We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, excellent staff. Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Beautiful location, excellent staff. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Tango Mar for 3 nights and it was an excellent vacation. The staff are very attentive and the location, being right on the beach, is unbeatable. While I was there, I was a little careless in the ocean and a wave/ocean floor incident caused my shoulder to be dislocated. The staff called for a doctor right away and they were at the hotel within 30 minutes putting my parts back in place. Afterward, the staff was very concerned with how I was feeling and the owner came by to ask as well.

The rest of the time was spent poolside and relaxing as much as possible, which was obviously much needed. My recommendation is to stay out of the ocean, go horseback riding, sit by the pool, and enjoy the solitude.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    90
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
95
261
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It's so worth the trouble to get to paradise. This is a beautiful, quiet, and relaxing place. After a few days in Jaco, we took a water taxi (1 hour) to Montezuma, and a taxi (20 minutes) to Tango Mar. We played tennis. My husband had a massage. We walked across the rickety small suspension bridge to the lookout and another 30 minute hike to the waterfall. A delicious breakfast was included -- buffet on the weekend with perfect mangoes, fresh fruit, and an omelette station. Other meals were terrific. The owner and staff were friendly, English-speaking, and very attentive. Our return trip was even easier when we took a plane from Tambor airport (airstrip ;) back to San Jose airport. It was fine to stay here for 3 days without a car, but if you want to see more -- go on an excursion or get some wheels. Unwind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I have the opportunity to go to tango mar 2 or 3 times a year and I have to say it doesn't get any beter than this. A little piece of Paradise. I've read a few of the reviews and I am wondering what some people expect ! This isn't a resort it's a haven a place to relax and get away from the hustle And bustle it's a place where honeymooners come, the food is great the service impeccable..... And the sound of the waves helps you drift of to sleep and dream of the next day at this little pièce of heaven

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Tango Mar for three days over the Easter Weekend. It was simply amazing, we never wanted to leave. We were greeted with a complimentary drink and refreshing towels upon our arrival. We were escorted to our room, we chose the tropical suits, they were gorgeous and included a private infinity pool overlooking the resort. The resort is very secluded which we really enjoyed. It was as if we had our very own slice of heaven all to ourselves. Where else can you walk down a gorgeous beach in Costa Rica without running into any other people, it was perfect. The rooms were huge and well kept, the staff treated us like royalty. They were always there helping with whatever we needed and making sure our every want and desire was met right away. One of the guys that worked here overheard me say that I wanted to drink the milk from one of the many palm trees around and when I returned from a walk down the beach had two coconuts cooling at the bar for me. I've never been treated so well in my life. The owner also comes around during breakfast and dinner and checks in with everyone, we got to know her quite well throughout our stay and can't wait to come back.
What's not to like about the Tango Mar... the beach is absolutely gorgeous, it is surrounded by lush jungle, we had howler monkeys at our doorstep, the food is delicious and the staff was fantastic. I will definitely be returning to the Tango Mar as soon as possible. I have to admit I almost didn't want to write this review as I would like to keep this little slice of paradise all to myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package (3 nights in Arenal, 3 at Tango Mar, 1 near San Jose). The beach is gorgeous, although the waves can be rough, but the nicest, quietest beach of anything we drove near. The resort is isolated, so we were happy to have a car, although we only went out once, and the restaurant food not very good for dinner, especially for vegetarians--breakfast buffet was quite sufficient. We were happy to have brought along some bread, peanut butter, bananas, etc for picnics on the beach or balcony for lunch!

We all enjoyed walking along the beach, poking around the rocks, tidepools, small caves; "hiking" (more like strolling) to the waterfall and overlook and passing parakeets and monkey families along the way; hanging out in the hammocks; and playing in the ocean (boogie boards free at the front desk) and the pools.

The friendly staff opened several coconuts which our son found on the beach so we could drink the coconut water and the staff always pleasant and helpful.

Rooms were clean and spacious, beautiful balconies overlooking the ocean.

We went on the horseback ride--definitely a step up from typical US trail rides where you slowly bump along. We saw a lot of the area, including riding through some hot, dry terrain, ending up on the rocky beach and had a water break under a mango tree full of monkeys. The guide spoke limited English, certainly sufficient for leading us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

- There was only one restaurant operating during our visit, which is average at best
- To get to anything near by you have to drive about 20 min + 10 min of gravel road so your options are mostly just what the hotel offers
- The rooms were clean but the maintenance was lacking as the bathrooms specifically look quite worn and run down.
- A personal item that had been left in the room by accident which was stolen and never returned despite clearly indicating that the item was there via GPS tracking.

I spoke with management and even placed a complaint with the local police.

Overall there are a LOT of places you can go for much LESS with a MUCH better value.

