We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4X3, 1 free night!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Tambor
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Amazing holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Tango Mar is a beautiful resort - clean, well managed, and well staffed. My husband, daughter (3 and a half), and I visited during the week of Dec 22, 2012. Every single individual on staff always greeted us with a smile. Junior at the swim up bar was amazing! He kept us laughing all the time and our daughter loved him. He made amazing drinks! I also want to make special mention fo the chef, Eliuth Chiaves, who made us special vegetarian meals each night that we were there. The food he made was absolutely delicious and he made something new for us each day. Thank you, Eliuth! We also loved Dorrial and all the waiters at the restaurant. They took such great care of our daughter. I highly, highly recommend this resort. It is a stunning piece of property and the perfect place to go to relax, re-energize, and rejuvenate. Thank you to all at the resort for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are RIGHT in front of the ocean. You can see, smell, and hear the ocean! Defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    86
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
82
242
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Jessy (reception), Dori, Royland, Jesus, Eduardo (restaurant) and Andres (bartender) made our stay outstanding! The owner also is always concerned by making everyones stay perfect! The food is marvelous, everything except the desserts. The only one we liked was the creme brulee. The rooms are fine, i expected more. We stayed at the Tropical Suites which were very far from the pool, restaurant and lobby so once we left in the morning we took everything to avoid coming back during the day. The beach is amazing, though I think they should provide more chairs and maybe food and beverage service. The hammocks zone is amazing to spend the afternoon and enjoy the sunset!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Tango Mar over Christmas. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We had a beach front room which is a pretty standard hotel room, but with an amazing view. It’s a little overpriced during high-season, but most nice places in Costa Rica are that way. The location is pretty well secluded and unlike other beach resorts in places like Cancun where you’re surrounded by a million other tourists. The pool is small, but nice and comes with a great view of the ocean. The water is pretty rough here, so most people stuck to the pool. Other than a day trip to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, we spent each day lounging by the pool, on the beach, and at the bar. It was extremely relaxing and definitely what we were looking for.

While the food is better than the average beach resort, it definitely isn’t great. We had the lobster and a filet mignon on Christmas eve and couldn’t have been more disappointed. For $25, we got a little bit of tail meat cooked and placed into a lobster shell and no claws. It was an odd presentation and we learned from then on to keep it simple here. Stick to the cheaper basic stuff and you’ll be fine. The breakfast was complementary and was pretty good. It included lots of fresh fruit and typical Costa Rican food as well as an omelet station.

The owner, Hilde, is very friendly and is always around chatting up the guests and making sure everyone is having a good time. A lot of the beach resort style hotels have a corporate feel so this is a nice touch. A lot of the staff is there all day everyday and they are very friendly. The two bartenders, Junior and Javier, are fantastic. They make great drinks and are a lot of fun.

We were feeling adventurous on our way to Tango Mar so we decided to skip the ferry and drive around the Gulf of Nicoya. The trip overall wasn’t too bad, but there is a long stretch (about 30km) between Playa Naranja and Paquera that is an unpaved mess of rocky dirt roads that twist through the mountains. Without a GPS, we would’ve gotten lost for sure. The drive is fun, but be prepared for the dirt roads and definitely use a GPS! On the way out we took the ferry which was really easy and actually pretty cheap ($25 for two passengers and the car).

Room Tip: Beach front rooms have a great view and are close to the beach but the ocean is rough and pretty lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Junior and Javier were more than outstanding. They truly made our vacation on this trip. All of the staff were more than willing to go out of their way to make your vacation amazing. Most all employees can speak English.

Pros:beautiful, great staff, swim up bar ,great dinner, spa is wonderful

Cons: away from any real towns so there is nowhere to go shopping and to get to tours it's a long drive. Everything shuts down at 10pm so there is no nightlife on the resort. It would be nice to have a bar to hang out and drink at after dinner or some sort of entertainment. Lunch menu was nothing special and there is really nowhere else to eat anywhere around the resort so yu really have to. Eat at the hotel. The beach is not calm and the water is kind of dangerous to get in.

