We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Paradise found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beach Paradise found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, really didn't want to leave.......we were treated like royality! The owner is Hilda and she is from Belgium, but has owned the hotel & resort for 15 yrs, she went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed.....can't wait to go back again! Rooms, food, staff were all GREAT!

Room Tip: The tropical suites are up a bit from the beach, the beachfront rooms are directly on the beach. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    91
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
95
262
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

As part of our tailormade tour of Costa Rica we planned one of our beach stays at the Tango Mar. What a great hotel to chill out, enjoy a fantastic view of the Pacific, relax around the pool, enjoy the alfresco dining with plenty of food choices and be served by smiling faces everyday.

We stayed for 4 nights in a beachfront room and have no complaints. The hotel could be viewed as "off the beaten track" but with a virtually private beach, two restaurants and two bars what a place to slow down after touring the country on many unpaved roads.

We will be back hopefully in 2014!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have all excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for four nights at the end of our Costa Rican holiday, and it was a fantastic finish.
We stayed in a tropical suite, which is nice and spacious with a California King bed, a ceiling fan and AC and a Jacuzzi tub and a swimming pool with ocean view outside.
Be aware, that you will probably be only taking your meals here, since it is at least a 20 minute drive to another restaurant. The food is very good, but the selection is rather small.
We hiked to the waterfall, which was not as impressive as we had hoped (but this is the dry season, maybe when there is more water in the wet season it is better). The viewpoint is nice for sunsets.
The beach is nice - clean and quiet
Nature Highlight: the howler monkeys that roam behind the hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in a tropical suite - a bit further away from the ocean, but with a pool right in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is an upmarket establishment situated on its own length of beach in the wilds of the Nicoya peninsular. The beach is about half a mile long and is truly spectacular in the early morning being palm fringed and usually virtually deserted. However one word of warning for sea lovers - it can be 'muy peligroso'. Waves can come in viciously, yet it is these very conditions that give the resort is character. Reception was good and we had chosen a standard room - highly recommended. This was both spacious and airy (with air conditioning) with a large balcony overlooking the ocean. Bathroom was equally spacious and came with quality toiletries. The room also benefited from a mini-bar and coffee making facilities. Food was good although somewhat pricey - a dinner for two with a base-line bottle of reasonable wine (2 courses) comes in at around USD 100. It should also be noted that when my wife required some changes to a dish (she does not eat dairy products) she was always accomodated. Lunch in the pool restaurant would be cheaper. The menu changed little from day to day but was wide enough to satisfy. Breakfast was good with the usual Costa Rican offerings plus an egg station. Pools were good with adequate sunbeds and beach towels are provided. There is a pool bar. WiFi is resort wide but at times can be patchy, but is free. The Belgian owner, Hilde, is a charming hostess who constantly enquires as to your comfort. A single mention to reception of a faulty shower brought immediate remediation. This is a rare establishment, being both of high quality as well as being well off the beaten track.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tango Mar for 5 nights during our 2 week honeymoon to Costa Rica. This place was just what we were looking for, slightly isolated, beautiful beyond belief and some of the nicest staff I have ever met. We had a ocean view from the third floor and loved waking up and falling asleep to the sound of the ocean. The beach is awesome, nice sand and fun waves to play in. The breakfast is included in the price and I was very happy with what they offer, the lunches and dinners were very delicious as well.
Hilda was such a nice person to come around every night and see how our day was, it's a very nice touch.
Go to the look out point for sunrise and have one of Javier's Long Island Ice Tea's!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a gorgeous spot. The beach and pool are truly beautiful and it's hard not to enjoy yourself here. The tours and spa services offered are excellent, and overall the food is pretty good although a bit expensive. Service is spotty and I would say is the only downside. Some of the people working here are real gems but others don't seem to realize that if they treat people kindly, they will want to come back and tell their friends to come too.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, the tropical suites are a steep hike up a lot of steps from the beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited here on our honeymoon in October. October is the end of the rainy season, and the hotel was EMPTY! It was cool being the only couple there for a few days. We were on first name basis with some of the staff and kind of had special treatment. We had a free upgrade to a tiki suite which was ocean front overlooking the yoga deck and surf- heavenly! Granted, the weather was not optimal, and because it was the down time, they were working on improvements, refinishing wood, concreting, sawing etc. But we did not mind. Another downside is the place is a little isolated, but we did not mind. The resort is accommodating. The excursions they helped us book were GREAT: ziplining and the boat tour. Both awesome fun times. Costa Rica is a wonderful place and this resort helped us to have a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ocean front all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.