We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in costa rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 4 nights and pay 3!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tambor
Tallinn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We where in costa rica 10 days and stayed in this hotel for only 3 days. But those where the best days! Rooms, food and the beach - just the best. Stuff was very helpful, special thanks to Eduardo, who made the best cesar salad for me and my friend. And in this hotel i had the best caipirinha - just super! Greetings from Estonia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    96
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
103
293
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have traveled around the world and can say that the staff at Tango Mar is absolutly one of best I've encountered.
Eduado greeted us with welcoming punch and gave me invaluable infomation on cCosta Rica. Jessy is a wonderful and knoledgeable nature man pointing many soecies of birds and orchids he had photografted.
This was my second trip to CCR and plan on going back very soon. My advice is stay in the treehouse units spectacular.
Also it was my birthday and was best I've had in my 62 years
Steve.

Room Tip: tree house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a fabulous property. Loved the rooms - stayed up on the hill in a newly refurbed suite room with spa (but didn't use it). Fantastic food. The service and attention to detail was the best we had on our 3 weeks travelling. Great pools, awesome drinks. If I didn't live so far away I would be back and for longer! Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We happened on this wonderful resort by chance and are so glad that we did. The setting right on the ocean couldn't have been more perfect. But more importantly the property is spectacular in the employees attention to detail and cleanliness. All of the employees are extremely friendly and very helpful. The food was 5* gourmet.
I want to especially say that Dorial was just wonderful to us and our little boy that has a disability.
We couldn't have asked for more. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a wonderful place in the world. Tango Mar is a lovely beach front resort located along a beautiful beach with great views, awesome swimming and beach, and great food and service. We enjoyed our stay here very much, from super friendly staff to the quaint and quiet atmosphere. The resort is very secluded and never felt even slightly crowded. There was always plenty of space at the pool, in the restaurants, etc. The food was great, with a menu that offered great vegetarian options which was a plus for myself. The is the kind of place great for honey-mooners, couples, or families. I would definitely go back here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This remote resort is placed along a truly memorable stretch of beach. The beach is a light brown in color, and the waves break large and late right along the coast line. I would imagine it could give some people trouble to swim, but my wife and I found it very easy to swim just past the break and really enjoyed bobbing up and down as the waves came in. The water is clear and warm, virtually perfect for a nice refreshing dip any time of day.

Unfortunately, the review will decline in praise from here. I will start in the room, which was #704, one of the Tiki Villas. It was very nicely laid out, with wide open views of the ocean and beach. Unfortunately, our room was overrun with bugs. Ants everywhere; large, small, and many unidentifiable. This resort is set in very rustic surroundings, however the cleanliness of their rooms is absolutely unacceptable. The jets in the jacuzzi tub were filthy, to the point we did not enjoy the tub at all. We asked to have them cleaned, and they obliged, but just did not feel comfortable soaking in a dirty tub. Back to the ants, they were everywhere. Inside the coffee pot, scurrying across the bathroom counter as we were brushing our teeth. We even had to discard a tube of toothpaste because ants had infested it. Completely disgusting. We were in country for two weeks, and stayed at two other resorts (both in rustic settings as well), and were fortunate to experience extremely clean conditions in both other rooms. Our room at Tango Mar was glaringly dirty in comparison, which is absolutely unacceptable for the prices paid.

The food was also a disappointment. We had the distinct feeling that they knew we were captive, with a rough road in and out of the resort, and very few options in the area villages. We did venture out, however, and discovered some incredible restaurant gems in the surrounding area. H&B, and Christie's were two close restaurants that offered very high quality, local food, at a fraction of what was being charged at Tango Mar. At Tango Mar, I had a pasta with bolognese sauce that I believe used ketchup as the sauce base. It was absolutely inedible. My wife had a pork chop that was 1/4 inch thin, and in a plum sauce that was also inedible. During this same dining experience we were charged for two rounds of drinks that we did not consume, and it took around 20 minutes to get the issue resolved when we wanted to close out and leave the restaurant. As mentioned in other reviews, the owner was milling around and attempting to ensure the satisfaction of the guests, however was doing very little to actually impact the experience of the guests. We were there on our honeymoon, and felt like we were just being nickel-and-dimed during the entire stay. No mention of our honeymoon, and nothing from the staff that made us feel special on this extremely special trip for us. There was just nothing on any menu that was of any quality. The coffee was poor, the breakfast service was slow and disingenuous. There were some staff members who were extremely friendly, and there were many who seemed put-out to refill a coffee or make an omelette.

The golf course was also a bit of a joke, and we were charged an extreme amount to play it. After asking the gentleman at the desk to provide club rental, cart, and pay green fees, he asked me "Do you need golf balls? They are $10 for a pack of 5. You will need two packs." Well, ok. It would have been very difficult to play the course without golf balls. He also asked me if I needed tees, another obvious "yes" and flagrant charge. On the course, we found greens that were not trimmed, and an overall extremely neglected course. Again, tremendous views and setting, but the experience of the product was a sub-standard one.

This resort has so much potential. I believe they need to take a staff trip up to the arenal area, and take some notes on how to offer a rustic, true experience with the sophistication and quality deserving of the premium prices they are charging. This country has so much to offer, and unfortunately the offerings at Tango Mar were restricted to the incredible views and beautiful beach on which it sits. When traveling to the area again I will work harder to select a resort, perhaps in the Montezuma area, which will offer a higher quality product than what Tango Mar can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My new bride and I decided to stay at Tango Mar for our first part of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We wanted a more remote and quiet location on the beach that wasn't in a busy bustling town. This is exactly what we found at Tango Mar.
The large property is on a gorgeous beach (one of the prettiest we saw in Costa Rica) and is about 5 minutes away from the small nearby town of Tambor. Every part of this hotel is beautiful from the facilities to the beach itself. There are multiple swimming pools and a swim-up bar at the main pool that literally overlooks the ocean. The staff are all very friendly, professional, speak good English, and are always willing to answer your questions or arrange services. My wife and I had massages in their spa, which were amazing. The restaurant, which is essentially the only place you can eat without driving into town is very nice, offering local Costa Rican dishes as well as more American/European dishes to cater to all tastes. All the food tasted fresh and the service was excellent. Breakfast is included in the stay but not lunch or dinner.

Of the three types of rooms the hotel offers, we stayed in their Tropical Suites, which are located up some stairs from the main facilities but still offer views of the ocean. The rooms and porch areas are really big so you never feel cramped! Large comfy bed, private bath/whirlpool, separate shower and toilet, mini fridge with stocked beverages, and A/C. There was a smaller pool directly outside our room where you can lay out and see and/or hear the local iguanas, butterflies, birds, and monkeys.

We decided to rent a 4x4 and drive from San Jose, since we wanted to have some mobility options since the hotel is not located in a town. We were glad we decided on this as we did make a few trips into Tambor for food and drinks and we also spent a day driving to nearby Montezuma. If you want to get there but other means, you will have to take a bus or plane to Tambor, then arrange a taxi to the hotel. If you are staying for a relatively short time or just want to stay at the hotel and beach, this is a fine option. However, are staying for a longer time and you want to explore any other areas of this part of the country, get your own vehicle (4x4 recommended) as there are some beautiful places to see!

Overall, Tango Mar was the perfect first stop in Costa Rica for our honeymoon! We hope we can come back someday perhaps for an anniversary! Highly recommended for couples, friends, or families (but keep those kids quiet!) who want a beautiful resort in a remote beach location in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The Tropical Suites are awesome large rooms but set up some steep steps away from the main reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.