We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Tango Mar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4X3, 1 free night!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Marvellous Tango Mar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Our visit in the two weeks leading up to Christmas was our fourth time to Tango Mar in almost 20 years, and we still find it a very special place to stay. This time we rented a two bed-roomed villa on the Tango Mar property, separate from the hotel; previously we have stayed in the hotel’s Tikki Suites and in its Robinson Crusoe villa.
We drove a large 4x4 from San Jose to Puntarenas, where we caught the ferry to Paquera, and drove for another 30 minutes or so to Tango Mar. The road is now fully paved (it hadn’t been in the past!) and the drive was not difficult.
Construction of the new spa, reception, kitchen and bar/restaurant was reaching completion – the new kitchen and restaurant opened on Christmas Eve and the reception and bar area are stunning! It was so good to see 21st Century design and engineering being put to very effective use in this unique location.
Up until the new kitchen and restaurant was ready, dinner was served in the poolside restaurant. Nevertheless, chef Christian and his enthusiastic team delivered a different and widely varied menu every evening and the food is unquestionably the best in this part of Costa Rica. Portions are also substantial, and it is amazing that such high quality food is available so far from San Jose. It also has a decent wine list, including one of our favourite Italian wines! The service too was very friendly and efficient at all times of the day. The restaurant, bar and kitchen staff are a credit to themselves and to the owners!
Tango Mar also has strong and free WiFi access throughout the hotel, and although we did not have the chance to try out the new spa, we hope to do so on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    89
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
94
256
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
here
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

This hotel promised more than it delivered. First the good news. We stayed in a tropical suite, which was nice because it had a semi-private pool and sundeck. The ceiling fan and a/c kept the room quite comfortable despite the humidity outside. And after a few days, the 87 steps from the ground up to the room weren't so hard to take. Breakfast is included in the price of the room, and it's a buffet. There was usually plenty of food, but sometimes they ran out of the healthier cereal or some of the hot foods. Some of the foods were also a bit greasy, but overall it was a decent buffet.

We took an excursion to the Curú Wildlife Reserve, which was quite beautiful. We also did some snorkelling, also worthwhile. The trip to Tortuga Island, though, was a bit of a washout. You have to pay for a beach chair and pay to use the bathroom. There's a gift shop and boats and jet-skis to rent. The water is crowded with powerboats (like the one we came in on) and masses of tourists. The beach is better than at Tango Mar (more on that later), but a bit too crowded for my taste. I would not recommend the Tortuga Island excursion, but would highly recommend Curú. Our guide was terrific.

Now the bad news. There is absolutely nothing within walking distance, so you are at the mercy of the hotel's shuttle to go anywhere. We ended up eating in Montezuma ($25 one-way) so we wouldn't have to eat at Tango Mar again, but it was a nice day out just to hang in Montezuma for the afternoon. It's a kick-back kind of town, not much to do, but then we didn't want to do much. It's good for some shopping, a few drinks, people-watching, and some great food at the restaurant closest to the beach. They advertise paella - by all means order it! Then order a pizza to go a few shops down and bring it back for lunch the next day - yum!

Back to Tango Mar. The hotel is undergoing drastic renovations, and that's where the bad news really starts. The formal dining room, Cristobal, is closed so we were stuck eating at the poolside restaurant for every meal, which serves mediocre food at an inconsistent pace. The party-line for the poor service is, "We have a small kitchen." Sorry, but if you have a small kitchen then you shouldn't seat so many people at once. The wait between appetizer and entrée the first night was close to 30 minutes. I understand island time, but that's just too long. The food itself is not tasty and the portions are small. One night the head waiter even told us he had had a few other complaints about one of the entrées, yet they continued to serve it even as we were leaving. And as another reviewer wrote, the food is overpriced for the quality.

The construction also interferes with the tranquility of the environment. It's hard to relax on one of the many comfy hammocks strung up between coconut palms when there are bandsaws and other machinery ruining your peace. One of the buildings (the spa, I believe) is scheduled to be finished in October, but there is more work to be done after that, if I recall correctly. It would have been nice if we had been told when making the reservation that there was major construction underway and that the formal dining room was closed. Of course, we would not have booked at Tango Mar then.

The in-room jacuzzi was by no means luxurious. The finish was terribly scratched up and hard on the skin. I only used it once. Oh, and when you drain it the water backs up into the shower, so don't plan on showering afterwards unless you want to stand in your bathwater.

Lastly, the white sandy beaches as pictured in their brochure (and I'm sure on their website) do not exist. The beaches and water in this area are full of driftwood and garbage. By driftwood I mean tree trunks the girth of telephone poles. Even swimming at low tide (the only time you can swim here) is dangerous because of all the detritus. This goes for any hotel in the area.

In short, I would not recommend this place if you want a white sandy beach upon which to lay, if you want peace, or if you want good food.

