warm and seem to genuinely like working there. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

What a fun, relaxing resort. Clean, great food, quiet surroundings, except when the monkeys in the trees nearby decided to howl! Where else can you see that right out your back door? The staff was very friendly and helpful and Edwardobegan calling us by name just hours after our arrival. Simply had a lovely time and would recommend this resort with both thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This place is truely a tropical paradise. We stayed in one of the Tiki Suites and the room was perfection down to the custom Teak wood floors from tree's on the property. The service is outstanding and the laid back welcoming feeling really makes this a relaxing spot. The beach is clean and private, at times we were the only people on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed in the Tiki huts. They were beautiful with a big view of the ocean. We were very comfortable. The staff met all our expectations. It felt warm and inviting with the owner always meeting the guests each night at dinner. The beach was beautiful and fun to be in the surf. Our food was great. There were walks near by where we saw monkeys. This was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

I don't know where to start as we had a wonderful experience for our aniversary stay. From the moment we arrived the staff was very outgoing, friendly and helpful and we felt that over the course of our week's stay that they all became our friends. The owner greeted us and she made it a point to visit each table at dinner to make sure we were all enjoying our stay. I've never met an owner who showed more interest in taking care of her guests.

The resort is truly a hidden gem as it is well off the main road and secluded. The rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated. The resort sits on one of the most beautiful stretches of beach we have been on. The restaurant and food was very elegant and well prepared. The swimming pools were beatiful, clean and had a perfect view of the beach and ocean. We particularly liked the infinity pool with swim up bar. I could go on and on but I would just echo the other wonderful comments posted with ours. We would definitely recommend Tango Mar to anyone looking for a relaxed and romantic experience. We will return there one day...

Greg and Becky

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
24.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#4 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
24.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
25.0 mi away
Hotel Praiamar
Hotel Praiamar
#2 of 19 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.