I would highly suggest that you choose another hotel for your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klucke, Director of Sales at Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Good afternoon, all comments are really important to us and we really appreciate those which allow us to improve our service. All the constructive comments are more than welcome and we really take them in consideration. Regarding the comments you are making I would like to say that we are a boutique hotel of 37 rooms and 4 private villas although we are a small hotel in quantity of rooms we have two different restaurants, one opens for breakfast and dinner and the other one just for lunch and also it gives service to the swimming pool area. The hotel is just 5 minutes away from Tambor and 15 minutes away from Cobano which are the nearest towns from the hotel, the unpaved road is aprox. 1 km from the main street up to the hotel but any car can enter. There are so many places to visit around the hotel and also the hotel offers more than 15 tours from the property. All rooms where renovated since the last two years. Regarding the stolen item, its really delicate to assure that the hotel has your item almost all our staff has more than 8 years or even more working at the hotel. We respect your comment and we are really sorry that you didn't enjoy it as our guests normally say when they arrive to the hotel "a little peace of heaven on the Earth! Regards, Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in costa rica, one of which was at the tango mar. We rented a car (HIGHLY recommend) and drove down from Liberia. The road only had one bad section. You can also fly into Tambor and rent a 4x4 (only) from budget there.

When we arrived we were shown our room by one of the front desk staff. He was an interesting guy, maybe nervous but it seemed as though we were always inconveniencing him when we asked about things, he never smiled...Anyway.
Room:
We stayed in a tiki hut for the week and the room was great, clean and well maintained. We loved our little deck and view of the ocean. Although we heard that the other rooms maybe not so good or a bit outdated? But you dont need to be in your room here... You get the standard mini bar with a few beers, chips and water. The grounds are beautiful and you are surrounded by jungle, lizards, monkeys and beautiful beach. Room was great and bed was clean and comfy.
Internet worked in the rooms and the lobby- not by the pool, which was fine.

Ocean: Frequently you can not swim in as the waves are pretty big. We love the water and wanted to surf- you have to travel to Santa Teresa for this (45min drive).

Golf: This is where we come to the problem. They advertise this as a GOLF and SPA. It is NOT. We have stayed in golf resorts all over the world. The course was unplayable. The one hole that looks decent is the only one you see when you drive in, we werent expecting much, but we did expect that we could play. They put a few sprinklers up on the greens, but they arnt doing anything, there is moss growing on the greens...
The pictures you see on file are from 15 years ago, when it was owned by someone else and maintained- the previous owners now run the golf course north about 20km- if you really want to golf- which we did, go there. We couldnt even tell where the "fairways" or farmers fields were. We asked for our money back- and got it. Bottom line they cannot say this is a golf resort- it should be turned into a miniputt or driving range maybe. We were kinda pissed, cause this is why we stayed here.

SPA- haha this "spa" consists of two massage beds- like ones you find on the beach and they have to call in people to provide services, nails, hair etc. The girl they called into do my $50 mani and pedi- well it was her first time, I had to redo it the next day. It was terrible. The owner walked in half way to ask how she was doing, well I am canadian and I dont like to hurt peoples feelings, and at this point it was ok (she had just done one foot)...so I said its fine. She should have asked me AFTER not infront of the poor girl.

EVERYTHING HAS A COST. We wanted to do yoga everyday- as it is advertised. Well they have to call the instructor and if you are the only people its like $30-45. haha we did our own yoga. Stay in Santa Teresa if you want to do Yoga!

GYM: there are three cardio machines. All she needs to do is put a bench, a few yoga matts, set of weights and a ball in here. Then you at least have some what of a "gym". We were in it everyday.

POOL: nice pools, there are actually three. Its the only place to hangout during the day if you stay there. It had some weird chemical that turned all our white bathing suites yellow, just fyi.
The chair set up is a little weird but you can always go lay on the beach if you want a beach view. We often took our own beer in cooler cause it often took 10min to get a $6 Corona. You can get them for $2 in the store.

KIDS: This is not a great place for kids. There is little to do for them- the Ocean can be rough and dangerous at times, there is no kids activities for free. Not even a little water slide or play toys. Bring your own! You can plan activities zip lining etc, but they are expensive and you have to travel to get there. Except the horse back riding and the hike to the waterfall..
We went horse back riding which was fun, but the guide didnt tell us much, we had to ask about everything..he pointed out a few monkeys. You get to see the property and the horses are very tame.

Food:
This was the best part. My husband (who loves to eat) loved the food. I thought it was good, but all started tasting the same by the end. They have a decent selection and fresh ingredients. However, we learned that this meun never changes. It has been the same for years! So if your planning to return, you going to get the same food you had last time. Breakfast was a good buffet, no problems there:)
THE STAFF: The other best part! The staff and waiters work all day and they are very pleasant to be around. Especially the bartenders. You may even get a salsa dance with the evening bartender! They became our friends and made it fun there.

OVERALL>> this resort is great for a few days to relax, not do much and eat good food. The grounds and view are lovely. This is great spot for a anniversary or a romantic get away but stay 4 days max, we were ready to leave.

This place is Miss-advertising, its not a spa or golf resort- we have been to those. The owner needs to stop advertising this, the resort itself is nice, some improvements needed but overall a really great spot. Really she should make it an all-inclusive cause if you dont have a car you are stuck there and it can get pricy if you want to have a few drinks and eat. Let alone do some activities.
*You are pretty isolated here which for a few days is great!

Room Tip: Stay in a tiki hut!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.