We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, avoid and avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4X3, 1 free night!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid, avoid and avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

- There was only one restaurant operating during our visit, which is average at best
- To get to anything near by you have to drive about 20 min + 10 min of gravel road so your options are mostly just what the hotel offers
- The rooms were clean but the maintenance was lacking as the bathrooms specifically look quite worn and run down.
- A personal item that had been left in the room by accident which was stolen and never returned despite clearly indicating that the item was there via GPS tracking.

I spoke with management and even placed a complaint with the local police.

Overall there are a LOT of places you can go for much LESS with a MUCH better value.

I would highly suggest that you choose another hotel for your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klucke, Director of Sales at Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Good afternoon, all comments are really important to us and we really appreciate those which allow us to improve our service. All the constructive comments are more than welcome and we really take them in consideration. Regarding the comments you are making I would like to say that we are a boutique hotel of 37 rooms and 4 private villas although we are a small hotel in quantity of rooms we have two different restaurants, one opens for breakfast and dinner and the other one just for lunch and also it gives service to the swimming pool area. The hotel is just 5 minutes away from Tambor and 15 minutes away from Cobano which are the nearest towns from the hotel, the unpaved road is aprox. 1 km from the main street up to the hotel but any car can enter. There are so many places to visit around the hotel and also the hotel offers more than 15 tours from the property. All rooms where renovated since the last two years. Regarding the stolen item, its really delicate to assure that the hotel has your item almost all our staff has more than 8 years or even more working at the hotel. We respect your comment and we are really sorry that you didn't enjoy it as our guests normally say when they arrive to the hotel "a little peace of heaven on the Earth! Regards, Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    89
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
93
253
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in costa rica, one of which was at the tango mar. We rented a car (HIGHLY recommend) and drove down from Liberia. The road only had one bad section. You can also fly into Tambor and rent a 4x4 (only) from budget there.

When we arrived we were shown our room by one of the front desk staff. He was an interesting guy, maybe nervous but it seemed as though we were always inconveniencing him when we asked about things, he never smiled...Anyway.
Room:
We stayed in a tiki hut for the week and the room was great, clean and well maintained. We loved our little deck and view of the ocean. Although we heard that the other rooms maybe not so good or a bit outdated? But you dont need to be in your room here... You get the standard mini bar with a few beers, chips and water. The grounds are beautiful and you are surrounded by jungle, lizards, monkeys and beautiful beach. Room was great and bed was clean and comfy.
Internet worked in the rooms and the lobby- not by the pool, which was fine.

Ocean: Frequently you can not swim in as the waves are pretty big. We love the water and wanted to surf- you have to travel to Santa Teresa for this (45min drive).

Golf: This is where we come to the problem. They advertise this as a GOLF and SPA. It is NOT. We have stayed in golf resorts all over the world. The course was unplayable. The one hole that looks decent is the only one you see when you drive in, we werent expecting much, but we did expect that we could play. They put a few sprinklers up on the greens, but they arnt doing anything, there is moss growing on the greens...
The pictures you see on file are from 15 years ago, when it was owned by someone else and maintained- the previous owners now run the golf course north about 20km- if you really want to golf- which we did, go there. We couldnt even tell where the "fairways" or farmers fields were. We asked for our money back- and got it. Bottom line they cannot say this is a golf resort- it should be turned into a miniputt or driving range maybe. We were kinda pissed, cause this is why we stayed here.

SPA- haha this "spa" consists of two massage beds- like ones you find on the beach and they have to call in people to provide services, nails, hair etc. The girl they called into do my $50 mani and pedi- well it was her first time, I had to redo it the next day. It was terrible. The owner walked in half way to ask how she was doing, well I am canadian and I dont like to hurt peoples feelings, and at this point it was ok (she had just done one foot)...so I said its fine. She should have asked me AFTER not infront of the poor girl.

EVERYTHING HAS A COST. We wanted to do yoga everyday- as it is advertised. Well they have to call the instructor and if you are the only people its like $30-45. haha we did our own yoga. Stay in Santa Teresa if you want to do Yoga!

GYM: there are three cardio machines. All she needs to do is put a bench, a few yoga matts, set of weights and a ball in here. Then you at least have some what of a "gym". We were in it everyday.

POOL: nice pools, there are actually three. Its the only place to hangout during the day if you stay there. It had some weird chemical that turned all our white bathing suites yellow, just fyi.
The chair set up is a little weird but you can always go lay on the beach if you want a beach view. We often took our own beer in cooler cause it often took 10min to get a $6 Corona. You can get them for $2 in the store.

KIDS: This is not a great place for kids. There is little to do for them- the Ocean can be rough and dangerous at times, there is no kids activities for free. Not even a little water slide or play toys. Bring your own! You can plan activities zip lining etc, but they are expensive and you have to travel to get there. Except the horse back riding and the hike to the waterfall..
We went horse back riding which was fun, but the guide didnt tell us much, we had to ask about everything..he pointed out a few monkeys. You get to see the property and the horses are very tame.

Food:
This was the best part. My husband (who loves to eat) loved the food. I thought it was good, but all started tasting the same by the end. They have a decent selection and fresh ingredients. However, we learned that this meun never changes. It has been the same for years! So if your planning to return, you going to get the same food you had last time. Breakfast was a good buffet, no problems there:)
THE STAFF: The other best part! The staff and waiters work all day and they are very pleasant to be around. Especially the bartenders. You may even get a salsa dance with the evening bartender! They became our friends and made it fun there.

