We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like a paradise (with a few remarks about breakfast...)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4X3, 1 free night!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Poznan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost like a paradise (with a few remarks about breakfast...)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

I spent 5 nights in Tango Mar with my husband as part of our honeymoon trip to Costa Rica. The hotel location and surroundings really exceeded our expectations. We had the standard Oceanfront room and the view was really stunning - you could really feel like in paradise. The overall hotel service was very good, however breakfast a'la carte can get a big boring after a few days of eating similar set of food. One remark about the Super Tour (Curu Reserve & Tortuga Island) they organize from the hotel - if you are scared of rough waves it is not recommended for you as on the way back from Tortuga Island the ocean seems to be really dangerous - at least this is what we experienced.

Overall a perfect place for a honeymoon - quiet, intimate and very friendly;-)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    89
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
94
257
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

This was our 2nd time at Tango Mar. This was the perfect place to get married and we brought many family and friends with us to share the moment and vacation. All our guests and we had a great time! The customer service from the entire staff, including wedding planner Hannia and owner Hilda, was top notch. The food is excellent, including the complimentary breakfast each morning. The main lobby and restaurant were recently remodeled and are gorgeous. The grounds and views are stunning and so peaceful and relaxing. This is also a great spot to honeymoon. The spa treatments and yoga quality were comparable to 5-star resorts. We also took advantage of the many tours the resort has to offer and will coordinate for you; such as deep-sea fishing, Tortuga Island tour, and the can’t-miss Canopy Zip Line. We stayed in a Tiki Suite this time, the most spacious of the rooms, while others in our party stayed in Ocean Front Rooms, Tropical Suites and the 2 smaller villas. All were very pleased with their accommodations. The resort is only about 10 minutes from the Tambor airstrip which makes is very easy to get to.
The small town of Cobano is about 10 minutes away where there are a few shops and bars where you can enjoy some local culture. Montezuma is about 30 minutes away, also a small town, and has more restaurants and shops to explore.
The best part, in our opinion of course, was the wedding ceremony and reception. The ceremony site, the Mirador, (look-out point) offers the most beautiful backdrop and the primary reason we chose Tango Mar for our Costa Rica destination wedding. The entire online wedding planning process and communication with Hannia was flawless. I would highly recommend Tango Mar to others interested in a beach paradise destination wedding, especially if you are interested in getting a great value for your money. The wedding expenses including ceremony/reception food and drinks, fireworks, etc. were very affordable and definitely worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We had no intention of staying here, so I'll give you a back story. We spent the previous night (2/4/09) at AOL Lodge outside La Fortuna. We had intended to drive (2/5/09) to Monteverde where we had a reservation. However dealing with 2 days (of our 5 travel days) of heavy rain, we decided to head straight to the coast (Montezuma) and drove approx 8 hours (including 2 hour Puntarenas ferry time). We had a booking in Montezuma for 2/6 but nothing booked for this night. We got to Montezuma in the dark (6ish) and were somewhat put-off by the slightly seedy vibe (this was probably more of travel fatigue/Puntarenas induced). Our hotel did not have availability & we did not want to stay in a $25/nite sorta place (I know we're gettind old!). We ended up drving back towards Tambor and my gf suggested we splurge on this spot. Ended up probably being the best time of our trip. We arrived there 7:30 at night - place seemed kinda empty. The reception/bar area was under construction but on it's way to being plush. The rate was $190 for a suite (cheapest room) - we bluffed and asked about another hotel nearby that was $150/nite. The gave us the room for $160 (including tax). The room was beautiful and had a balconey facing the ocean (in fact the waves were loud and we closed the door at night to sleep!). Safety box/iron, nice bathroom, mini-bar ($3 Imperials!) and cable TV. We were pleased to shower with good pressure and get dolled up for dinner (it was gf's B-day!). Dinner was at the reception complex and was very good (again, it's a plush place, so $80 for dinner with some wine). The night sky was beautiful (alhough there was a full moon which is romantic, but I was hoping for meteor viewing so it washed out the sky) and our waiter (JC-Juan Carlos) was very amiable (he helped me out big time next day). Breakfast the following morning was served at a different area near the pool (included in room $). You pick off a menu (as I did every morning , I had the "Tipico" - rice/beans, eggs and some fruit). Very good b-fast. Then we hiked to the El Chorro Waterfall (beautiful, easy 20 minutes hike). The beach/cove below (technically South), was amazing- but you have to rock climb (moderate difficulty) to get there.The ocean here is perfect - no rocks, quick drop off over head, small waves). And you're looking at a waterfall (supposedly one of the few worldwide that empties directly into an ocean) and jungle towards shore. Definitely my favorite Pacific ocean moment ever. On the hike back we stopped at the small house where the owner coaxed me in with "Have a cerveza"! One of our few "authentic" Tico experiences. We hung at the hotel until about 2pm, swimming in their beautiful pool/lounging/talking to German and American tourists. Two days here should be your minimium, as there's nothing on this scale in Montezuma and I'm sure you can arrange any of the C/wabo Blanco/Waterfall/tourist activites and not deal with the backpacker/slighlty seedy element of Montezuma. It is also about 15 minutes from the Tambor airport if you want to spend $90/Person-1 Way to fly from SJO and avoid the drive/Puntarenas ferry. When I get to the 100k a year point of my life, I'll probably book a week here (one side note: this is not eco-friendly - this place is designed for us wasteful Americans).