Overall. This would be a great resort for honeymooners or for celebrating an anniversary... Stop at the store on the way in for some bottles of wine for the room after the bars close! Beautiful clean resort. Would return!

Room Tip: We stayed in abnormal normal room there suites look beautiful and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband & I spent 4 nights at Tango Mar in November and I would highly recommend it! Tango Mar is pretty remote, so it was a bit of a trek to get there and there aren't a ton of activities, but it was soooo relaxing. We did visit the Curu Wildlife Refuge (see more info. below) and went snorkeling while we were there. The best thing about Tango Mar is the staff -- especially Eduardo, Andres & Junior. They took great care of us and were just fun people to be around. They learned our names the first day we were there (and vice versa) and always greeted us, whether they were working at breakfast, the pool bar or dinner.

There are lots of reviews on here that cover basic information about the hotel, but here are some things I wish I would have known in advance:

1.) Tango Mar is very remote, although there are some different options to get there (including a small airstrip nearby). We opted to drive to Puntarenas and then take the fairy to Paquera. We then drove from Paquera to Tango Mar (about 45 mins). The roads were terrible, but manageable, even at night. Just be prepared for lots of huge pot holes, as well as people and animals in the road. :) Also, be sure to take cash for the ferry, as we didn't and about missed the last ferry of the day (the nearest ATM is about a 10 min. drive)! The ferry only takes US$ up to $20, so be sure to have small bills or use colons. You can find the ferry schedule at http://www.nicoyapeninsula.com/general/boat.php.
2.) The room rate includes a buffet breakfast at the hotel (at least ours did). This was really nice, as the hotel is very remote, so there aren't other options nearby.
3.) We had dinner at the hotel a couple of nights (only one of the restaurants was open during our visit). The food was good, although pretty expensive (about $15-25 for entrees). However, if you don't have a car, it's about your only option.
4.) They don't offer room service, although there is a mini bar with drinks and snacks.
5.) We drove to Montezuma for dinner one night. It was further than we thought (maybe 30-45 mins) and included about 5 miles on a gravel road. However, it was fun to visit and get outside of the hotel for the evening. If you go, stop by Chico's bar after dinner. The people watching was fun and included a mix of ex-pats and locals.
6.) The "exercise room" was all but non-existent. There was a treadmill and bike, but there weren't any weights. It wasn't a big deal, just not what I was expecting. I also never found the yoga, mentioned on the website.
7.) If you'd like to save a little money, I would recommend looking for tours outside of what's offered through the hotel (especially if you have your own car). We booked a guided hike and snorkeling trip to Tortuga Island through Curu (http://www.curutourism.com/en/packages) for about half the price as the tour offered through Tango Mar. We did have to provide our own transportation to Curu (about a 30 min. drive).
8.) We stayed at Tango Mar is November, which is the end of rainy season. It was prefect weather everyday, with temps in the low-mid 80s and perfectly blue skies. There was nothing rainy about it and the rates were still low and it wasn't crowded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I were here in late November, just before the Thanksgiving day rush. It was the last leg of our trip and upon stepping onto the grounds we knew we should have planned for a longer stay here. This hotel is gorgeous!!! It reminded us of a Four Seasons Hotel. The grounds are meticulously cared for and the staff is beyond welcoming. Both nights we had dinner in the restaurant the owner, Hilda, came to greet us and ensure our stay was everything we hoped for and more. The rooms are newly remodeled and one of the restaurants had just been done as well. The food is wonderful, from the complimentary breakfast (which by the way is a FULL spread including an omelet and waffle station, fresh fruit, sausage, eggs, ect.). I cannot recommend this place enough!!!

Room Tip: The beach front villas are worth the price and then some. You hear the waves all night, very peacefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Location is fantastic (some km of unpaved road to reach the area). Rooms are nice, clean and well kept. Manager is very kind and helpful. Beach is also nice and very close to the rooms. There are two pools also in the resort, also them are very nice.
I strongly suggest this place. Price is also fair.

Ahhh... Can't forget restaurant. Excellent for breakfast and dinner. Very romantic and good food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.