OVERALL>> this resort is great for a few days to relax, not do much and eat good food. The grounds and view are lovely. This is great spot for a anniversary or a romantic get away but stay 4 days max, we were ready to leave.

This place is Miss-advertising, its not a spa or golf resort- we have been to those. The owner needs to stop advertising this, the resort itself is nice, some improvements needed but overall a really great spot. Really she should make it an all-inclusive cause if you dont have a car you are stuck there and it can get pricy if you want to have a few drinks and eat. Let alone do some activities.
*You are pretty isolated here which for a few days is great!

Room Tip: Stay in a tiki hut!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in April 2013 for 4 nights. We had high expectations for this resort after leaving our wonderful resort near Arenal, but were a bit disappointed. When we arrived we were pleasantly greeted but it felt there was no life to this place. We were taken to our room, which was on par with that of a motel 8 room. There was a small TV and balcony, but the door was "locked" with a little wooden peg. The packages of coffee creamer were congealed and the minibar had only beer, water, nuts, and chips. We decided this was fine since we wouldn't be spending much time in the room, but then found out you aren't even allowed to flush toilet paper!

The pool was nice, however, the layout was a bit odd. It is an infinity pool but all the lawn chairs block your view from the pool. Also, the swim up bar is only staffed some of the time that its opened.

Dining - there is only one choice for dining each meal. We found our food to be mostly overcooked and significantly overpriced. Lunch wasn't bad, though it was $14 for a cheeseburger. I would recommend renting a car and dining at other places if you're going to be there more than a few nights. We went to Ylang Ylang resort for dinner one night, which was very good. Breakfast left me hungry most of the time. Their sausage is essentially hot dogs and they have odd things like onion rings for breakfast.

Grounds - the location is by far the most attractive thing for this place. The beaches are pristine and natural. The grounds are kept nicely, especially for the time of year we went which is the dry season and most things in this part of the country are brown anyway. There is a small waterfall you can hike to and an overlook on the cliff you can hike to. Each hike is maybe 10-15 casual minutes. They have a golf course but I didn't use it because everything was too brown and it was too hot out. Might be nice in wetter times of the year.

If you're looking for solitude, this is a great area. If you want really nice rooms and great food then you might want to check reviews of other resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tango Mar is fantastic, the staff was extremely friendly, and we were personally greeted by the owner upon our arrival. After driving, ferrying, and driving some more we instantly felt at home. The rooms were clean and spacious, mini frig, flat screen TV and a jacuzzi tub were enough to be tempted to call it home.
Located at the "end of the road" Tango Mar has everything for a perfect Costa Rica Vacation. With amenities like a Private Beach, Golf, Tennis, Spa, First Class Dining, hiking, horse back riding, day excursions or just solitude, Tango Mar has it all.
The selection of accommodations is also unique, from a typical beach front hotel room, too suites and private Villas.
I know the next time we are in the Southern Guanacaste region Tango Mar will be in our plans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The family loved the Villa 18 with the 2 hammocks. Each morning I walked out to the beach before breakfast and enjoyed the solitude. Then ate my freshly cooked eggs. The excursions they booked were fun and well run. The maid service cleaned the whole space spotlessly and even did the dishes! Truly a vacation for a working mom. The transportation from the San Jose airport met us on time, purchased the ferry tickets and a van met us on the other side. The pools were never crowded and the restaurant made a pasta grande con butter for my son the one night he did not eat steak or lobster. My teenaged daughter and her friend felt comfortable walking around the resort on their own and I felt comfortable letting them. The WiFi worked best in the main restaurant so my husband and I did our emailing there at breakfast or at the main bar in the evening. Email is easier with a blue drink in hand. ;) can't wait to go back. For now I just look at my sunny pictures of sand and palm tree over and over.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are two couples enjoying a holiday away from the unseasonal winter conditions in the UK and ready for some indulgence leaving 20 something aged offspring to manage their own lives for 2 weeks!
Tango Mar looks lovely on the pictures and website. Situated in a bay at the end of a dirt track it is an oasis of calm. Literally right on an empty sandy beach with the waves rolling in - almost exclusive to hotel guests, palm trees, hammocks, a lovely pool, friendly staff, owner Hilda who makes it her business to check up and chat to her guests......what's not to like?
The reception area is a huge open area with settees, art on the walls and a bookcase. It leads to a bar and into the dining areas - one for breakfast and evening meals mostly on the terrace. The barn like roof fascinates us because of its workmanship so look up.
Breakfast is the typical Costa Rica fayre. The evening meals are very tasty and well presented with a preference for rich creamy sauces. The bar by the pool has its own chef and cooking area where lunch is served. Food looks good again although we are so full from breakfast we haven't managed a lunch yet.
Accommodation: we are in two rooms that are part of the Royal Suite - basically a villa with 5 bedrooms including ours. Our rooms are separate and on the ground level. They have glass sliding glass doors with the beach literally 20 ft from our beds! There is a staircase between our rooms to access the rest of the villa with the patio above us. All very clean and comfortable. A few rogue ants but hardly any.
So .... so far so very good!

Room Tip: Have a good look round all the options so you can decide how near the pool and/or restaurant you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Tango Mar was fantastic. It was very remote, and very relaxing. The staff was friendly, and very helpful. The staff spoke fantastic english, which was very helpful for a family with limited spanish speaking ability. Take the hike to the waterfall that falls into the ocean. It is not huge, but it is peaceful. Take some water to drink, as it can get quite warm on the short hike.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.