We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rican flavor at its best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Coral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tambor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costa Coral
Save
You added Hotel Costa Coral to your Saves list
Center of Playa Tambor, opposite from the Monterra Developers building, Tambor 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Costa Rican flavor at its best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have travelled to the lush beautiful country of Costa Rica several times over the last five years and always stay at the Costa Coral when in Tambor. Our experience there has been delightful.

The rooms are nice and clean and spacious. They include a sitting area with a fridge, and comfortable AC in the bedroom. A sliding door opens onto a small patio with table and chairs overlooking the lovely pool area. The lush landscaping surrounds the area and in the mornings and evenings you can hear the howler monkeys in the nearby rainforest.

We have fun with the restaurant staff trying to teach us a little Spanish while providing us with great friendly service. The food quality has been excellent at a modest price and the Huevos Rancheros has been a breakfast favorite. Sitting in the open airy restaurant sipping on a cocktail, catching up emails with the WIFI has been a relaxing way to end the day.

The hotel has been renovated and a spa added since we first started going, and we are always curious as to the new and exciting changes we will find on our next visit.

Staff has been very helpful with facilitating local tours. A tour to Tortuga Island is a must.

We will continue to use Costa Coral as our home base when touring Costa Coral and would recommend this quaint boutique hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: #1 is our favorite at the far end of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
31
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I took a two week vacation to tour Costa Rica. Tambor and the Costa Coral was one of our stops . What started out as only a 2 night stay turned into a full week! Being a boutique hotel it wasn't overcrowded like a typical resort hotel might be. Because of this you feel like you are a part of the Costa Coral family. You get to know everyone and the service you receive is impeccable! Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff to the folks in the restaurant are extremely friendly and personable. Our room (and the rest of the common areas) were well maintained and clean. All rooms are by the pool area and you get your own patio/balcony area. TIP: although it's not publicized you can arrange with the restaurant to have them bring your meal to your patio/balcony. One night my wife and I decided to have a quiet dinner on the balcony and enjoy the scenery. It was a terrific experience! Speaking of food...I still have dreams of the AMAZING meals I had at Costa Coral. The food is fantastic! I've had ceviche back home and it will never compare to the way they make it at Costa Coral. Their casado con pollo is the best I've tasted (and because I love the meal I try it everywhere I go in Costa Rica - Costa Coral does it just right). And make sure you try the banana bread at breakfast!! Trust me...!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is staying in Playa Tambor. If you are looking for a place to relax, unwind and find some peace from this hectic world, the Costa Coral is your answer! I will definitely be back for my next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Wow! I received amazing warm hospitality from the friendly staff at the Costa Coral.

I travelled solo and my wonderful experiences while visiting the tropical town of Tambor were enhanced by the daily warm greetings, assistance and conversations with the staff at the charming and cozy hotel.

Every meal included an assortment of fresh foods served by efficient and caring individuals.

I felt extremely cared for and my week was truly amazing being surrounded with both pristine beauty and wonderful people!

Thank you all at the Costa Coral!

Room Tip: I had an awesome room in front of the pool! Beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here with a Groupon Excursion package.

Although there were some issues with Groupon, the hotel was pretty nice, and the staff was super friendly.

I would recommend renting a car at the airport, it would give you more mobility once you are at the hotel. Public busing isn't very reliable.

Short walk from the hotel down to the beach. Rather secluded area which is nice, not as many tourists in Playa Tambor.

About a 25 minute drive to other towns/beaches.

I would stay at Costa coral again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our Family and friends have used Costa Coral for their Nicoya Penn base for 7 visits to CR, with only raving reviews. Service, rooms, food, all top notch in a small package. Can't beat the location. Easy to find in the dark if your coming in off the late ferry. Far enough from the beach to avoid the beach bugs yet easy walking distance to the calm beach. Quiet at night. Excellent, friendly service and security. I enjoy the restaurant experience at Costa Coral as much as anything in CR. Just the right amount of people around the pool to visit with and compare Costa Rica experiences. Or you have the pool to yourselves.

