We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4X3, 1 free night!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband & I spent 4 nights at Tango Mar in November and I would highly recommend it! Tango Mar is pretty remote, so it was a bit of a trek to get there and there aren't a ton of activities, but it was soooo relaxing. We did visit the Curu Wildlife Refuge (see more info. below) and went snorkeling while we were there. The best thing about Tango Mar is the staff -- especially Eduardo, Andres & Junior. They took great care of us and were just fun people to be around. They learned our names the first day we were there (and vice versa) and always greeted us, whether they were working at breakfast, the pool bar or dinner.

There are lots of reviews on here that cover basic information about the hotel, but here are some things I wish I would have known in advance:

1.) Tango Mar is very remote, although there are some different options to get there (including a small airstrip nearby). We opted to drive to Puntarenas and then take the fairy to Paquera. We then drove from Paquera to Tango Mar (about 45 mins). The roads were terrible, but manageable, even at night. Just be prepared for lots of huge pot holes, as well as people and animals in the road. :) Also, be sure to take cash for the ferry, as we didn't and about missed the last ferry of the day (the nearest ATM is about a 10 min. drive)! The ferry only takes US$ up to $20, so be sure to have small bills or use colons. You can find the ferry schedule at http://www.nicoyapeninsula.com/general/boat.php.
2.) The room rate includes a buffet breakfast at the hotel (at least ours did). This was really nice, as the hotel is very remote, so there aren't other options nearby.
3.) We had dinner at the hotel a couple of nights (only one of the restaurants was open during our visit). The food was good, although pretty expensive (about $15-25 for entrees). However, if you don't have a car, it's about your only option.
4.) They don't offer room service, although there is a mini bar with drinks and snacks.
5.) We drove to Montezuma for dinner one night. It was further than we thought (maybe 30-45 mins) and included about 5 miles on a gravel road. However, it was fun to visit and get outside of the hotel for the evening. If you go, stop by Chico's bar after dinner. The people watching was fun and included a mix of ex-pats and locals.
6.) The "exercise room" was all but non-existent. There was a treadmill and bike, but there weren't any weights. It wasn't a big deal, just not what I was expecting. I also never found the yoga, mentioned on the website.
7.) If you'd like to save a little money, I would recommend looking for tours outside of what's offered through the hotel (especially if you have your own car). We booked a guided hike and snorkeling trip to Tortuga Island through Curu (http://www.curutourism.com/en/packages) for about half the price as the tour offered through Tango Mar. We did have to provide our own transportation to Curu (about a 30 min. drive).
8.) We stayed at Tango Mar is November, which is the end of rainy season. It was prefect weather everyday, with temps in the low-mid 80s and perfectly blue skies. There was nothing rainy about it and the rates were still low and it wasn't crowded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    89
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
94
256
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I were here in late November, just before the Thanksgiving day rush. It was the last leg of our trip and upon stepping onto the grounds we knew we should have planned for a longer stay here. This hotel is gorgeous!!! It reminded us of a Four Seasons Hotel. The grounds are meticulously cared for and the staff is beyond welcoming. Both nights we had dinner in the restaurant the owner, Hilda, came to greet us and ensure our stay was everything we hoped for and more. The rooms are newly remodeled and one of the restaurants had just been done as well. The food is wonderful, from the complimentary breakfast (which by the way is a FULL spread including an omelet and waffle station, fresh fruit, sausage, eggs, ect.). I cannot recommend this place enough!!!

Room Tip: The beach front villas are worth the price and then some. You hear the waves all night, very peacefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Location is fantastic (some km of unpaved road to reach the area). Rooms are nice, clean and well kept. Manager is very kind and helpful. Beach is also nice and very close to the rooms. There are two pools also in the resort, also them are very nice.
I strongly suggest this place. Price is also fair.

Ahhh... Can't forget restaurant. Excellent for breakfast and dinner. Very romantic and good food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I went for our Honeymoon in late October and the Tango Mar was fabulous! We had a great time, the resort was amazing and all of the excursions we planned were great. Although the drinks ($6-$9 US) and meals (entrees from $20-$28 US) were a little expensive, they included tax and tip which reduces the price a bit. The pool area/swim up bar were perfect for relaxing. I definitely recommending taking dinner at one of the palapas down by the beach.

Room Tip: The tiki suites were amazing, the tropical suites were up a little hill removed from the rest of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Haze, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a beautiful place on a beautiful Beach... Everyone went out of their way to be helpful, the reception desk had the nicest people we ever met in Costa rica - and very, very knowledgable about the wildlife there. The walk to the waterfall could have been marked a bit better but the after crossing the stream and climbing down - floating in the cool clear pool below was my favorite moment in Costa Rica. There were monkeys and toucans and parrots ( oh my!) This was a great destination - Only wish I had more time to spend here. We were fortunate to meet the owner - a lovely lady who was very helpful and friendly. Try the Miami Vice at the swim up bar... perfection!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although we have been visiting Costa Rica for many years, this was our first trip to the Nicoya Peninsula & Tambor. After an uneventful drive from San Jose, we arrived in Puntarenas to board the ferry. It was a somewhat overcast day with some rain, but the 70 minute ferry ride was calm & enjoyable. The drive to Tango Mar Resort took about 45 mins. in the rain. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Xavier at the reception desk by a warm welcome,wet towels to refresh ourselves from the drive & with a cocktail. Our room was located on the 3rd floor overlooking the ocean...It was lovely. The room was spacious with a large shower & bath & private balcony. Our stay was only 2 nites, but it was very enjoyable. The beach is beautiful & very private. We were not able to visit the waterfall as the rain had washed out much of the trail. The food is the restaurant was fresh & well prepared & nicely presented. Breakfast included freshly made juice each morning (orange w/papaya; watermelon); Bloody Mary mixed by Junior( w/his "secret ingredient") was delicious. Drink & wine prices are reasonable as is the menu. Lovely salad w/fresh avocado & geens in a light dressing. The fried rice w/seafood I had one night was presented on a sizzling platter & would have been enough to split. The caesar salad & desserts are done tableside, which lends a continental feel to the resort. The entire staff ( including Jesus, Javier, Eduardo,) was friendly & very helpful. We will certainly come back again - hopefully not during the rainy season so that we may enjoy the pool & other resort amenities.

Room Tip: the roads in on the Peninsula are some of the worst in Costa Rica w/many parts being dirt or rocky w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a great time on our honeymoon here at Tango Mar. If your looking for somewhere private and relaxing this is the location. The grounds were amazing, especially the trail down to the waterfall. One of only a few waterfalls that flow straight into the ocean in the world. The only reason I didn't give the property a 5 star is the food is very good but a little pricey for Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Quizales Beach | Nicoya Peninsula, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Mar Beach, Spa and Golf Resort is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, quiet relaxation, or if you prefer, adventure tours. Families are welcome. Tours are offered to National Parks, horseback riding on the beach, Tortuga Island snorkeling tours, canopy rides - everything to make your vacation in a tropical paradise a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.