  • Liked — Location/Privacy
  • Disliked — Expensive - but justifiably so
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hometown
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Tango Mar is set in a lovely location along the Pacific. Hammocks are strewn between trees, there are trails to beautiful overlooks from which you can watch the sunset over the Pacific, and they will even serve you a private, torch lit dinner on the beach (must be arranged in advance). The food was good, as it was all over Costa Rica. You can ask directions and hike out at low tide to one of the seven waterfalls in the world that drop directly into the ocean. NOT to be missed!

We stayed in a private tiki suite, which looked much nicer than the other types of rooms. The towels were rolled and folded into a heart with rose petals strewn across them and bath water was drawn as a special welcome to our room. The view was beautiful. The cleanliness and comfort was a little wanting though.

This region, however, was less desireable, in our opinion, than some of the others. We enjoyed seeing manta rays from a cliff overlooking the water as well as birds and some geckos. However, there were cockroaches (they climbed into our coffee!), lots of small rock and sand crabs, and BIG snakes (the gardener had just chased a 20 foot one into the water when we got there). A HUGE spider (the biggest I've ever seen) crawled across my chest during the middle of the night. EW! So, this is a lovely region but not for the arachnophobic!

The biggest problem we had was when we took a private snorkeling, nature reserve, and mangrove swamp tour arranged through the hotel. The tour was lots of fun, although the lunch the guide provided was bologna sandwiches - LOL! The problem came when the guide dropped us off in the afternoon. The hotel had forgotten to recall the taxi for us. We were left in 90 degree heat, in the middle of a dusty road a couple of miles from the hotel, with no water, no directions, and no cell phone signal. We were pretty tired from snorkeling, boating, and playing, but we didn't have much choice so we just started walking and found our way back. We're pretty laid back and athletic, so it was no big deal, but it could have been if we were older, had our kids with us, etc. I hope the staff are more attentive to those kinds of details in the future!

  • Liked — Special touches by staff, fabulous sunsets, waterfall
  • Disliked — Inconsistencies throughout, regional pests
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Our visit in the two weeks leading up to Christmas was our fourth time to Tango Mar in almost 20 years, and we still find it a very special place to stay. This time we rented a two bed-roomed villa on the Tango Mar property, separate from the hotel; previously we have stayed in the hotel’s Tikki Suites and in its Robinson Crusoe villa.
We drove a large 4x4 from San Jose to Puntarenas, where we caught the ferry to Paquera, and drove for another 30 minutes or so to Tango Mar. The road is now fully paved (it hadn’t been in the past!) and the drive was not difficult.
Construction of the new spa, reception, kitchen and bar/restaurant was reaching completion – the new kitchen and restaurant opened on Christmas Eve and the reception and bar area are stunning! It was so good to see 21st Century design and engineering being put to very effective use in this unique location.
Up until the new kitchen and restaurant was ready, dinner was served in the poolside restaurant. Nevertheless, chef Christian and his enthusiastic team delivered a different and widely varied menu every evening and the food is unquestionably the best in this part of Costa Rica. Portions are also substantial, and it is amazing that such high quality food is available so far from San Jose. It also has a decent wine list, including one of our favourite Italian wines! The service too was very friendly and efficient at all times of the day. The restaurant, bar and kitchen staff are a credit to themselves and to the owners!
Tango Mar also has strong and free WiFi access throughout the hotel, and although we did not have the chance to try out the new spa, we hope to do so on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

This hotel promised more than it delivered. First the good news. We stayed in a tropical suite, which was nice because it had a semi-private pool and sundeck. The ceiling fan and a/c kept the room quite comfortable despite the humidity outside. And after a few days, the 87 steps from the ground up to the room weren't so hard to take. Breakfast is included in the price of the room, and it's a buffet. There was usually plenty of food, but sometimes they ran out of the healthier cereal or some of the hot foods. Some of the foods were also a bit greasy, but overall it was a decent buffet.

We took an excursion to the Curú Wildlife Reserve, which was quite beautiful. We also did some snorkelling, also worthwhile. The trip to Tortuga Island, though, was a bit of a washout. You have to pay for a beach chair and pay to use the bathroom. There's a gift shop and boats and jet-skis to rent. The water is crowded with powerboats (like the one we came in on) and masses of tourists. The beach is better than at Tango Mar (more on that later), but a bit too crowded for my taste. I would not recommend the Tortuga Island excursion, but would highly recommend Curú. Our guide was terrific.

Now the bad news. There is absolutely nothing within walking distance, so you are at the mercy of the hotel's shuttle to go anywhere. We ended up eating in Montezuma ($25 one-way) so we wouldn't have to eat at Tango Mar again, but it was a nice day out just to hang in Montezuma for the afternoon. It's a kick-back kind of town, not much to do, but then we didn't want to do much. It's good for some shopping, a few drinks, people-watching, and some great food at the restaurant closest to the beach. They advertise paella - by all means order it! Then order a pizza to go a few shops down and bring it back for lunch the next day - yum!

Back to Tango Mar. The hotel is undergoing drastic renovations, and that's where the bad news really starts. The formal dining room, Cristobal, is closed so we were stuck eating at the poolside restaurant for every meal, which serves mediocre food at an inconsistent pace. The party-line for the poor service is, "We have a small kitchen." Sorry, but if you have a small kitchen then you shouldn't seat so many people at once. The wait between appetizer and entrée the first night was close to 30 minutes. I understand island time, but that's just too long. The food itself is not tasty and the portions are small. One night the head waiter even told us he had had a few other complaints about one of the entrées, yet they continued to serve it even as we were leaving. And as another reviewer wrote, the food is overpriced for the quality.

The construction also interferes with the tranquility of the environment. It's hard to relax on one of the many comfy hammocks strung up between coconut palms when there are bandsaws and other machinery ruining your peace. One of the buildings (the spa, I believe) is scheduled to be finished in October, but there is more work to be done after that, if I recall correctly. It would have been nice if we had been told when making the reservation that there was major construction underway and that the formal dining room was closed. Of course, we would not have booked at Tango Mar then.

The in-room jacuzzi was by no means luxurious. The finish was terribly scratched up and hard on the skin. I only used it once. Oh, and when you drain it the water backs up into the shower, so don't plan on showering afterwards unless you want to stand in your bathwater.

Lastly, the white sandy beaches as pictured in their brochure (and I'm sure on their website) do not exist. The beaches and water in this area are full of driftwood and garbage. By driftwood I mean tree trunks the girth of telephone poles. Even swimming at low tide (the only time you can swim here) is dangerous because of all the detritus. This goes for any hotel in the area.

In short, I would not recommend this place if you want a white sandy beach upon which to lay, if you want peace, or if you want good food.

  • Liked — Privacy of room
  • Disliked — Inconvenience of reception area; no dining choices; poor beach; remoteness from ANYTHING
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed at Tango Mar for 10 nights. The weather was just right and the peak season was coming to an end. The resort is off the beaten path and very private. It feels like you have the beach all to yourself. The customer service was fantastic and the atmosphere was very friendly and relaxing. We had a beach front room with a beautiful view of the ocean. The room was decent however don't expect clean sheets every day unless you request it. Its an Eco-friendly resort and they encourage guests to conserve water.
The resort offered a huge breakfast buffet in the main dining area over looking the ocean. Dinner is also served here as well. The food was good but a little pricey at dinner. My boyfriend and I got addicted to the cheeseburger they offer at lunch in the newly built restaurant over looking the pool and beach. They do offer room service as well.
The resort is located near Montezuma which is like a 30 minute drive. I advise renting a 4 wheel drive vehicle or an ATV since the area is very rural and most of the main roads are not paved. There is plenty of activities to do during the day as well as during the night. The food is good and the atmosphere is fun. I also recommend traveling a little further out to see Mal Pais which is about an hour away from Montezuma. The sunsets there are gorgeous.
If you are looking for a relaxing get away I would highly recommend checking out Tango Mar. Its a place where you can forget about all your worries and completely unwind and relax.

  • Liked — The beach front view
  • Disliked — I'm not a picky person so I didn't have any complaints
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.