We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're coming back!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 4 nights and pay 3!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tambor
Orange County, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We're coming back!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is THE resort to stay at on the Nicoya Peninsula. You could spend your whole vacation at this resort and never leave it. It is on over 120 acres of total beauty. Oceanfront, golf course, horseback riding, Chrystal clear pools, on site restaurant with a wonderful menu and reasonable prices, easy hike to a waterfall that flows into the ocean. Bartenders that know how to pour an honest drink. The owner and staff are there to make sure everything you need is provided and in a genuine, friendly manner. We had the opportunity to see all of the different accommodations and they are beautiful and clean, clean, clean. Loved hearing the Howler monkeys and the ocean waves. We just got home from there 2 weeks ago and are planning on returning again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    96
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
104
301
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We eloped at Tango Mar this week and it was a terrific experience! All of he staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The weather was perfect, the beach was incredible, the room was great, the food was delicious, the drinks were cold, the pools were clean, lots of activities to chose from! We were treated like family and cannot wait to return. I cannot say enough about the staff and the owner, they made our trip a home away from home!

Room Tip: Our beach front room view looked like a scene from a postcard. Literally stepped off of the tile and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My friend and I stayed 4 nights at Tango Mar during low season in September 2013. Our room was upgraded to a Tiki Hut, which we loved. The woodwork and furnishings were beautiful, and the windows gave us panoramic views of the ocean. The beach area was footsteps from our front door, and we left our windows open all night so the ocean waves could serenade us. We spent a lot of time at the pool area, which also looked out over the ocean. The food and drinks were great, and the people were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel arranged for our tour of the rain forest and also provided me with a walking stick since I had hurt my knee earlier. This tropical paradise is one we would love to return to someday. And we would again go during low season, when all is pretty quiet in the area. The rain showers and thunder and lightening shows just added to the enjoyment of this getaway.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Tiki Huts. Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I went for a quick getaway in mid-October and it was such a treat to have only a small number of other vacationers there to share the entire place with. Gorgeous ocean front views just steps from the sandy beach, a wonderful variation of activities to choose from, and one of the most accommodating staff I have ever had the pleasure of being tended by. All around it was a great experience and even close to some other neat towns where you really get a feel for the coastal culture of this majestic peninsula in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is truly paradise-palm tree lined white sand beach, just steps away from your room. The food is gourmet and priced reasonably. Hilde, the owner, will welcome you and treat you like family. If you have a special occasion, she will reserve the candlelit dining table on the beach for you! We have stayed numerous times over the years and it only continues to improve. If you're looking for tranquility and truly 'getting away from it all' this is an area NOT swarming with other tourists.The tri-level condo on the beach is our favorite, with deck chairs overlooking the gorgeous ocean view. It just doesn't get any better than this! Check out their virtual tours at www.tangomar.com

Room Tip: The ocean view is stunning during the day, and if you're lucky, you can enjoy watching a lightni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our third time at Tango Mar and have been amazed each and every time – twice for our anniversary, once with friends and we were so confident even brought clients . The quality of their service and beautiful accommodations – IMPRESSIVE AND CONSISTENT. You know you’re on vacation when you return from breakfast or a day out and the rooms are spotless and feels fresh every time. Didn’t think it was possible but quality of the food and drinks just keeps getting better. The well maintained property speaks for itself with million dollar ocean views that can be seen from just about any spot on the property – from the rooms, suites, villas, every restaurant, bar and pool, Jacuzzi (including the private ones in the Tiki Suites and private villas). The backdrop, lush jungle. The oceanfront rooms, Tiki suite or private villas each has its unique charm and very well appointed. The oceanfront rooms are spacious and so close to the water you can feel the pulse of ocean – “Tranquilo”, Tiki Suite with a private tub with an ocean view, a skylight right above the bed – romantic. The newly renovated Robinson Crusoe Villa is perfect for two couples or a small family, with all the amenities of home including a newly furnished and fully equipped kitchen. The 2 bedrooms and kitchen each have entrance to a large balcony facing the beach which is only steps away and feels very private because it’s located at the end, yet only a short walk away from the main restaurant and reception area.
What makes Tango Mar truly unique is the staff who go out of their way to are genuinely interested in making your experience enjoyable, relaxing and effortless. What keeps us coming back is that it is so out of the ordinary yet each time we arrive we file like we are coming home. Bravo Mama Hilde and the Tango Mar family. Thank you all for making each visit very memorable. PURA VIDA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We could not have chosen a better place for our first vacation together!!! We loved it so much, we did not want to come back home! We spent a long time searching for a good place, and we based our decision on all the wonderful reviews here, So thank you all who wrote a review on Tango Mar. And we are just returning the favor now. We have nothing but great things to say!! EVERYONE NEEDS TO VACATION HERE at least once in their life. We will definitely go there again. I really believe everyone needs to get away and escape to this wonderful paradise. We felt so refreshed after coming back home. This is totally a stress reliever and the perfect opportunity to rekindle your relationship with you spouse and spend quality time together. The excursions are absolutely stunning as well and very affordable too.
I compared excursion prices with my siblings who have traveled to other places, and Tango Mars excursions beat them all!! We went snorkeling, swam with whales, saw dolphins, monkeys, beautiful birds, went zip lining, jumped off water falls, horseback riding and saw beautiful sceneries. I'm telling you, YOU HAVE GOT TO GO HERE. Tango Mars will set up all the excursions and necessary travel for you. All you have to do is open a tab and choose what you want to do!!! They make your whole stay easy, warm, enjoyable, and unforgettable!!!
Some things to keep in mind -
1. Wear lots and lots of sun block; apply several time throughout the day. THe last thing you want to do is be sun burned while you're there.
2. Tango Mar will have shuttle available, so just call them in advance to have the shuttle pick you up from the airport- Also if you're staying at other hotels, call to check on that too, that way you won't have to spend unnecessary expenses to taxis.
3. It's easiest to open a tab and just charge everything to your name/room and pay all at once when you check out.
4. Bring a camera! and take lots and lots of photos!
5. You'll be sleeping near the ocean, so you'll be hearing the ocean waves, so if you're a very light sleeper, bring ear plugs.
6. Take advantage of everything that's available for you.
7. You're some what isolated from the city, so plan on enjoying your time on the resort or on excursions! There's bar areas, pool table, swimming pool and more for your leisure.
8. If you go during off-season, you'll feel like you have the resort to yourself.
9. Leave some extra tip for the servers!!! The owner and staff are all so wonderful and kind!!. We'll miss them the most!!! We were especially teary-eyed when we had to say goodbye to Eduardo!!
10. Go Zip lining and all the excursions you can possibly do. Don't forget to Bring swimming trunks when you go zip lining-
11. Understand the type of season you go, we went during the rainy season, so we got isolated showers on one or two days that lasted like an 30 minutes to an hour. It was actually nice rain, so we still enjoyed it!
12. LASTLY, HAVE A BLAST AND MAKE LOTS OF MEMORIES!!!!!!!
THANK YOU TANGO MAR FOR THE WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!!!

Room Tip: ALL tips are above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia and Travelocity so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.