We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaves me wanting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4X3, 1 free night!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Leaves me wanting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in April 2013 for 4 nights. We had high expectations for this resort after leaving our wonderful resort near Arenal, but were a bit disappointed. When we arrived we were pleasantly greeted but it felt there was no life to this place. We were taken to our room, which was on par with that of a motel 8 room. There was a small TV and balcony, but the door was "locked" with a little wooden peg. The packages of coffee creamer were congealed and the minibar had only beer, water, nuts, and chips. We decided this was fine since we wouldn't be spending much time in the room, but then found out you aren't even allowed to flush toilet paper!

The pool was nice, however, the layout was a bit odd. It is an infinity pool but all the lawn chairs block your view from the pool. Also, the swim up bar is only staffed some of the time that its opened.

Dining - there is only one choice for dining each meal. We found our food to be mostly overcooked and significantly overpriced. Lunch wasn't bad, though it was $14 for a cheeseburger. I would recommend renting a car and dining at other places if you're going to be there more than a few nights. We went to Ylang Ylang resort for dinner one night, which was very good. Breakfast left me hungry most of the time. Their sausage is essentially hot dogs and they have odd things like onion rings for breakfast.

Grounds - the location is by far the most attractive thing for this place. The beaches are pristine and natural. The grounds are kept nicely, especially for the time of year we went which is the dry season and most things in this part of the country are brown anyway. There is a small waterfall you can hike to and an overlook on the cliff you can hike to. Each hike is maybe 10-15 casual minutes. They have a golf course but I didn't use it because everything was too brown and it was too hot out. Might be nice in wetter times of the year.

If you're looking for solitude, this is a great area. If you want really nice rooms and great food then you might want to check reviews of other resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    89
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
93
253
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tango Mar is fantastic, the staff was extremely friendly, and we were personally greeted by the owner upon our arrival. After driving, ferrying, and driving some more we instantly felt at home. The rooms were clean and spacious, mini frig, flat screen TV and a jacuzzi tub were enough to be tempted to call it home.
Located at the "end of the road" Tango Mar has everything for a perfect Costa Rica Vacation. With amenities like a Private Beach, Golf, Tennis, Spa, First Class Dining, hiking, horse back riding, day excursions or just solitude, Tango Mar has it all.
The selection of accommodations is also unique, from a typical beach front hotel room, too suites and private Villas.
I know the next time we are in the Southern Guanacaste region Tango Mar will be in our plans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The family loved the Villa 18 with the 2 hammocks. Each morning I walked out to the beach before breakfast and enjoyed the solitude. Then ate my freshly cooked eggs. The excursions they booked were fun and well run. The maid service cleaned the whole space spotlessly and even did the dishes! Truly a vacation for a working mom. The transportation from the San Jose airport met us on time, purchased the ferry tickets and a van met us on the other side. The pools were never crowded and the restaurant made a pasta grande con butter for my son the one night he did not eat steak or lobster. My teenaged daughter and her friend felt comfortable walking around the resort on their own and I felt comfortable letting them. The WiFi worked best in the main restaurant so my husband and I did our emailing there at breakfast or at the main bar in the evening. Email is easier with a blue drink in hand. ;) can't wait to go back. For now I just look at my sunny pictures of sand and palm tree over and over.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are two couples enjoying a holiday away from the unseasonal winter conditions in the UK and ready for some indulgence leaving 20 something aged offspring to manage their own lives for 2 weeks!
Tango Mar looks lovely on the pictures and website. Situated in a bay at the end of a dirt track it is an oasis of calm. Literally right on an empty sandy beach with the waves rolling in - almost exclusive to hotel guests, palm trees, hammocks, a lovely pool, friendly staff, owner Hilda who makes it her business to check up and chat to her guests......what's not to like?
The reception area is a huge open area with settees, art on the walls and a bookcase. It leads to a bar and into the dining areas - one for breakfast and evening meals mostly on the terrace. The barn like roof fascinates us because of its workmanship so look up.
Breakfast is the typical Costa Rica fayre. The evening meals are very tasty and well presented with a preference for rich creamy sauces. The bar by the pool has its own chef and cooking area where lunch is served. Food looks good again although we are so full from breakfast we haven't managed a lunch yet.
Accommodation: we are in two rooms that are part of the Royal Suite - basically a villa with 5 bedrooms including ours. Our rooms are separate and on the ground level. They have glass sliding glass doors with the beach literally 20 ft from our beds! There is a staircase between our rooms to access the rest of the villa with the patio above us. All very clean and comfortable. A few rogue ants but hardly any.
So .... so far so very good!

Room Tip: Have a good look round all the options so you can decide how near the pool and/or restaurant you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Tango Mar was fantastic. It was very remote, and very relaxing. The staff was friendly, and very helpful. The staff spoke fantastic english, which was very helpful for a family with limited spanish speaking ability. Take the hike to the waterfall that falls into the ocean. It is not huge, but it is peaceful. Take some water to drink, as it can get quite warm on the short hike.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Tango Mar while on a tour. If we could have we would have stayed there for the entire trip. The entire staff from the Owner to the service staff were fantastic. We were treated like royalty and we were made to feel as a part of the Tango Mar family. No words can describe the views and the location. The sounds of the waves outside our room would put us to sleep with smiles on our faces. The restaurant service and the food at Tango Mar is second to none! The Sea Bass would melt in your mouth.
Thanks you for providing us the time of our life and a memory that will stay with us forever.

Room Tip: Beach rooms will provide the most relaxing sleep with the sounds of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I traveled to Costa Rica with a friend, through a TravelZoo deal.

Pros:
-The resort really is gorgeous. Several infinity pools overlooking the ocean, the main one with a swim-up bar. We had a "tropical suite" which was super nice, had french doors facing the ocean, four poster bed, etc.
-Grounds are pretty cool. While there are tons of hills (was a hike to get back up to our room from the restaurants), there are also many worthwhile features. The golf course looked crappy, but there is a hike to a waterfall, some jungle where we saw howler monkeys, and my favorite, the look out point. AMAZING views!!!
-Very, very nice staff. One of the bartenders (Junior) even offered to take us on the hike to the waterfalls on his morning off. The front desk was great too which excellent recommendations.

Cons:
-The area is a little dead. This may not be a problem for many: the vast majority of the guests seemed to be couples just wanting to relax (and there were a few families). So this is perfect for that kind of trip as the resort is very secluded. I was traveling with a friend of mine, and we are in our mid 20s and very active. So we ended up doing a lot of driving to nearby towns as we have a hard time just sitting on the beach day after day (although it's fun now and then, especially with that pool!!). Montezuma is 30 minutes away, and Santa Teresa/Playa Carmen (which I highly recommend) are about 45.
- Ants. Everywhere. In our room and getting into our food.
- No restaurants close by, so we had to eat at the hotel a lot. Not many options, the food wasn't all that great, and it was quite overpriced. On the other hand, they do have great margheritas.

Room Tip: I loved the tropical suite- felt like it was in its own little world with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.