We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4X3, 1 free night!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My new bride and I decided to stay at Tango Mar for our first part of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We wanted a more remote and quiet location on the beach that wasn't in a busy bustling town. This is exactly what we found at Tango Mar.
The large property is on a gorgeous beach (one of the prettiest we saw in Costa Rica) and is about 5 minutes away from the small nearby town of Tambor. Every part of this hotel is beautiful from the facilities to the beach itself. There are multiple swimming pools and a swim-up bar at the main pool that literally overlooks the ocean. The staff are all very friendly, professional, speak good English, and are always willing to answer your questions or arrange services. My wife and I had massages in their spa, which were amazing. The restaurant, which is essentially the only place you can eat without driving into town is very nice, offering local Costa Rican dishes as well as more American/European dishes to cater to all tastes. All the food tasted fresh and the service was excellent. Breakfast is included in the stay but not lunch or dinner.

Of the three types of rooms the hotel offers, we stayed in their Tropical Suites, which are located up some stairs from the main facilities but still offer views of the ocean. The rooms and porch areas are really big so you never feel cramped! Large comfy bed, private bath/whirlpool, separate shower and toilet, mini fridge with stocked beverages, and A/C. There was a smaller pool directly outside our room where you can lay out and see and/or hear the local iguanas, butterflies, birds, and monkeys.

We decided to rent a 4x4 and drive from San Jose, since we wanted to have some mobility options since the hotel is not located in a town. We were glad we decided on this as we did make a few trips into Tambor for food and drinks and we also spent a day driving to nearby Montezuma. If you want to get there but other means, you will have to take a bus or plane to Tambor, then arrange a taxi to the hotel. If you are staying for a relatively short time or just want to stay at the hotel and beach, this is a fine option. However, are staying for a longer time and you want to explore any other areas of this part of the country, get your own vehicle (4x4 recommended) as there are some beautiful places to see!

Overall, Tango Mar was the perfect first stop in Costa Rica for our honeymoon! We hope we can come back someday perhaps for an anniversary! Highly recommended for couples, friends, or families (but keep those kids quiet!) who want a beautiful resort in a remote beach location in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The Tropical Suites are awesome large rooms but set up some steep steps away from the main reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    89
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
94
257
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Beautiful, cozy, remote resort. Tucked way back in off dirt roads. It's not very big, but you can be alone or socialize with other quests. Only a few young kids were there for the holidays. Mostly couples and and small. adult groups. Different types of very nice rooms all with a view. Beach is nice but brown sand if looking for those pure white beaches. Surf is really too rough except for experienced swimmers. Several pools are all great and have wonderful views of the gulf. This is a kick back and relax place. Fun drinks, good food for any diet, and a great staff. All have very good English, but it's nice to use a few native greetings and salutations to show your appreciation. Andres, Junior, Eduardo, Javier et al are all fantastic. They will make your stay all the more enjoyable. They live on site during the season and are around to serve you all day, and even help you find the waterfall off property. The massage service was terrific. I'm not a big breakfast eater, but that was my best meal of the day. Melons, pineapple, breads, pastries, meats, fried plantains, eggs anyway plus omelettes and waffles, juices and good coffee. It's in the main dining area which is open to the ocean. Lunches are just OK and dinners are very nice, but I wouldn't consider them gourmet. There's an executive golf course of property (par 3's & 4's) with chance to see some wildlife. Zip Lining or a trip to Montezuma for shopping are both about 30 minutes away. Otherwise there's nothing else close by. No other restaurents or night life. Good place for a destination (small) wedding or surprise engagement or to just get rid of work day stress. By 10 pm be prepared to go for a walk on the beach of read a good book. Our adult daughters were a little bored in the late eveings. We met people who have been there several times and come to relax and go coastal or deep sea fishing. A big plus would be some sort of evening entertainment and to enjoy a few late night cocktails. Suggest you stop at a small grocery on the way in for some snacks and drinks to keep in the room.

Room Tip: Not sure what they are called but there are octagon shaped cottages with parking underneath that hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family of 4 spent 4 nights over Christmas at the Tango Mar. I had already booked my flight into San Jose so we rented a car and drove to Puntarenas and boarded the car ferry across the Gulf of Nicoya to Paquera with the locals, then drove 45 minutes on the most pothole ridden road past Tambor to the Tango Mar. Flying into Liberia might be the way to go. We were exhausted after our journey, but relaxed almost immediately once we turned onto the road into the property. It is a beautifully landscaped and well maintained bit of paradise. We immediately all agreed to just stay put for the next 4 days. We were greeted so graciously by the front desk staff (Javier and Hilde the owner), left our car parked out front, and joined the other guests for a Christmas Day supper in the beautiful oceanfront open air restaurant. Our room was spacious and well appointed with good a/c and had a lovely balcony looking out on the charming palm fringed beach. We particularly enjoyed the multitude of hammocks strung between all the palms. We lay in the shade for hours reading our books, listening to the surf, and looking at the ocean. We enjoyed the oceanside pool with the swim up bar. (I wish the bartender could have taken a break from the incessant Latin music that blared a little too loudly for my taste). We enjoyed lunch at the poolside restaurant; the fresh fish and the roasted chicken with guacamole, pico de gallo, and tortillas were particularly yummy. The ocean was challenging; I had to carefully pick which waves to boogie board or else I would get slammed. My daughter and I were more successful bobbing over the waves without any boards. The beach was a lovely sandy beach with rock outcroppings at either end, making for a lovely walk. We were so lazy we never made it to the waterfall or the lookout viewpoint at either end of the beach! The breakfast was included and was a revelation of fresh tropical fruit, local cuisine like rice and beans, cassava croquettes, and fried plantains, and made to order omelets and Belgian waffles (Hilde the owner is Belgian). Dinner was ordinary except for the exceptional Caesar salad that was made at your table. (I ordered one every night and added grilled shrimp on the last night and made it my meal). But we did not come to eat; we came to relax and get away from it all in balmy weather on a perfect beach. Hilde has a great local staff and a beautiful property. If you don't need a late night scene to have a good vacation, you will be happy here. Tango Mar was a wonderful way to decompress from work and school before we headed off on an adventure travel cruise down the Pacific coast of Costa Rica through the Panama Canal.

