We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, gorgeous grounds, and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Coral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tambor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costa Coral
Save Saved
You added Hotel Costa Coral to your Saves list
Center of Playa Tambor, opposite from the Monterra Developers building, Tambor 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, gorgeous grounds, and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our group: 2 females (age: 25) & 2 parents (age: ~60)

Rooms: Clean, spacious, A/C worked great, good view of the pool from all rooms

Food: Food was great for breakfast, lunch, and dinner (special thanks to the chef for giving us her recipe for the rice & beans!).

Staff: All of the staff was very friendly and helpful! Thank you for making our stay with you enjoyable.

Pool: An oasis! The landscaping and pool furniture setup is amazing - we almost always had the area all to ourselves, were isolated from the road, and it was beautiful :)

Location: 5 min walk to Tambor Beach and a convenience store; 15 minute drive to Montezuma; 30 minute boat ride to Isla Tortuga (which you can book through the hotel)

Thanks Costa Coral staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
31
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Nice rooms, great pool area, but take a big pass on any food offered!

Staff was friendly and helpful!
We were sick after first meal and never recovered!

Only bad result from all the meals in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Second floor above pool area for best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed for 7 days and found the experience most satisfying. Mike and Judy and the entire staff were most helpful in all aspects. The food was very different every meals and very originally created and of superb quality.
I would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Costa Coral and we wanted to express our appreciation to you and your staff for a most wonderful time we had in Tambor. Marcos, Carlos & Leo were the best! We felt like “royalty” staying at your hotel. I know we “surprised” you with our visit and we sure appreciate you taking us in to be your guest. It was so much fun to pretty much have the entire place to ourselves. We will be talking about this trip for a long time. Please pass our thanks to your staff. Again, thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back from Tambor, Costa Rica. We were in the area looking at real estate. Lots of breath taking views, beaches and wildlife. We saw lots of monkeys, birds, fish, dolphins and even whales! The area is close to lots of beaches, small towns and future developments for sale. Very convenient to Tambor Airport, Ferries and main roads to anywhere in Paradise!
Costa Coral is a beautiful hotel with nice pool and patio area. The rooms are spacious and very quiet. The staff is wonderful and helpful for any services! Looking forward to going again for a longtime!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are convenient, no noise from rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend some time at this hotel with my boyfriend who was doing business in Costa Rica. We spent a week at Costa Coral and really enjoyed our time there. Food was great. Staff was awesome. It was really hot that week, however they did everything to make sure we feel as comfortable as it gets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I wanted a break from our resort stay so we decided to head to Tambor to eat dinner. We stopped at Costa Coral. GREAT FOOD!!!!! The server brought great fresh bread and garlic butter!! I started out with patacones prepared like nachos. Great! Has fish and shrimp ceviche with homemade chips. My wife has a humongous chicken brochette. Verty pleased. Will recommend to all!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Coral

Address: Center of Playa Tambor, opposite from the Monterra Developers building, Tambor 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous Hotel Costa Coral, located in Playa Tambor, Costa Rica is busier then ever and is under new ownership/management. We are improving hotel amenities, upgrading rooms & facilities and looking forward to the exciting future of the expanding Tambor region. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Coral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.