  • Liked — Privacy of room
  • Disliked — Inconvenience of reception area; no dining choices; poor beach; remoteness from ANYTHING
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed at Tango Mar for 10 nights. The weather was just right and the peak season was coming to an end. The resort is off the beaten path and very private. It feels like you have the beach all to yourself. The customer service was fantastic and the atmosphere was very friendly and relaxing. We had a beach front room with a beautiful view of the ocean. The room was decent however don't expect clean sheets every day unless you request it. Its an Eco-friendly resort and they encourage guests to conserve water.
The resort offered a huge breakfast buffet in the main dining area over looking the ocean. Dinner is also served here as well. The food was good but a little pricey at dinner. My boyfriend and I got addicted to the cheeseburger they offer at lunch in the newly built restaurant over looking the pool and beach. They do offer room service as well.
The resort is located near Montezuma which is like a 30 minute drive. I advise renting a 4 wheel drive vehicle or an ATV since the area is very rural and most of the main roads are not paved. There is plenty of activities to do during the day as well as during the night. The food is good and the atmosphere is fun. I also recommend traveling a little further out to see Mal Pais which is about an hour away from Montezuma. The sunsets there are gorgeous.
If you are looking for a relaxing get away I would highly recommend checking out Tango Mar. Its a place where you can forget about all your worries and completely unwind and relax.

  • Liked — The beach front view
  • Disliked — I'm not a picky person so I didn't have any complaints
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

My wife and I decided to stay at Tango Mar for our honeymoon and we are so glad we did!

It was ideal for us because first, it lived up to our expectation with its breath taking location and wonderful service. We also like the fact that there were hardly any other guests there. It made us feel like Tango Mar was our own private resort. It was very romantic and relaxing.

The owner of the resort was also kind enough to take the time to introduce herself to us (and the rest of the guests) at dinner. She was very genuine and interested in how our stay was going. I can see why her staff enjoys working there.

Furthermore, we greatly enjoyed the Zip-Line Tour package offered through the resort and were able to spend some time in Montezuma afterward. Tango Mar provided us with our own driver who was amiable and helped us with our Spanish :)

We hope to go again and again and look forward to the completion of their remodeled reception area.

  • Liked — The Amazing Location and Friendly People
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

I took my wife for a honeymoon in Costa Rica and we spent a week at Tango Mar. The hotel had prepared a room which was decorated in flowers and hearts for us. We both loved the stay, enjoying the beach, the jungle, the waterfall, and wonderful staff. Here is what you need to know.
Tango Mar is located in the middle of nowhere. There are few activities, and this is not a party place. Nor is this a place for children. Tango Mar is for adults, and especially is suited for couples, as this place encompasses you in a romantic atmosphere. The property does sit on a private development, and because it is far from the nearest town of Tambor, population 300, you can expect a lot of privacy. The main hotel has 18 rooms, and is situated literally on the beach. The rooms are large, and are very comfortable.
Besides a clean private beach where one can find coconuts to eat, there is a waterfall, and a jungle behind the hotel. Expect to see and hear howler monkeys if you choose to go on a hike in the jungle, which is a safe activity.
The hotel serves wonderful gratis breakfast, a worthy lunch, and not bad dinner, all reasonably priced. For dinner, I recommend taking a taxi to H&B restaurant in Tambor. The hotel staff is extremely attentive, and will accommodate all reasonable requests.
We relaxed, swam in the ocean (the waves can be rough), hiked in the jungle and had good food. We are already planning a return trip to Tango Mar.
Coming from Los Angeles, I would expect to pay at least $500/night in the States for a similar resort.

  • Liked — Location, the beach, the jungle, service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights - arrived by Interbus and flew out from Tambor. We had a small SUV rental delivered to us and dropped it off at the airport when we left. We stayed 2 nights in a Tropical Suite and one in a beachfront room as my wife sprained her ankle and the front desk quickly arranged for us to get the beachfront room which made for much easier access. The tropical suites are more private but need to walk uphill or use car. The suites were a little older and we did spot a scorpion in the sink on the morning we were moving to the beachfront room. The beachfront rooms were brighter and newer. Safes were available. The suites have jacuzzi in the room but minimal view of the beach. Property is off the main road - security did not seem to be a concern. Grounds were beautiful. Staff was great at the front desk and at the restaurant. Flambe is impressive to watch (search Tango Mar on Youtube). Food choices and taste were good. We arranged for horse back ride and birdwatching trip. Saw about 15 species of birds and a few monkeys. Drove to Montezuma for lunch one day and Malpais for sunset the next evening. Be prepared for unpaved roads after Cobano. Beach was clean but have to be careful with the currents.

  • Liked — Quiet, not crowded, decent beach, excellent service
  • Disliked — strong currents (similar to many beaches in the area), charge for internet
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anaheim,california
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

My husband and I honeymooned for 8 days at Tango Mar and absolutely loved it. We stayed in one of the ocean front room that was literally steps from the water. The grounds were lush, tropical and beautiful. This place has romance written all over it. Most days we would just loung at the very scenic (and uncrowded) infinity pool or nap on the hammocks with the sound of the waves singing you to sleep. When we needed a change of pace, we would hike on the many trails that are on the site, we ziplined in montezuma and took an exciting boat ride to beautiful tortuga island. It is very important that I acknowledge the amazing staff at Tango Mar. They were all so accomodating and friendly and made our experience there that much better. We will without a question be back!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.