We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with minor caveats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4X3, 1 free night!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel with minor caveats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour group. Hotel seems to have three areas of rooms. One set on the beach looked to be a pretty standard hotel block. Another set near but not right on the beach appeared to be larger more individual accommodations. A third set well above the beach is where we stayed. A group of small buildings, each of which looked like it had three rooms, arranged near a small pool. These were new and very stylish rooms, ours a king with a huge Jacuzzi tub. Some had great views of the water (as did the pool). Only issue was the walk to the main hotel level -- 91 steps on the staircase. The hotel will apparently drive you up and down in carts, but be aware of this trade-off. Unlike many places we stayed in CR, the room had A/C (which we appreciated), though the restaurant did not (but it was not an issue). Food was very good (thought not great). Service was very good, with the owner often around, visiting with guests -- very hands on. Larger pool near the beach was small, but fitting with the size of the facility, and nice. Beach was isolated and very pretty, but the water was very rough when we were there (not sure if it was just timing or the beach terrain). I thought it was fun, but frankly would not go there with my young grandkids for an extended stay because I would have to be very careful about when and how they used the beach. Older kids would probably be fine. Bottom line, seemed like a great place and were my wife and I to go back to the area, we would definitely return (but might try the rooms on the beach).

Room Tip: Note the walk to the rooms up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    89
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
93
254
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Tango Mar for 6 nights at the end of two weeks travelling around Costa Rica and it is the perfect place to relax. It is beautifully located on an excellent beach with an impressive backdrop of cliffs and palms. We had concerns before we arrived that there were no restaurants nearby but our worries were soon put aside as, during the week, we went through a menu that was extensive and attractive and, most importantly, the food was extremely well presented and beautifully cooked. All served alfresco looking out over the beach.

The pool area is very attractive with lots of sunbeds which are also scattered around the extensive and very well-kept grounds.

All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly particularly those at reception and the man who serves at the bar but one of the most noticeable features of the hotel is the visibility of the owner -Hilde. She is always meeting and greeting guests in the bar and the restaurant and is a constant presence around the hotel. We have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the World but have never experienced this sort of attention before. It does make a difference.

All in all a hotel that is easy to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheaper rooms which are very attractive and well equipped and have the bonus of bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, really didn't want to leave.......we were treated like royality! The owner is Hilda and she is from Belgium, but has owned the hotel & resort for 15 yrs, she went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed.....can't wait to go back again! Rooms, food, staff were all GREAT!

Room Tip: The tropical suites are up a bit from the beach, the beachfront rooms are directly on the beach. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

As part of our tailormade tour of Costa Rica we planned one of our beach stays at the Tango Mar. What a great hotel to chill out, enjoy a fantastic view of the Pacific, relax around the pool, enjoy the alfresco dining with plenty of food choices and be served by smiling faces everyday.

We stayed for 4 nights in a beachfront room and have no complaints. The hotel could be viewed as "off the beaten track" but with a virtually private beach, two restaurants and two bars what a place to slow down after touring the country on many unpaved roads.

We will be back hopefully in 2014!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have all excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for four nights at the end of our Costa Rican holiday, and it was a fantastic finish.
We stayed in a tropical suite, which is nice and spacious with a California King bed, a ceiling fan and AC and a Jacuzzi tub and a swimming pool with ocean view outside.
Be aware, that you will probably be only taking your meals here, since it is at least a 20 minute drive to another restaurant. The food is very good, but the selection is rather small.
We hiked to the waterfall, which was not as impressive as we had hoped (but this is the dry season, maybe when there is more water in the wet season it is better). The viewpoint is nice for sunsets.
The beach is nice - clean and quiet
Nature Highlight: the howler monkeys that roam behind the hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in a tropical suite - a bit further away from the ocean, but with a pool right in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is an upmarket establishment situated on its own length of beach in the wilds of the Nicoya peninsular. The beach is about half a mile long and is truly spectacular in the early morning being palm fringed and usually virtually deserted. However one word of warning for sea lovers - it can be 'muy peligroso'. Waves can come in viciously, yet it is these very conditions that give the resort is character. Reception was good and we had chosen a standard room - highly recommended. This was both spacious and airy (with air conditioning) with a large balcony overlooking the ocean. Bathroom was equally spacious and came with quality toiletries. The room also benefited from a mini-bar and coffee making facilities. Food was good although somewhat pricey - a dinner for two with a base-line bottle of reasonable wine (2 courses) comes in at around USD 100. It should also be noted that when my wife required some changes to a dish (she does not eat dairy products) she was always accomodated. Lunch in the pool restaurant would be cheaper. The menu changed little from day to day but was wide enough to satisfy. Breakfast was good with the usual Costa Rican offerings plus an egg station. Pools were good with adequate sunbeds and beach towels are provided. There is a pool bar. WiFi is resort wide but at times can be patchy, but is free. The Belgian owner, Hilde, is a charming hostess who constantly enquires as to your comfort. A single mention to reception of a faulty shower brought immediate remediation. This is a rare establishment, being both of high quality as well as being well off the beaten track.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tango Mar for 5 nights during our 2 week honeymoon to Costa Rica. This place was just what we were looking for, slightly isolated, beautiful beyond belief and some of the nicest staff I have ever met. We had a ocean view from the third floor and loved waking up and falling asleep to the sound of the ocean. The beach is awesome, nice sand and fun waves to play in. The breakfast is included in the price and I was very happy with what they offer, the lunches and dinners were very delicious as well.
Hilda was such a nice person to come around every night and see how our day was, it's a very nice touch.
Go to the look out point for sunrise and have one of Javier's Long Island Ice Tea's!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.