We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff was great, food was amazing especially the breakfast buffet. the room was luxurious and the price for all of this was very reasonable. Great experience to have before going to a yoga and raw food retreat where gratification was definitely delayed!

Room Tip: we stayed in a room overlooking the beach and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    94
    40
    15
    9
See reviews for
98
270
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort is an amazing experience. It's location, beach, and area is worth experiencing alone. We stayed in a beachfront room for two nights and enjoyed every minute. Breakfast was good, lunch was great and dinner was great. Rooms are large, spotless and with great comfort. Service was great all over.

The pool area and the private stretch of beach were our favorite parts of the stay.

Be aware that the resort is located a bit far from any other city/town so you should prepare to enjoy the onsite facilities.

Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 11 nights of our honeymoon at Tango Mar and enjoyed every second of our stay. Our deluxe beachfront room was beautifully furnished with a gorgeous balcony and great views. The beach was quiet for most of our stay with plenty of hammocks to laze about it. The pools are lovely and very well maintained. The swim up bar is fantastic and “cocktail o’clock” was a very fun daily ritual. We rarely left the resort as we loved it so much and ate most of our meals in the two restaurants on site, we were never bored, the food is great and the service is outstanding. The grounds are absolutely beautiful with lots to do and see, the walks to the lookout point and the waterfall are an added bonus. We were very sad to leave and we are already planning a return trip which is not something we would normally do as there are so many other places to visit in the world. Thank you Tango Mar for your most amazing location, accommodation and most of all your incredible staff who made our stay absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Because we couldn't face another day in a rainy rain forest, we changed our plans and picked on Tango Mar primarily because it promised to be a beachfront hotel with a superb beach.
We were not disappointed and we spent the most truly relaxing part of our Costa Rican holiday there.
The rooms are so close to the beach that the waves provide a constant harmony, and although the hotel is slightly less 'Cutting Edge' in terms of design and modernity, than some of the newer arrivals: this is how a beachfront hotel should be... so that you don't feel you will be fined for having sand in your toes !!
Great pool and lunch bar, and the restaurant is in a beautiful location, and offered the best ( and least expensive) lobster that we had in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're looking for a fantastic beach off the beaten path, then this hotel is for you. It's a quiet stretch of beach with often only a handful of people and the setting is just gorgeous. The pool is also fantastic, right next to the beach with great views and newly renovated it seems. The hotel itself seemed to be past it's prime and you're definitely paying for location, not luxurious accommodations or fine food.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The property is gorgeous. The bar, restaurant, and pool all have ocean views and the rooms are stately. There are hammocks on the beach and the pools / swim-up bar are exactly how you want them to be. The golf course looked as though there is a little to be desired (I didn't play), but the grounds and hiking trails more than make up for it.

The property is off the beaten path, which is great for a quiet getaway, but it also means it's difficult to get into town to go out to eat (~$40 US each way by taxi). You end up relying on the resort's food which gets old in a hurry. There is fresh juice and a pretty great breakfast buffet, but lunch options are very limited at the pool and the dinner restaurant is like a bad Applebee's.

The beach is nearly empty and all-in-all we had a very serene experience. The service was very good. If they could update the restaurant with more fresh, local offerings, I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leysin, Vaud, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awesome service with great food. One of the best hotel I've ever been to. Thanks for the great time you gave us. I'll surely come back and thanks Junior for those great cocktails and that amazing salad.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.