We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort off the beaten path !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 nights and pay 3!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice resort off the beaten path !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This resort is off the beaten path. It is very nice and the rooms are very big with high vaulted wood ceilings. Jacuzzi and king size bed in the room with a nice large shower. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast area was large and over looked the ocean. The beach behind the resort was very nice as well! All around a nice place to stay for a few days!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    102
    47
    16
    10
See reviews for
115
313
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

bed for a king and a queen, spacious bathroom and a Jacuzzi clean. just lovely!
Blue Flag beach, you fall in love

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is amazing. My husband, 7 year old daughter and I loved it! The staff and owner are so friendly and helpful. The grounds are breathtaking. We had an oceanfront room and the view was amazing. The ocean was a little rough so we stayed at the pool and it was so relaxing. The bartender made my daughter a chocolate sundae everyday we were there and she was able to eat it at the swim up bar. He also taught me how to make a perfect caipirinha! The food was really good. This place was awesome!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a great resort on all fronts. The rooms are spacious, clean and well air conditioned. The staff are very friendly and helpful - Eduardo is a super cool barman. And the location is perfect: really relaxing and peaceful. We actually moved to Tango Mar after a bad experience at another hotel in Santa Teresa, so we were fortunate that this turned out so well for a literally last minute switch. Right on a golden sands this is a dream setting. The surf is strong here though so swimming is probably better left to the waters of Tambor Beach.

We had a car that enabled us to go out and about and we flew in and out of Liberia Airport. Be warned the roads are somewhat under developed along the coast - particularly as you get further south - but it makes for a good adventure! The peninsula is very remote and there isn't a lot to do other on land other than soak it up and relax which is exactly what we wanted. The water provided plenty of adventure.

We did two trips - the Tango Mar Super Tour with Jessie and Chema and it was worth every penny. We had a great time at the Reserve and the snorkeling is awesome! We then went on the fishing trip which was brilliant too. Fishing can be hit and miss and even the best fishermen have bad days but we were not disappointed. we caught 10 fish in total and even saw dolphins! Again big thanks to our captain Chema!

There aren't many places that I would consider returning to on holiday as the world is too big not to keep exploring, but we have talked about popping back for a quick stay when we just need to get away to paradise for a few days. We would do this by flying to San Jose and then on to Tambor where I believe you can get a pick up from the hotel (is a tiny airport just a few miles away). Thank you Tango Mar!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our honeymoon, and it completely blew our minds!!!! It was an unbelieveable experience and we can not thank the hotel manager, Hilda, enough! She kindly ungraded us to a suite and we were blown away. We had never experienced anything like it. The staff were so gentle and kind and nothing was too much trouble. Hilda personally spoke to all her guests and the food, though pricey was delicious. This place is like paradise and because it is set apart, the beach though not private, feels like it is just the hotels. The hammocks were fantastic and we often took an afternoon nap here. It really was such a wonderful end to our honeymoon and we loved every second of it!!!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are really special and the view of the beach is terrific. That being said the sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Had a marvelous eight nights at the Tango Mar! Very warm, accommodating staff; room that opened right on the beach, and we fell to sleep to the sound of braking waves each night. Hilda, resort owner, was always available and made the rounds at dinner each night to check on each guest. Food was excellent. The highlight of our trip was catching a mackerel, and having the chef prepare it for dinner for us and our friends that evening. All the grounds were immaculately maintained.

Room Tip: Very limited amount of exercise equipment; no room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

From the time we first got out of the car, we knew we had found our perfect vacation spot. From the beauty of the resort to the staff, we could not have asked for more! As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by the owner Hilde, who always made sure we were happy, as well as letting us feed her horses mangos! We stayed in the tropical suites, which had a beautiful view of the ocean and resort. The food was great, we especially loved the complimentary breakfast, which was not your run of the mill continental cuisine, but a full line of breakfast choices. They did a wonderful job of scheduling our excursions, as well as pointing out the waterfall you can walk to on the property.Thank you Tango Mar for your hospitality, we will return!

Room Tip: The tropical suites were a long walk down to the amenities, if you have health issues, stay in the T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
24.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#4 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
24.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
25.0 mi away
Hotel Praiamar
Hotel Praiamar
#2 of 19 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.