We've stayed at numerous others in the area including Santa Teresa/ Mal Pais / Montezuma. Haven't found a replacement.

Dave M.

Room Tip: All rooms around the pool are great, just choose a pool view from second floor or 20 step pool acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was my first time to Costa Rica. We had the option of staying at an all inclusive but decided on this little gem. This was the place to be. From our suite to the service and the beautiful locals the Costa Coral was perfect. The staff made us feel like part of their family. There was nothing like having a meal in the evening, listening to the howler monkey's and enjoying the food, drink and atmosphere. The rooms were spotless, the grounds immaculate and our surroundings breath taking. We could relax and enjoy everything. The management was very helpful, knowledgeable and very accomadating. We were always greetied with a smile whether it was the staff or the locals. We would recommend the Costa Coral to our friends and family and plan on going back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We are just planning our next trip to the wonderful country of Costa Rica. We visited the Tambor area last year and stayed at the Costa Coral a quaint 10 room Boutique Hotel. We had never been to Costa Rica but had heard a lot of great things about the country.

We landed in Liberia after several hours of flying, and stayed overnight at the Best Western, where no place on earth has the term "Best" been over used! The next morning we were greeted by a friendly driver, from Tambor, who picked us up and gave us a great 2 1/2 tour of the Nicola Peninsula. He was very personable and being a native Costa Rican, very knowledgeable and shared many great stories with us that the time flew by on our way to our destination, the Costa Coral Hotel. We were greeted with warm smiles and the friendliness of the hotel staff made us feel right at home. We even met other guests who were so friendly and shared with us their wonderful experiences at the hotel. They all enjoyed their stay and did not want to go home!

Our room, number 5, was perfect for the two of us. It was right by the pool and garden area. We had our own patio space with table and chairs with a candle lantern were we enjoyed many an evening with a glass a wine by candlelight and listened to the peaceful sounds of the evening. We enjoyed dining in the restaurant which was upstairs, for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We went out to eat at a few other places, like Mais Pais and Playa Carmen, but the food quality and value did not exceed what we had right at the hotel.

The Costa Coral hotel is nicely landscaped with many flowering plants and shrubs which creates it's own little sanctuary. It is easy to find as it is right off the main road, yet with all the vegetation and the design of the property, you do not hear any traffic noise. What you do hear though is the howler monkeys in the surrounding trees. When you venture for a short walk, don't be surprised when you see horses and cows gracing nearby and beautiful scarlet macaws flying in formation overhead. You will also discover a beach with a very long stretch of sand leading to a fishing dock where boats bring in their fresh catch of the day for people to enjoy. Boats also leave from the dock for excursions over to Tortuga island for an afternoon to enjoy a lunch feast and beautiful beach.

We found the hotel to have a family friendly like atmosphere. Whenever we went to the restaurant, we would always have great conversations with the staff and meet other guests who would openly share what adventure they had been on for the day. From zip lining, to fishing, to horseback riding and nature tours and spa treatments. The hotel had brochures handy and would assist with booking excursions or anything else you needed. We went on a 4 hour horseback ride exploring the beautiful mountainous hills and took a break when we reached a plateau to marvel at the breathtaking views of the ocean, trees and greenery around us. When we returned the horses to the barns, we were surprised that we had not even seen a single horse fly, or other flies for that matter, the entire trip. By the end of the week we had dined with many guests and acquired many new friends. Now we can't wait for our trip back to paradise and a great little hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Coral

Address: Center of Playa Tambor, opposite from the Monterra Developers building, Tambor 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous Hotel Costa Coral, located in Playa Tambor, Costa Rica is busier then ever and is under new ownership/management. We are improving hotel amenities, upgrading rooms & facilities and looking forward to the exciting future of the expanding Tambor region. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Coral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.