We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From fabulous viewpoints food, ocean breezes & horses it's like heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4X3, 1 free night!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Tambor
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“From fabulous viewpoints food, ocean breezes & horses it's like heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Tango Mar Hotel was a great place for us to stay. It's all a matter of what you are looking for. We stayed there 3 nights. It was an adventure getting there, but worth it.

Breakfast was very good. I think the breakfast at the Doubletree Cariari by Hilton in San Jose was excellent, but it satisfied our hunger. Each morning you were delighted with different juices and the chef made whatever you desired. Dinner was fantastic-ask for the volcano drink :)! Each night we had something different. Our travel arrangements included breakfast each morning and dinner was on us. The prices were very reasonable and selection was great for any taste.

On my wife's birthday we had a private table overlooking the ocean absolutely spectacular (we didn't request anything special) they just made it happen-they even sang for her in English and Spanish!

We stayed in the Tropical suites (lot's of steps-we needed that with all the great food, but if you have trouble with steps ask for a lower villa). We had our semi private infinity pool that was so so nice, but the A/C went out they couldn't get it fixed so they upgraded us to the Tiki Suites which consists of individual circular type rooms with small above ground decks and car port for the rental, but it wasn't as private as the previous room . We dipped in the main pool and spent time by the ocean side. Had a long horseback ride and if you go to Tango Mar and get a massage ask for "Jesse" omg. I need a separate review just for her. I've had many in different places and she is the best!

Not many people speak English, but that's not a problem-we enjoyed that! We did a lot of walking and that was good-it was hot-well 7 degrees north of the equator it's always hot. We usually like to go out dancing and we missed the only night they had some dancing. it's very private and if your go there for a honeymoon you will get lots of private time.

Get ready for an adventure if you drive there, get some local currency for the tolls about 4 and go early to make sure you catch the ferry-omg that was great it was a party on the ferry and they had drinks and food for purchase.
And make sure you get a 4 wheel drive just to be on the safe side; More about our car rental and the ferry in another review.

Also the Garmin GPS we got with our Adobe rental car works well, but it only finds places not addresses. So make sure you get a phone. We had a phone and bought a SIM card in Walmart in San Jose before we left. Oh by the way Alcohol-Walmart in San Jose gave alcoholic samples-I love Costa Rica.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking up steps ask for a Villa on the lower level. If not you can always drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    297
    86
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
85
242
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was the sweetest piece of paradise - we were pampered from the moment we checked in and welcomed with a cocktail. We took advantage of the golf, tennis, pool, snorkeling and hiking trails and left the resort only twice during our 7 day stay. The tiki suite was very spacious and close to everything on the resort. The food and beverage options were just fine - although after 7 days of breakfast, lunch, and dinner you start to crave a little more - (so go to Monetzuma and eat at Playa de los Artistas for dinner on one night!). We spent an entire day driving to the nearby towns and lunching at a different resort and I must admit, we were so thankful that Tango Mar was "home" at the end of the day. It's a great place most of all due to the kindness of the staff. Everyone gave us tips on where to go, what to do, told us about the tides and the hidden trails here and there and the best time of day to catch the monkeys near the waterfall - Thank you for treating us like family!! Special thanks to Jesse, Eduardo, Andres, Javier (at the bar), and Javier (at the Front Desk).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful time spent on this lovely resort with many compliments to the staff at Tango Mar. While all the staff were courteous, pleasant and helpful, I wish to especially thank Eduardo, Jesse, George, Xavier, Denise and Fernando for making my stay comfortable, and most certainly enjoyable. I plan to come back again for a longer stay in the future. Many thanks again for all your hospitality, kindness and good times.
Sharon T
Franklin TN

Room Tip: I can't imagine getting a less than great room, but Tropical suites, which is where I stayed, ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is THE resort to stay at on the Nicoya Peninsula. You could spend your whole vacation at this resort and never leave it. It is on over 120 acres of total beauty. Oceanfront, golf course, horseback riding, Chrystal clear pools, on site restaurant with a wonderful menu and reasonable prices, easy hike to a waterfall that flows into the ocean. Bartenders that know how to pour an honest drink. The owner and staff are there to make sure everything you need is provided and in a genuine, friendly manner. We had the opportunity to see all of the different accommodations and they are beautiful and clean, clean, clean. Loved hearing the Howler monkeys and the ocean waves. We just got home from there 2 weeks ago and are planning on returning again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We eloped at Tango Mar this week and it was a terrific experience! All of he staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The weather was perfect, the beach was incredible, the room was great, the food was delicious, the drinks were cold, the pools were clean, lots of activities to chose from! We were treated like family and cannot wait to return. I cannot say enough about the staff and the owner, they made our trip a home away from home!

Room Tip: Our beach front room view looked like a scene from a postcard. Literally stepped off of the tile and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My friend and I stayed 4 nights at Tango Mar during low season in September 2013. Our room was upgraded to a Tiki Hut, which we loved. The woodwork and furnishings were beautiful, and the windows gave us panoramic views of the ocean. The beach area was footsteps from our front door, and we left our windows open all night so the ocean waves could serenade us. We spent a lot of time at the pool area, which also looked out over the ocean. The food and drinks were great, and the people were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel arranged for our tour of the rain forest and also provided me with a walking stick since I had hurt my knee earlier. This tropical paradise is one we would love to return to someday. And we would again go during low season, when all is pretty quiet in the area. The rain showers and thunder and lightening shows just added to the enjoyment of this getaway.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Tiki Huts. Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I went for a quick getaway in mid-October and it was such a treat to have only a small number of other vacationers there to share the entire place with. Gorgeous ocean front views just steps from the sandy beach, a wonderful variation of activities to choose from, and one of the most accommodating staff I have ever had the pleasure of being tended by. All around it was a great experience and even close to some other neat towns where you really get a feel for the coastal culture of this majestic peninsula in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.