Room Tip: All of the hotel rooms are right on the beach. No worries on getting the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Tango Mar is a beautiful resort - clean, well managed, and well staffed. My husband, daughter (3 and a half), and I visited during the week of Dec 22, 2012. Every single individual on staff always greeted us with a smile. Junior at the swim up bar was amazing! He kept us laughing all the time and our daughter loved him. He made amazing drinks! I also want to make special mention fo the chef, Eliuth Chiaves, who made us special vegetarian meals each night that we were there. The food he made was absolutely delicious and he made something new for us each day. Thank you, Eliuth! We also loved Dorrial and all the waiters at the restaurant. They took such great care of our daughter. I highly, highly recommend this resort. It is a stunning piece of property and the perfect place to go to relax, re-energize, and rejuvenate. Thank you to all at the resort for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are RIGHT in front of the ocean. You can see, smell, and hear the ocean! Defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Jessy (reception), Dori, Royland, Jesus, Eduardo (restaurant) and Andres (bartender) made our stay outstanding! The owner also is always concerned by making everyones stay perfect! The food is marvelous, everything except the desserts. The only one we liked was the creme brulee. The rooms are fine, i expected more. We stayed at the Tropical Suites which were very far from the pool, restaurant and lobby so once we left in the morning we took everything to avoid coming back during the day. The beach is amazing, though I think they should provide more chairs and maybe food and beverage service. The hammocks zone is amazing to spend the afternoon and enjoy the sunset!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Tango Mar over Christmas. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We had a beach front room which is a pretty standard hotel room, but with an amazing view. It’s a little overpriced during high-season, but most nice places in Costa Rica are that way. The location is pretty well secluded and unlike other beach resorts in places like Cancun where you’re surrounded by a million other tourists. The pool is small, but nice and comes with a great view of the ocean. The water is pretty rough here, so most people stuck to the pool. Other than a day trip to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, we spent each day lounging by the pool, on the beach, and at the bar. It was extremely relaxing and definitely what we were looking for.

While the food is better than the average beach resort, it definitely isn’t great. We had the lobster and a filet mignon on Christmas eve and couldn’t have been more disappointed. For $25, we got a little bit of tail meat cooked and placed into a lobster shell and no claws. It was an odd presentation and we learned from then on to keep it simple here. Stick to the cheaper basic stuff and you’ll be fine. The breakfast was complementary and was pretty good. It included lots of fresh fruit and typical Costa Rican food as well as an omelet station.

The owner, Hilde, is very friendly and is always around chatting up the guests and making sure everyone is having a good time. A lot of the beach resort style hotels have a corporate feel so this is a nice touch. A lot of the staff is there all day everyday and they are very friendly. The two bartenders, Junior and Javier, are fantastic. They make great drinks and are a lot of fun.

We were feeling adventurous on our way to Tango Mar so we decided to skip the ferry and drive around the Gulf of Nicoya. The trip overall wasn’t too bad, but there is a long stretch (about 30km) between Playa Naranja and Paquera that is an unpaved mess of rocky dirt roads that twist through the mountains. Without a GPS, we would’ve gotten lost for sure. The drive is fun, but be prepared for the dirt roads and definitely use a GPS! On the way out we took the ferry which was really easy and actually pretty cheap ($25 for two passengers and the car).

Room Tip: Beach front rooms have a great view and are close to the beach but the ocean is rough and pretty lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Junior and Javier were more than outstanding. They truly made our vacation on this trip. All of the staff were more than willing to go out of their way to make your vacation amazing. Most all employees can speak English.

Pros:beautiful, great staff, swim up bar ,great dinner, spa is wonderful

Cons: away from any real towns so there is nowhere to go shopping and to get to tours it's a long drive. Everything shuts down at 10pm so there is no nightlife on the resort. It would be nice to have a bar to hang out and drink at after dinner or some sort of entertainment. Lunch menu was nothing special and there is really nowhere else to eat anywhere around the resort so yu really have to. Eat at the hotel. The beach is not calm and the water is kind of dangerous to get in.

Overall. This would be a great resort for honeymooners or for celebrating an anniversary... Stop at the store on the way in for some bottles of wine for the room after the bars close! Beautiful clean resort. Would return!

Room Tip: We stayed in abnormal normal room there suites look beautiful and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.