We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Private Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I visited Tango Mar during Costa Rica's off-season, so it was almost deserted, and it was wonderful! We stayed in a Tropical Suite, which was probably one of the coolest rooms I've ever stayed in. It was wonderfully airy, with a four-poster king bed, jacuzzi, and walk-in shower all in the same open space -- very romantic! No one was staying in the other two suites connected to ours, so we basically had a private patio as well. We never used the pool that was only steps away from our room, but it seemed nice. Really, what's the point of a pool when you have the ocean right down the stairs?? The food was good, but nothing to write home about, and some of it was overpriced, but what can you expect when you go somewhere secluded like this? It was difficult enough to get to the resort that once we did we didn't have any intention of leaving until we checked out! Our service was always fantastic, and part of our package included a horse-back ride, which we initially weren't really intending to do but I am so glad we did! Our guide didn't speak much English, but it was nice to just follow along and enjoy the scenery. Horse-back riding on the beach, I mean, come on! We even saw a troop of monkeys hanging out in the trees during one part of the ride! I loved my stay here so much. Heavenly!

Room Tip: If you're looking for romance, go for the tropical suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tango Mar 3 nights while on our honeymoon. As soon as we got there, the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable, including delicious welcome drinks AND upgrading our standard room to a tiki suite...incredible. The beach was secluded and gorgeous. But our favorite part of our stay was hands down the FOOD. The restaurant at the hotel is ridiculous.....so delicious. We wanted to eat all the time! Definitely choose to stay here for a Costa Rican vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paigelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were planning to stay only 2 nights; after the first day, we decided to extend our stay. The rooms, the pools, the personnel, the restaurant and the food, all was just great. Relaxing, excellent choice and quality of meals, the personnel was always courteous and the place is just beautiful. The beach is very clean and almost private; it is one of the nicest beach we saw in Costa Rica. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. I would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klucke, Director of Sales at Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments, its great to know that you enjoyed your time in our hotel. We hope to see you soon! Regards from Costa Rica, Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Staying at Tango Mar was a very pleasant experience. It is a very remote setting that upon arriving you are in awe as to the beauty of this resort. My wife and I were greeted with a warm smile at the reception desk and given cool towels to freshen up with followed by a complimentary tropical drink. We were taken to our Tropical Suite which sits on top of the hill overlooking the resort and beach. If you are not up to climbing some stairs you can either drive down to the dining and pool areas or request a golf cart pick you up. There was three rooms in our group of suites which was adjacent to the infinity pool. Our room was very nice and included a nice king size bed, Jacuzzi, large shower and a wonderful view.
The pools, swim up bar, trials and beach were all amazing. The staff is the real gem here. We had amazing service from everyone there. Especially Javier the friendliest bartended/guy that can answer any question/dancer you could ever meet. Eduardo was also a very friendly and helpful server as well.
Another treat was our horseback riding experience. we spent about 2 hours riding the trials and beaches and learning so much about the wildlife and plants from our guide Michael.
we will no doubt return to Costa Rica and to Tango Mar ASAP!

Room Tip: Tropical suites offer a great view but do require some walking up many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markerr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klucke, Director of Sales at Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your vacation in Costa Rica, we are really happy to know that you had a memorable experience and we hope to see you soon in Tango Mar! Regards, Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is an ok hotel on a great breach.

The standard rooms are motel style, very basic. With AC, but minimal facilities. Security is a bit of an issue (back french windows do not lock and you have to use a piece of unsteady wood) and the safes are tiny. Teeny bathrooms too. Lots of ants.

The reception area is beautifully done - too bad all that good design did not make it to the rooms. Inexplicably, the wi fi that works so well in the rooms does not work in the reception, lounge or dining areas.

Food is good and the staff work hard.

Activities: the golf is not very good becuase They dont have the irrigation system to keep up the grass.

The horse back riding is dangerous. They do not offer helmets or a guide to stay at the rear of the line with the result that slower riders fell behind and were lost. The guide was on a horse he had difficulty controlling and so could not really assist anyone. The tack was old and poor quality - everyones legs were badly bruised. We were taken on very rocky narrow trails, mostly at a full trot. Crazy.

Room Tip: It sounds like the tika rooms are better, but quite a bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour group. Hotel seems to have three areas of rooms. One set on the beach looked to be a pretty standard hotel block. Another set near but not right on the beach appeared to be larger more individual accommodations. A third set well above the beach is where we stayed. A group of small buildings, each of which looked like it had three rooms, arranged near a small pool. These were new and very stylish rooms, ours a king with a huge Jacuzzi tub. Some had great views of the water (as did the pool). Only issue was the walk to the main hotel level -- 91 steps on the staircase. The hotel will apparently drive you up and down in carts, but be aware of this trade-off. Unlike many places we stayed in CR, the room had A/C (which we appreciated), though the restaurant did not (but it was not an issue). Food was very good (thought not great). Service was very good, with the owner often around, visiting with guests -- very hands on. Larger pool near the beach was small, but fitting with the size of the facility, and nice. Beach was isolated and very pretty, but the water was very rough when we were there (not sure if it was just timing or the beach terrain). I thought it was fun, but frankly would not go there with my young grandkids for an extended stay because I would have to be very careful about when and how they used the beach. Older kids would probably be fine. Bottom line, seemed like a great place and were my wife and I to go back to the area, we would definitely return (but might try the rooms on the beach).

Room Tip: Note the walk to the rooms up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gamevod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Tango Mar for 6 nights at the end of two weeks travelling around Costa Rica and it is the perfect place to relax. It is beautifully located on an excellent beach with an impressive backdrop of cliffs and palms. We had concerns before we arrived that there were no restaurants nearby but our worries were soon put aside as, during the week, we went through a menu that was extensive and attractive and, most importantly, the food was extremely well presented and beautifully cooked. All served alfresco looking out over the beach.

The pool area is very attractive with lots of sunbeds which are also scattered around the extensive and very well-kept grounds.

All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly particularly those at reception and the man who serves at the bar but one of the most noticeable features of the hotel is the visibility of the owner -Hilde. She is always meeting and greeting guests in the bar and the restaurant and is a constant presence around the hotel. We have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the World but have never experienced this sort of attention before. It does make a difference.

All in all a hotel that is easy to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheaper rooms which are very attractive and well equipped and have the bonus of bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
2.2 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
24.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#4 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
11.8 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing