We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Honeymoon in Remote Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 nights and pay 3!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tambor
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dream Honeymoon in Remote Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our Costa Rica Honeymoon, having spent 5 days at the beautiful Tango Mar resort. The hotel staff promised to treat us like "a king and queen"...and they did.

It was supposedly the beginning of the rainy season, but outside of a few hours in the afternoon and evening, we had beautiful weather, which allowed us to enjoy several excursions (snorkeling, horseback riding along the beach) as well as the pool and private beach. Also, because it was the rainy season, we mostly had the hotel and the amenities to ourselves. This was nice.

The tiki hut room we had was absolutely GORGEOUS; ocean views from almost every part of the hut, including the shower! Bed could have been softer but was still fine. We did share our tiki hut with a little gecko friend, who woke us up several times with his clicking noises...BUT it was all part of the charm. This is not your average mega-resort, America-transplant. It's a unique, peaceful get-away, which actually has a distinctly Costa-Rican flavor. The food was EXCELLENT. Every morning we woke up to fruit plates and Costa Rican breakfasts on the restaurant veranda overlooking the gorgeous Pacific Ocean. And the service was incredible. Every staff member learned our names within a few hours, and the owner Hilde took the time to come greet us every evening at dinner. The personal touches really made Tango Mar stand out.

We highly recommend this hotel and hope we can make a return trip sooner rather than later. Thanks Tango Mar for making our honeymoon so memorable!

-Eric and Kathleen
Chicago, IL

Room Tip: Get a Tiki Hut
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klucke, Director of Sales at Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear Eric and Kathleen,

We want to thank you for choosing Tango Mar for your honeymoon and I am really happy that you had a memorable stay in our magical hotel, as you said a unique peaceful get-away! We really apprecite for your time writing and sharing your experience to others. I hope you can visit us in the near future. Regards, Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    96
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
104
302
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We came to Costa Rica for our honeymoon, and stayed in Arenal which was wonderful and we would go back in a heartbeat. VOlcano Lodge was great for a low price, and we splurged on Arenal Nayare for the most wonderful 4days ever! After such great service, food and COMPLIMENTARY shuttle to town we were so disappointed with Tango Mar.
Upon arriving we realized there is no way to leave the resort unless you pay for a transter $30 Each way... The pool bar was closed and abandoned, and the waiters did not come down to the pool to ask for drink orders you had to get up and go to the restaurant each time..not at all like the website says. The food was extremely overpriced, as we paid $14 for a ham and cheese on wonderbread with frozen french fries.
Our tiki suite had ants in the bathroom and came in throught the large crack in the front door..however when mentioned to the front desk they handed us a can of bug killer spray and said "you are in costa rica, there are bugs" to which I replied, "I don't pay almost 200 a night to sleep with bugs, I would camp out for free" There was also bright orange crabs in our room.
During a rain storm, a piece of our roof fell off and it poured dirty collected water straight down on our bed...they did fix it promply, but just laughed about it...no offer to change rooms or anything.
The spa was a JOKE> I went in for a mani/pedi...the girl sits me down in a lawn chair across from her, has me put my feet on her lap... and there is a conair foot soak that you get at walmart for me to put my feet in cold water with soap. She then used old, used tools that are more outdated than the ones they use at the cosmotology school I went to.
No foot massage, the whole thing lasted 20minutes. At that point all I could do was laugh. So many disappointments I wasn't surprised with this one, just glad I didn't get a more expensive service.
What saved our honeymoon was renting a car for $60 a day and exploring the peninsula our selves..drove to Montezuma and Mal Pais for better, less expensive restaurants and drinks as well as some shopping.
It sucked, I would never go back, never recommend...I know we went in the off season which explains why only 3 other couples were there but for what you pay the pool bar and waterfall should still be open and top service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klucke, Director of Sales at Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for calling this to our attention, your comments and suggestions are very important for us in order to improve our service. Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Tango Mar is wonderful. The photos on the web site are accurate representations. The staff is excellent. Pool & beach are superb. Food is great too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Beautiful location, great food and a wonderfull staff!
We stayed here 4 days, and we can say that these 4 days were by far the best hotel experience in Costa Rica and beyond.
Thank you Hilde for your fantastic personal attention you are the perfect hostess!!
Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Stayed 9 days. The resort, food , people , most importantly the employees, were five star quality! The resort is secluded on a beautiful beach in Tambor and we couldn't find more peace and tranquility if we searched the world over.Kudos to owner and host extraordinaire Hilda.Her passion and quest for excellence make this resort a once in a lifetime experience.We will return and we look forward to another great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

My husband and I honeymooned here last December/January. We stayed in the Tropical Suites which had just been renovated and were fabulous. While they are set back from the beach, the views are spectacular and as the hotel was quiet for some of our stay, we sometimes felt like we had the small pool up there to ourselves! We had a look round one of the Tiki suites also and if we were to return we would definitely consider booking one of these. The staff are attentive -especially Junior, Gustavo and Edwardo.The owners make an effort to talk to each guest, although you can see that hospitality does not come naturally to them. Cocktails and seafood are delicious, we booked the 'romantic table' one evening which is set right on the beach - amazing! We loved this place so much that we cancelled some of our nights in a hotel in Arenal so that we could spend New Years at Tango Mar! New Years dinner is a little pricey and didnt seem all that different to the regular dinner, but good at the same time. . We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Tango Mar and we will be going back. We loved the resort and the staff. The road you take to get to the resort can be misleading because it is unpaved and pretty rough. Don't let that discourage you. The beach and the pool were awesome and I highly recommend Tango Mar resort. It was very quieting and relaxing, I almost felt that we had rented the whole resort just for our group. The closest town with anything to do is Montezuma and the roads to Montezuma can be pretty rough. It took us 30+ minutes to get there. But once you get to Montezuma there are numerous restaurants, excursions, zipline/canopy tour and a great waterfall to hike up to. So if you plan to get out of the resort much you are going to need a car. I had 10 passenger van and I used it almost everyday we were there. If you stay and the resort the entire time budget accordingly for drinks and food at the resort prices. The and drinks are great! The free breakfast was great and I really enjoyed breakfast and coffee every morning looking over the beach watching the waves roll in. Fantastic place and I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia and Travelocity so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.